We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning but over priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning but over priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

One of the top hotels in Cape Town due to service level, interiors and world class spa.
Have a fantastic little bar around the corner with great staff and light meals.
The bar inside the hotel is stiff and expensive so not recommendable.

Unfortunately the pricing is slightly unjust for room size and location (centre of town).

Therefore I am sure fully booked only on rare occasions.
Only downside is central aircon - due to this one cannot open the windows at all.
St Paul cathedral is right opposite but this is not a problem due to very good sound insulation once the bells start kicking into action.

Hope it will survive, most probably once they have adjusted the pricing to a more realistic level like most of the other five star hotels in Cape Town are starting to do already.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Businessclass2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,182
    333
    82
    28
    26
See reviews for
261
676
80
386
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Location - We love its location, in the middle of the city....... unfortunately the facade of the hotel isn't that apparent but we were lucky to have driven extremely slow in order to locate the hotel entrance.

Housekeeping - They don't top up your toiletries daily unless you insist. Housekeeping staff wasn't pleasant to deal with.

Bathroom - the top tap was broken when we checked in. The water from shower area flowed to the wardrobe. Water from the washer could not be released immediately after we checked in, the plumber spent more than half hour fixing it and mess up the bathroom.

Lighting - Bed lamp light bulp was flickering.

Initially we were offered a change of room of the same size! Imagine being given such an offer from a classy hotel. Subsequent to my displeasure they upgraded us to a bigger room but the flower decoration and nightly chocolate were removed away from the hotel. That's how "cheap" the gesture of the hotel.

Free jaguar drop off within certain radius from the hotel - Fantastic to be chauffered driven to nearby location. Unfortunately, they only drop us off at our dinner place and FORGOTTEN to pick us up after dinner as the concierge missed out our reservation. We were left waiting outside our pick-up point under cold weather. Memorable?

In-house dining - Not many choice of restaurant.

Upon return to our home country, brought the matter up to the top management and finally got their attention on how badly they performed. Obviously the hotel apologized but damaged done. I've been to few other Taj but this one in Cape Town is certainly a "boo-boo"!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank a23w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is absolute luxury, with 5-star service. You can also get some FANTASTIC views of Capetown if you get the right room, and the rooms/bathrooms are wonderful. The place is always spotless and beautiful.
The one dinner I had at the restaurant in the hotel, however, was disappointing due to very slow, and thoughtless service, but my breakfasts there were always pleasant.
Overall, the staff is very attentive and the place is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a great view of Capetown!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewjamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Excellent hotel with truly outstanding service. A great hotel for business traveler centrally located in the Central Business Area. Location also good to walk to some nearby historical attractions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

I spent two weeks at the Taj in July, and it was one of the best hotels I've ever experienced. The hotel itself is stunning, and the rooms are magnificent, but the best part of all was the hotel's staff. They were extremely helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. The staff truly made my stay memorable.

The hotel is located in the heart of Cape Town in the historic district, with lots of great shopping and terrific restaurants nearby. I'd highly recommend it if you're planning a trip to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinteeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at The Taj before AND after a cruise sailing from and back to Cape Town. All the reviewers rightly commend the hotel. The bedrooms were fantastic and the cocktails made by lovely bar staff were pure magic! Our only niggle was the poor greetings we received when we flew in from London. Our driver was told to take us into the bar and wait by one of the three reception staff on duty with no customers. Despite raising our dissatisfactrion we never understood why. On the plus side the concierge staff were brilliant and and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal at the hotel's speciality restaurant The Bombay Brasserie. it was very special.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

The Taj is quite new and very ornate. Rooms are large with huge bathrooms that you can see through the picture window (of the room of course, not the hallway). The service is friendly and occasionally excessive unless you're used to that sort of thing. Location on one end of St. George's Mall is excellent. A separate bar area is nice but a little quirky because you have to leave the hotel and walk about 50 meters to get to it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glennn999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.1 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
1.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#20 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Property: Taj Cape Town
Address: 1 Wale Street | corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing