We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at Taj cape town-15thAug-18th Aug 2012”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

i was travelling to Capetwon with my iwfe and 3 yr old son. Had booked at the Taj to experience the Taj hospitality. the other concern was the indain food especially since we were veges.
right from our arrival to the time of check out, the hotel staff was very courteous.
the food available in the room service was very good and had a home taste especially the curd rice.
the breakfast on the 3 days we were there was the real surprise. we had some of the best south indian breakfast at the Taj. Kudos to the chef.
the travel desk was very professional in arranging half day trips for us
the hotel is centrally located.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the main road have a good view especially of the table top mountain and the catherd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srini1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,371 - 1,377 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

We checked into the Taj Hotel after a 3 day Rovos Rail train journey from Johannesburg to Cape Town. It was a very nice sized room, reminded me almost of a hotel in New York. The staff were friendly and always willing to assist you with a smile from the door to the room. The bathroom was amazing, double walk in shower, spacious and Molton Brown for some pampering.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated at te bottom of Parlement, a d it was rather nice to take a stroll up the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Beautiful hotel. One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Service was outstanding. Breakfast buffet one of the best. Room was large, well furnished and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I recently had occasion to return to the Taj for my Birthday celebration. I had a number of family joining me on the trip and thus the logistics were somewhat complicated. In addition we had a number of special requests such as private dining etc and without fail the Hotel delivered on every request and exceeded our expectations. This is one of the finest Hotels in Cape Town and South Africa. It is located somewhat off the main tourist area but is in a great location with access to all the key attractions. Its small intimate style and impeccable facilities are what get me going back there time and time again. I do not use this hotel for Business but rather as a special place for my wife and I to break away to. Despite its upmarket feel and "serene" mood, kids are well catered for and my son and cousins thoroughly enjoyed every minute of their stay there. I would highly recommend the hotel to anybody wanting a short city break in pure luxury! The Molton Brown bathroom amenities are the final sign-off on a class act.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the side facing Table Mountain, the views of the Church and Table mountain are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyronev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in this hotel this summer with our two teenaged children on a family package. We received two adjacent rooms. The hotel is beautiful, the beds are very comfortable and breakfast is varied and tasty. The Indian restaurant in the hotel is also great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would especially like to note Mapule, the concierge, who went out of her way to find day trips and good restaurants for us and made our stay in Cape Town perfect.
The hotel's location is excellent. It is just near the Slave Lodge and the Company Gardens and about 10 minutes drive from the Alfred and Victoria Waterfront. There are good restaurants around and the open top tourist bus is just across.the street.
Great experience!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingfamiliy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our room was lovely, large and with a view of Table mountain. Excellent bathroom. The hotel is lovely and in a convenient part of town near The Company Gardens and the Houses of Parliament.
It would be fantastic if the service was better. The main reception desk and the concierge service were very good. However the service in the rooms was poor. 4nights out of 5 we had to ring as our cups had been taken and not replaced. Often the coffee and milk were not replaced. The service at breakfast was very poor. It was difficult to get tea/coffee, food at the buffet often not replaced and the staff were totally unaware of guests needs. Most mornings did not have spoons, salt etc at table and had to ask or take from empty table. We had dinner in the same restaurant one night and service was not that good either despite the restaurant being almost empty.
A 5* hotel but with 3* service. Not a patch on the one in Mumbai.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelnutBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the Taj with our young kids on our first trip to Cape Town from the US. The hotel and staff were terrific. The hotel is perfectly located for an easy exploration of Cape Town; in fact, it is right across the street from the Company's Gardens. The rooms were perfect, and the breakfast outstanding, with a full buffet, along with individual orders and indian food additions to the menu. There also is an indoor pool for a rainy day. The facilities, rooms and location are outstanding.

If there was any criticism, it would be for the internet service. The way it is charged and billed is not up to the standards of this hotel or what we have seen in other places. Aside from that, we would recommend it strongly, especially for families.

Room Tip: Request a room looking up on Table Mountain. The interconnecting rooms were perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTCTTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,783 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,324 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,660 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: 1 Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $208 - $703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing