We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind Blowing!”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I visited this hotel and was totally blown away! Luxury in the centre of Cape Town! I love the food the look and feel of this Hotel is a Big Must! The staff was very professional! Well done to a fantastic service delivery!

Room Tip: In the centre of all the action!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,345 - 1,351 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

we stayed here for one night before travelling home and had a great experience. The rooms are excellent we managed to get one looking out to table mountain which was a great view. The service was excellent, there is car parking off site which the staff will take care for you. We ate at the Bombay brassery and the food was excellent. Could not fault the hotel or service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie66Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Taj Cape Town is a luxury hotel at an affordable price. We were very impressed with the quality of services of the Taj. Upon arrival we were very well served by the front desk. Everything was wonderful. Great first impression of South Africa

We arrived late and the receptionist gave us a room upgrade with a great view of Table Mountain. The bed is extremely comfortable as well as the entire room. Impeccable cleanliness. See the photos I posted below. The breakfast each morning was very good. Definitely, great value for money.

The only small problem is that there is not much place to run near the hotel. We tried to get out for a jog and that was not that great. The streets near the hotel can be very busy and we do not felt safe.

In the end we had to go running to the Waterfront which is about 3 km away and then we came back by taxi since the night came and it would not be safe to go back on feet.

Finally, do not miss the craft fair which is next to the hotel. The same items are sold at the airport for almost 5 times the price, but you have to negociate well.

To sum up, very good hotel in which we would stay again for the price, but I think maybe the next time we would try one hotel closer to the Waterfront.

Room Tip: Do not miss the craft fair next to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pardal_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Being a regular Taj guest at a number of Indian Taj hotels, I found the Taj Cape Town a real disappointment. It is perhaps unfair trying to compare service at a South African Hotel with one in India as generally hotels in India offer amazing service. However, the Taj Cape Town is poor even by South African standards with exorbitant rates to boot.
Of course the rooms and the decor are world-class (as with all Taj properties), but the service is really pedestrian. Also if you self-drive then be aware that you park in another building and then have to walk to the Taj, so if you're security conscious then please stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here I prefer the view over St Georges Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anvermoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place is certainly a business hotel. Did not feel comfortable coming in and out with our backpacks and hiking shoes! Also far away from most of the restaurants and tourist attractions. Asked hotel staff for a restaurant suggestion for lunch one day and they suggested their in house restaurant or the one directly across the street. Not the most helpful to tourists. Close to Long Street which is busy with bars and restaurants but we were warned this is not safe at night. Next time I would stay at a guest house or waterfront hotel.

That said the property WAS beautiful, the breakfast buffet was delicious, and they offer complementary french press coffee with their wake up call (which I highly suggest!)

Very nice hotel - but not a good fit for our needs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanta09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

After traveling through South Africa for three weeks we finished our trip in Capetown and decided to stay for two nights at the Taj. The location is excellent, just opposite St. George's Cathedral and it offers a complimentary shuttle service with Jaguars and Range Rovers around town, of which we made good use.

No need to say that the rooms are up to standard for a Leading Hotel of the World and once you enter the lobby you have a nice scent of lemongrass in the air.

I would like to highlight the excellent Concierge staff, namely M. And T., who went above and beyond in order to retrieve a parcel for me which the South African mail somewhat "lost" in a depot in Capetown. Highly appreciated...

For a future stay I would definitely consider staying at the Taj again...

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank KD-BKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Valet parking good, Porters and Concierge Staff all over you with smile, focus on you treated like a King. Check in Warm Welcome - Ladies at the front desk, on check out as well good and sufficient.Breakfast very nice hoping for the good weather and I could seat outside the breakfast room in Goerges mall. Also Like the Tsaj club floor nextime I will book and room on that floor.

Room Tip: Higher floor, Table mountain facing, you can see cable car up and down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Themba Lawrence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,786 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,325 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,660 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: 1 Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $192 - $709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing