We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat!”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Taj Hotel on the last night of our holiday in South Africa (a treat from my parents) and before we arrived we were advised that we had all been given a complimentary upgrade...a great start! On arrival, only one room (1506) was ready but this wasn't a problem because it took us a while to take in the facilities and view from the room - spectacular! The room had everything you'd want and very comfortable. Try to get a mountain view room and you won't be disappointed. The breakfast was great and our evening meal in the Bombay Brasserie was first class (see separate review). We had a few service-related niggles in the hotel which were sorted out without a problem and nothing to affect our enjoyment of this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmartN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,250 - 1,256 of 1,797 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Taj for one night in March while on a two-week stay in SA. I had high hopes after friends said it was a fab hotel but unfortunately they weren't met.
The hotel is ok, there's not a lot wrong with it but I just don't understand how it can be called five-star or a Leading Hotel of the World. Check-in was OK but standing up at a bank clerk set-up isn't what I expect from a five-star place, you should at least be offered a seat. The room was nice but not as big/luxurious as the other two five-star places we stayed in Cape Town.
The main problem with the hotel was the restaurant. The food is mediocre and the setting utterly embarrassing. We were unable to go into the Bombay Brasserie, which I'm sure must be better, but MINT felt like a school canteen with ineffectual staff who largely ignored us and when we were spoken to, it was barely polite. The food was average and not bad value for money but if you're hoping for luxury - as this hotel is consistently advertised as being - then do not go here.
The same can be said of breakfast the next morning - a leisurely experience it was not. The place was very hot and loud, the tables not set and staff again unhelpful. The buffet breakfast was barely stocked and, all in all, I couldn't wait to get out of there.
The hotel is an average place, good for people who need to be in the centre of CBD, but just don't go thinking you'll have a luxury experience becasue you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatLa7888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place is truly amazing, in my favourite part of Cape Town.

I can't fault the stay, the staff went out of their way to make us feel comfotable and special. We had a beautiful room, overlooking the mountain - absolutely stunning.

We were there for the Argus bike race and the hotel very kindly organised a special early breakfast for the riders - a really nice touch.

I would like to say a special thank you to Tyrone who was very professional in helping us deal with a problem we had in the room. For some reason there was cigarette smoke coming into our room late at night (on 2 nights) and he handled the situation very well and organised us with a different and also gorgeous room.

Try the restaurant while you are there, it is great and don't miss the spa!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

For some years now we have stayed at a number of five star hotels during our frequent visits to Cape Town. This was our first visit to The Taj and it will certainly not be our last. Everything about the hotel is classy and efficient, from the check in and valet parking to the comfortable, luxurious accommodation. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a mountain view room. Wonderful!! Our evening meal in The Bombay Brasserie was the best Indian food we had ever eaten and we were equally happy with the breakfast next morning.

Room Tip: Worth paying the premium for a high level, mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This Taj and LHW member is a very welcome addition to the sparse and overpriced luxury hotel scene in Cape Town. The interior of the hotel and public spaces are seriously smart and stylish. The check-in desk is manned by very friendly competent staff and check-in and out is smooth and rapid. A room with one of the world´s most iconic views may be waiting for you. In the room there are coffee and tea making facilities. The facilities for fitness ,sauna and steam are most appealing. There is also a very nice swimming pool with chairs for relaxation. This hotel is an excellent choice for those who desire class and quality but do not want the pay the rip off rates for hotels situated on the Waterfront . It has certainly made my visit memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have no faults to share regarding this beautiful hotel, absolute luxury. Satff were fantatsic, upgraded us to a top suite for 3 days of our honeymoon. The room was massive, with views of table mountain. Gorgeous decor, luxury linens, top quality toiletries. Bathroom had 2 sinks, seperate bath and shower ... huge! Dined in their Indian restaurant Bombay - out of this world! Organised our tourist trips for us with no hassle. Great location as well. Let us use the gym area to shower and change after check out when we returned from a trip before heading to airport. Really would strongly recommend this hotel when visiting Cape Town. One of the best I have stayed in

Room Tip: Table mountain view was outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Taj is a good option for those in the need to stay on Cape city center, because as a tourist is better to stay close to the waterfront.
The only thing that we didn't like much is the surroundings (not so safe to walk at night), however you can take a taxi easily.
Breakfast superior, efficient room service and helpful concierge.

Room Tip: Room with view to Table Mountain is very beautifull
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasaoBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,783 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,324 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,660 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: 1 Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $192 - $709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing