We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - amaze me!”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wow - amaze me!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Taj was one of the nicest hotels that I've stayed in S. Africa. I was originally concerned about the location being downtown and not at the V&A Waterfront, however, it was perfect! There were restaurants close to choose from, the Greenmarket was great souvenir shopping, we were a quick cab's drive to the waterfront. Everything was close.

Service was excellent lending credence to the Leading Hotels of the World classification. The food was great - breakfast, dinner and room service.

Commending the hotel for great service in the restaurants, business center and concierge - breakfast buffet was great and Chef Paul went above and beyond to create omelettes that will have us back at the Taj!

Only one complaint... the beautiful shower, some how door doesn't close completely and we nearly flooded the room. But one call and maintenance was on it right away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Table Mountain - the floor to ceiling glass doors opened all the way just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikni2wri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your positive feedback and special mention about Chef Paul. You can be assured that your message will be conveyed to him. Your comment pertaining to the shower door has been noted and will be addressed.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    347
    84
    28
    27
See reviews for
278
710
86
407
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We arrived at the hotel in the evening after a very long flight and were greeted by an abrasive receptionist on the front desk. She disputed the room rates we had in writing.

At breakfast there were frequently no plates available for the buffet. The self service food area was in places, empty for some time and staff had to be asked for replacements for various items.

Our room had a blocked shower. The telephone didn't work for inbound calls and staff advised we need to attend reception to take our business related phone calls.

On two occasions we tried to book the Asian restaurant in the hotel and on each occasion, were advised there were no free tables as bookings had been taken from the general public.

The hotel staff were generally unfriendly and seemed to lack training by management.

The hotel is architecturally quite beautiful with generous and elegant public rooms, but the service was disappointing and management control significantly lacking.

We moved out early and stayed at a better hotel. Our experience was sadly disappointing and well below expectations for a hotel of the Taj Group.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Garthri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Garth
Thank you for taking the time to share your disappointment, during your recent stay. Firstly please accept our sincerest apologies for all the shortfalls – we have clearly failed to deliver on the Taj standard that we at pride ourselves on. I can assure you that your experience is certainly not at all typical to our establishment, and has been addressed with my executive management team.
Whilst we appreciate that an apology may not restore your total confidence in the offering, when planning your next trip to Cape Town, I invite you to contact either my personal assistant Trish Humby, or myself, to make the necessary arrangements on your behalf, and I will personally ensure that your stay is memorable for all the right reasons.
We certainly hope that you we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
With renewed apologies
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I recently enjoyed high tea at the Taj Hotel in Cape Town CBD for the first time. It was a very nice experience - the marble floors and setting was a nice change to my usual high tea favourites (One&Only in the V&A Waterfront, Mount Nelson in Gardens and the Table Bay Hotel in the V&A Waterfront). The staff at the Taj were friendly and the selection beautifully displayed and scrumptuous. I also thought at R150 per person (about $15) it was well worth the experience.

Room Tip: I did not stay at the hotel - only went for high tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Carin
Thank you so much for your feedback. I will certainly convey your appreciation to the Food and Beverage team. We hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great food, hospitality and views to the table mountain. Heated Swimming pool n sauna were good. Very wide selction of Indian breakfast. ClubMountain facing suite has great views, spacious, lovely nespresso machine. close proximity to the waterfront

Room Tip: mountain facing rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiripal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Taj Cape Town and we thank you for the feedback you provided us with.
We do hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind Regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 12th to 17th May . Rooms are really good . Indian food served here is very good . Try Pindi Chhole and Mutter , they are very good . Service is good . staff is courteous . location is very good . They provide complimentary drop to city also . Main problem is Internet , they provide frree internet for half an hour only . You can jot finsih owrk in half an hour . Front office told me that they are looking into it . Otherwise good hotel to stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelchampion062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Taj Cape Town and we thank you for the feedback you provided us with. We are pleased to announce that our internet offering will be changing.
We do hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind Regards
Michael Pownall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here on our last night as a treat in November, and what a treat! We were upgraded to a suite with a massive bathroom and our friends had a stunning view of table mountain. Breakfast wasn't included in our room rate but a very nice lady at reception waived the bill and made the stay that much more special. The breakfast was nicer at other hotels we stayed at but still very nice with the usual spread you'd expect at a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjum23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback, which I will convey to my team. We certainly hope that you will have the opportunity to visit our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of our tour of South Africa. We'd just come in from a surfing expedition and needed a little TLC...that's just what we got! We were picked up from the airport by a very friendly driver, dropped off at the front desk. We got checked in and shown to our room and our luggage had beat us there. We set up some of the best massages of our lives in their spa and then settled into our huge bathtub and watched a movie...from the bathtub! The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. Granted we had just slept in a hostel for 3 days so almost anything would have been a change of pace, but the Taj was truly the polar opposite. Breakfast the next morning was just what you'd expect from a continental breakfast at a hotel. Nothing amazing, but it was included in our room price and perfectly acceptable. We didn't get a chance to eat at their restaurant for other meals, but some of our friends have raved about it. The concierge was super helpful in getting us quick and reliable taxi services and got us excellent reservations for dinner each night. The location made it easy to access all major Cape Town attractions and we had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Michelle G
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Taj Cape Town and we thank you for the feedback you provided us with. We will most certainly convey this to all the teams involved.
We do hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Michelle Pownall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,028 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,212 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Property: Taj Cape Town
Address: 1 Wale Street | corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing