We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge room and comfy bed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strand Tower Hotel
Ranked #49 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Huge room and comfy bed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

Stayed there for a week in November and December, 2011. It was arranged by the conference organizers so I am not sure about the cost. It is marketed as a four star hotel though. Lobby is quite small and old but staff couldn't be more welcoming.

Very huge and airy room with comfy bed. Bathroom is immaculate too. I was quite looking forward to their pool, unfortunately, there is only an outdoor one, which is small. Good thing is. they have auna and steam rooms on the top floor, which can be used by guests free of charge. So that sort of made up.. There is a gym too, But I didn't visit.

I would hope they could provide free wifi in rooms..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twgenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    274
    105
    30
    20
See reviews for
89
230
56
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed here for the second part of our stay in Cape Town. The lobby and service there is excellent! Yet, the hallways and elevators showed a very old and dingy space. Rooms were renovated recently and they are nice, but our air conditioner didn't work so they changed our rooms...and the air conditioner worked better...but really still not great. That was tough to deal with during a heat wave! No fans made it really stuffy. Anyway, the breakfast was amazing and the pool was cool, even though it's location right next to diners is a bit odd. We were a bit nervous walking around in this location so we drive everywhere, which was fine, but not ideal. Overall, though, we were pleased as we couldn't beat the price!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REP968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtshoorn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

Recently fixed up, very very clean bathroom, had to sleep with closed windows, very noisy location, and a club in the next door building, tiny parking.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olga075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

The location of this hotel was great for the city and walkable to many restaurants and bars yet only 5 mind by car from V&A waterfront and about 10 to the beaches. We were allowed into our room early and found it to be a corner room with a view in one direction to the stadium and Robberg island with Table Mountain in the other direction. The room was large with a huge bed and quality linen. Although we were there on a thurs and Fri night we had no street noise at all. Breakfast was a good choice, although we were "upgraded" to the executive breakfast room the 2nd day and found it to be slightly disorganised but I think this should be rectified soon as it is a new feature. Only negative were the slow lifts - not a huge problem.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biffo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

Stayed at the Strand Tower for 8 days during the World Cup period and despite the frenziness, the staff always wore great smiles and did their very best for us.

The hotel is well-located within walking distances of Greenmarket Square, Long Street, Kloof Street etc. There are many restaurants and eating shops, supermarket and shops/boutiques around so it's easy to while away extra time, if any. Other sightseeing locations and V&A Waterfront are mostly a 10-minute car ride away.

The all-day cafe/restaurant on 2nd Floor serves a good breakfast buffet spread; the other end of the restaurant is a cozy bar constructed by beautiful stones (see pic). Pardon the slow lifts though, as the hotel was actually converted from an old office building!

All in all, this is a nice hotel without frills.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mommymomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Fountains Hotel
#82 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#40 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Tower Hotel

Property: Strand Tower Hotel
Address: Corner of Strand and Loop Streets, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Tower Hotel is located in the hub of Cape Town’s CBD on the corner of bustling Strand and Loop Streets. It offers 4 Star accommodation, making it the ideal place to stay for business, conference and leisure travellers.Free internet of 100MB daily is available to all our guests. Secure on site parking.Cape Town’s business centre is within easy walking distance from the Strand Tower Hotel. The city’s many major tourist attractions, such as Table Mountain, Robben Island and the V&A Waterfront, are also within easy access from the hotel. Other notable landmarks nearby include the Cape Town International Convention Centre. With three World Heritage Sites, Cape Town has a wide range of attractions that include a diverse mix of cultural, historical and historical sites, as well as a host of outdoor and leisure activities. From entertainment, nature and environment to world-class wining and dining – the Mother City offers something for everyone.Boasting a gym, sauna, bar, restaurant and satellite television, the Strand Tower Hotel is almost entirely self contained. So much so, that our guests don’t even need to go outside.The hotel has plenty of facilities to keep you entertained and relaxed. The pool deck, which is located on the second floor of the hotel, provides guests with a lush, tranquil oasis in the heart of the city. The gym area, sauna and steam room allow guests to destress after a long day while having fabulous views of Table Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Strand Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Tower Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing