We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the Taj”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #17 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay at the Taj”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Just got back from 4nts in Cape Town at the Taj. Upon arrival we were upgraded to an immense suite with additional sitting areas and very large tub and shower. The fixtures were all very high-end and room was cleaned thoroughly each day. Huge breakfast spread with combination of continental and hot choices + Indian dishes. Didn't eat at any of the other restaurants, so can't say anything about them. Did enjoy the exercise facilities and pool (indoor, no view) which was very refreshing.

Best part about the Taj was the location. Easy walk to Long Street and all major downtown tourist sites, with a quick cab to the VA waterfront or table mountain. I was a bit skeptical about the location, but I was totally mistaken and would love to stay at the Taj again.

Special call-out for the city guides that the Taj had available in the lobby each day. Helped us with hiking routes, city tour and general insights about Cape Town. The concierge was also very helpful with making reservations.

Only complaint would that that the handtowels were inconsistently restocked, sometimes only 1. But a very minor point on an otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    339
    83
    28
    26
See reviews for
268
685
82
394
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Our stay at the Taj Hotel was wonderful! Our balcony view opened to St. George Church and Table Mountain, and it was breathtaking to see the clouds roll over Table Mountain to form the 'tablecloth'. The service provided by the concierges Themba and Ulanda was exceptional. The Jaguar sedan hotel car was a nice surprise, and we used it several times to go to the cable car and to Camps Bay. We would have used it more, but forgot to reserve the car for dinner. The breakfast buffet was large and fresh, with a nice variety of entrees, fruit, and breads, and all the food was good. The hotel is perfectly located in Cape Town for walking and seeing the sites. The spa sauna and hot tub were welcome after a long day of sight-seeing. There is limited free access to internet in room, but we could access more wifi in Twankey's Bar, located adjacent to and part of the Taj. The rooms were attended to twice daily, and kept spotlessly clean. I cannot recommend this hotel any higher - it was the best!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rxmom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, aus
Level Contributor
149 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at the Taj for 2 nights earlier this month and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I wasn't sure what to expect after reading a few mixed reviews on tripadvisor.com but was pleasantly surprised. The staff were incredibly professional and welcoming.

We booked a superior room which was very pleasantly furnished and spotlessly clean. It wasn't huge but was well appointed and had a great bathroom. The hotel itself is in a fab location if you want to be in central Cape Town.

We booked a last minute room rate which was excellent value for money and included gym and pool access - both of which were impressive. Parking is in a neighbouring building - the staff warned we may have to wait up to 15 minutes for the valet to bring our car around but we never waited more than a couple of minutes.

My only issues - and they are small. The room was booked in my name but the staff insisted on calling me by my husband's surname (I haven't taken his name). This didn't really bother me but can imagine it might grate with others. Also, room rates only include 30 minutes of free wifi which is a bit ridiculous in this day and age.

Overall a great hotel and I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We had never stayed in a Taj hotel before, and we were very impressed. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Our window looked out to St. George's Cathedral and Table Mountain in the background. I could lay on the bed for hours and watch the clouds roll off the top of Table Mountain and fall down the side. It was absolutely stunning.

Service was nearly flawless, and the restaurants were delicious. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. The hotel staff were all very friendly and highly accommodating for us and for our kids (ages 7, 9, and 14).

I'm not sure how the few negative reviews posted here are justified. Sounds like some high-maintenance people who got their feathers ruffled by some minor things. I rate this one a solid 5 star!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dagwood777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I frequently travel to Cape Town for business and always stay at the Westin. Because that was full, I was booked into the Taj and looked forward to staying in what is considered a more luxurious hotel.

I was underwhelmed. First, the check-in was not smooth. Immediately after leaving the desk, I could not access the elevator. When I went back to the desk, the woman treated me like a child, saying I wasn't using the card properly. When I insisted I was, she became more condescending. Another man, seeing the commotion, finally came to help me and discovered that my card had not been coded for the elevators. When I tried to use the internet that evening, it also did not work. As it turns out, the front desk had also failed to set that properly.

The rooms are on the smallish side and the desk, which faces out and has nice views at the Westin, faced inward here, which was depressing since I spent much of the day working in the room. Breakfast, a grand affair elsewhere, was small and quite limited in choice, although the muffins were very good. When I left for my appointments in the afternoon, I had to wait 10 minutes for the valet to retrieve my car because there is no self-parking. Ugh.

When I returned to my room that evening, I was greeted with thumping club music and a lot of street noise despite being on the 8th floor. In what can only be described as tasteless, the check out letter left on the final evening of my stay was placed upon the hotel book opened directly on the gratuities page.

If you are traveling to Cape Town on business, there are finer hotels in the area. If you are traveling for leisure, I would assume there are also better hotels in the area. The Taj is one you can skip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTCT, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Taj Cape Town and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was not what you or I would have wished for.

We receive many positive guest comments about our service; it is therefore disappointing that you did not have a similar experience during your stay. Your comments have been addressed with the relevant departmental teams involved and feedback like your own ensures that we measure and improve our performance.

I hope that this apology will go some way to restoring your confidence in our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Taj Cape Town in the not too distant future. If ever I may be of any assistance to you in Cape Town please contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Michael Pownall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Taj is a wonderful hotel. I spent 10 days at the Taj. The rooms are super clean and luxurious. The service is excellent and the staff was very friendly especially to my kid. I highly recommend to take a high floor to enjoy the beautiful view of Table mountain as the view from lower floors are blocked by surrounding buildings. The V&A Water front is 10min drive from the hotel. However, There is a complimentary transport to any place within 10 kil drive BUT you need to reserve well ahead as there is only one car at a time and it's limited to availability. They also offer complimentary laundry to kids' clothes under 3 years of age. The concierge service is excellent, so make sure to utilize them to plan and book your activities and tours. There are plenty to do around the hotel from beautiful African shops and variety restaurants as well as a wonderful park, museums, and a flower garden. There is an upscale Indian restaurant at the hotel but our experience there was average. Overall, I give the Taj Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aldabbagh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2012

All of the rooms are spacious, relaxing and beautifull.The bathroom is big and clean.The staff is polite and helpful.The location is great.The restaurant is also good.In my opinion the best hotel in capetown.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin_72186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.1 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
1.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Property: Taj Cape Town
Address: 1 Wale Street | corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing