We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cape Town Choice”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Cape Town Choice”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our first stop in South Africa after a very long trip from the US was completely rewarding. The Taj is a beautiful hotel, with wonderful public spaces, very nicely appointed rooms with remarkable showers, and a perfectly accommodating staff. Particular compliments to the staff in Mint, the dining room in which the wonderful buffet breakfasts are served; to the concierge staff; and to the professional and informed drivers who will shuttle you around in the hotel's fleet of luxury vehicles. You can also arrange an airport pick-up, which is a very civilized way to start the trip.

The Taj is not in a main tourist area, but that also provides for a great deal of charm and relative tranquility. It does reside on St. George's Mall, which provides for a lot of local character, and is across the street from the entry to the gardens leading to many museums.

An overall great stay.

Also, if you're looking for a great tour guide, get in touch with Jeff Edison (jedison@telkomsa.net)--he took us on a trips to both the Cape of Good Hope and the Winelands, and was terrific.

Room Tip: We did not have a Table Mountain view, but it would probably be worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBuchmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    347
    84
    28
    27
See reviews for
278
710
86
407
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in Cape Town. Great views of Table Mountain from higher floors. Great breakfast buffet as well. Service is somewhat sporadic, ranging from very decent to quite poor. Feels like hotel is still getting its act together in terms of service - definitely not up to usual Taj standards. Hopefully that will be resolved.

Room Tip: Look for a room on a higher floor facing Table Mountain, even if you have to pay slightly more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I visited this hotel and was totally blown away! Luxury in the centre of Cape Town! I love the food the look and feel of this Hotel is a Big Must! The staff was very professional! Well done to a fantastic service delivery!

Room Tip: In the centre of all the action!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

we stayed here for one night before travelling home and had a great experience. The rooms are excellent we managed to get one looking out to table mountain which was a great view. The service was excellent, there is car parking off site which the staff will take care for you. We ate at the Bombay brassery and the food was excellent. Could not fault the hotel or service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie66Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Taj Cape Town is a luxury hotel at an affordable price. We were very impressed with the quality of services of the Taj. Upon arrival we were very well served by the front desk. Everything was wonderful. Great first impression of South Africa

We arrived late and the receptionist gave us a room upgrade with a great view of Table Mountain. The bed is extremely comfortable as well as the entire room. Impeccable cleanliness. See the photos I posted below. The breakfast each morning was very good. Definitely, great value for money.

The only small problem is that there is not much place to run near the hotel. We tried to get out for a jog and that was not that great. The streets near the hotel can be very busy and we do not felt safe.

In the end we had to go running to the Waterfront which is about 3 km away and then we came back by taxi since the night came and it would not be safe to go back on feet.

Finally, do not miss the craft fair which is next to the hotel. The same items are sold at the airport for almost 5 times the price, but you have to negociate well.

To sum up, very good hotel in which we would stay again for the price, but I think maybe the next time we would try one hotel closer to the Waterfront.

Room Tip: Do not miss the craft fair next to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pardal_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Being a regular Taj guest at a number of Indian Taj hotels, I found the Taj Cape Town a real disappointment. It is perhaps unfair trying to compare service at a South African Hotel with one in India as generally hotels in India offer amazing service. However, the Taj Cape Town is poor even by South African standards with exorbitant rates to boot.
Of course the rooms and the decor are world-class (as with all Taj properties), but the service is really pedestrian. Also if you self-drive then be aware that you park in another building and then have to walk to the Taj, so if you're security conscious then please stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here I prefer the view over St Georges Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anvermoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place is certainly a business hotel. Did not feel comfortable coming in and out with our backpacks and hiking shoes! Also far away from most of the restaurants and tourist attractions. Asked hotel staff for a restaurant suggestion for lunch one day and they suggested their in house restaurant or the one directly across the street. Not the most helpful to tourists. Close to Long Street which is busy with bars and restaurants but we were warned this is not safe at night. Next time I would stay at a guest house or waterfront hotel.

That said the property WAS beautiful, the breakfast buffet was delicious, and they offer complementary french press coffee with their wake up call (which I highly suggest!)

Very nice hotel - but not a good fit for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanta09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,032 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,214 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Property: Taj Cape Town
Address: 1 Wale Street | corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing