We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The changing face of Cape Town”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

As a regular visitor to this beautiful city over the last 20 years I am delighted how the city centre has reinvented & rejuvenated itself & The Taj benefits 100% from this. Stunning old buildings form the public areas, rooms in a modern building. Very stylish, great service, excellent food but most importantly a brilliant city centre location. You can walk onto St Geroges Mall, you are opposite the cathedral & company gardens. Very cool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Valued guest
Thank you for your feedback, we are certainly proud of our inner City and the heritage. Your comments will be forwarded onto my team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,190 - 1,196 of 1,796 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have stayed at the Taj, Cape Town twice now on my last business trips.

The service is outstanding and the accommodation are excellent.

While it is a smaller hotel than many of the others like the Westin, the personal attention, and attention to detail is truly 5 star.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gjk0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your feedback. We will certainly convey the information to the team.
We trust that on your next visit to Cape Town, we will have the opportunity to personally meet with you.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is Cape Town's most beautiful hotel : the lobby is absolutely stunning ( it was formerly a no-expenses-spared banking hall !) ; the Indian restaurant is probably the most beautiful in the country and the rooms leave nothing to be desired.But most important is the perfect situation of the hotel - away from the touristy Waterfront yet in the heart of Cape Town with all its attractions and it is just across the street from the splendid Company's Gardens,perhaps the most beautiful city-centre park in the world.What more would a visitor to Cape Town want?

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new tower block with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paarl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback. We will most certainly share this with the team.
We hope that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I took my fiance to the Taj to celebrate his birthday. We were treated like royalty throughout our stay there. The staff were always friendly and respectful with permanent smiles on their faces. The room was clean and luxurious and dining at the Mint restaurant for dinner was a great experience. The food was delicious and well presented. Our only complaint would be that on my fiance's birthday, we had breakfast at Mint. My fiance had been drinking juice but when he finished it, he noticed something in his glass. On closer inspection, we found a 2cm long shard of broken glass in his glass. We alerted the waitress who called the manager on duty on the 15th of June. He picked up the glass, looked shocked and then mumbled an apology and walked away with the glass!!! We thought he'd come back to give a better apology or something but he just went missing. Considering that my fiance could have been seriously injured had he swallowed the shard, the way he handled it was unprofessional and he seemed to play the incident down. Otherwise the hotel is HIGHLY recommended in my book.

Room Tip: Try corner suites and rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tatumcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Tatumcee
Thank you very much for your feedback. From the outset please accept our sincere apologies for the way in which the Mint Restaurant duty manager, dealt with the issue. Firstly this is unacceptable, and I can assure you will be addressed by Willem du Toit, my food and beverage Director. You can expect a response from him shortly.
We certainly hope that this incident will not deter you from coming back to the Taj Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed during 6 days and I had an overall great stay. When I arrived at the Hotel to check in the receptionist a tall lady was very very nice and always with a beautiful smile. I booked this Hotel without breakfast but she said that I of course will have breakfast included. She showed me my room which had an amazing view at the Table Mountain.

The Cleaning was always done very well. Though I had a smalll Issue with a 20 USD bill which was taken away from my room. I contacted the security and they did a investigation. Before my Checkout the found the cleaning staff which was responsible for taking this money. She stated that she tough that it was an Tip, well 20USD might be a lot for one day, of course I did say that it was alright and she can keep the money and a thank the security by taking action and resolving this issue.

The only little disadvantage of this Hotel is that they only have a inside pool. It is very sad but maybe they will try to construct one at the rooftop in the future.

Also the room service was very very fast and always delivered the right things.

I am really happy with my stay at this Hotel and I would return any time again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Table Mountain. You will have an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Dario
Thank you so much for the feedback you have provided us with. We are pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your stay, despite the misunderstanding with the room attendant assuming the 20 dollars was her tip. We can assure you that we have addressed this with the entire team and put systems in place to ensure this does not recur. The views expressed about our Bombay Brasserie will be passed onto the team.
We certainly hope that you will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Taj Cape Town is a wonderfully centrally located hotel -just 15 mins away from the Table Mountains and 5 mins from the waterfront. The hotel has excellent staff who are so well trained and efficient that you just cant help but praise them. Personalised attention was given to me for any cuisine that i chose as i am allergic to eggs and the kitchen ensured that - thanks to the kitchen staff at Taj Cape Town led by Chef Shyam and Chef Harpreet. The concierge team ensured that we enjoyed the trips and organised them tailor made as per our need - amazing efficiency !! The rooms where we stayed had an excellent view of the mountains and the city. They were large, always clean and most comfortable. Clement and Talent of the Butler team ensured that our smallest needs were looked after. In every corner of the hotel, each and evry staff we interacted were most courteous and greeted us always personally addressing by our family name....This was something we really liked ! The GM of the hotel Mr Pownall was most gratious and hospitable. We have come back home ; however the memories of our excellent stay at the Taj Cape Town still linger on.....hope to go back once again in the near future !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shulagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Shulaga
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We will certainly pass this on to the team, and those mentioned will be nominated for our internal Stars programme.
You can be assured that we strive to make every guest's stay a memorable experience.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We enjoyed a great stay at the Taj. The rooms were comfortable, clean and had a great charm. The dining options are wonderful. The breakfast was really good and I particularly enjoyed some of the authentic Indian breakfast options available together with usual continental breakfast. The overall service was really good, but we just had a small issue on arrival with the delay in the valet attending to our vehicle, but this is understandable with the entrance to the hotel situated on a busy corner in the city centre. The location is also great, allowing visitors easy access on foot to many of the attractions in the city centre.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ebzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback, which we appreciate. We are sorry that the Car Valet was a small problem. We are constantly looking at ways to improve on the service delivery in this area. Regrettably at the time you arrived, there had been an influx, which resulted in a backlog of cars being taken and brought down from the garage.
We certainly hope that this will not deter you from returning to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,781 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,323 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,659 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: 1 Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $207 - $711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splitty, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing