We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome vacations in Capetown!!!”
Review of Strand Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Strand Tower Hotel
Ranked #51 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was a nice place, close to downtown; everything is near by; I was able to take to hop on hop off bus, it was easy also to go to table mountain; most of the visiting places are close to it, including the port and the mal, where I could find a lot of hand-made souvernirs, and they were economical.

Room Tip: my room was on floor 11, and I was facing table mountain which was awesome!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alejandro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 692 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was booked for me without knowing much about it but it did not disappoint. Our flight landed in CT at 0900 ish so we were at a loss until check in time. The Hotel looked after our luggage for us while we waited for our room to be cleaned and then let us in a little earlier too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LeeHay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

a very comfortable stay , courteous staff , clean rooms and lots of good breakfast . Well located too we could walk to places around . The hotel also organized various trips for us and for all local stuff good hotel transport was available .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ritalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Ratalli

I am pleased you found your stay at the Strand Tower Hotel so comfortable and that you enjoyed our large variety of Breakfast items. Since your visit we have implemented a in-house bakery which means the all the baked goods on our buffets are even fresher that ever before!

Our restaurant provides all our guests a true South African experience when it comes to our food selection. Everything from pizza's, swarma's, curies and so much more.

i'm glad you found your room so comfortable and the views from the rooms are truly spectacular.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
General Manager
Strand Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I spent about three months at Strand hotel and It was a memorable time well spent for me and the team I managed. It is indeed home away from home. The hospitality of the entire staff from the porters, reception, cleaners, reastaurant component was amazing. The staff at the restaurant including the managers accommodated us more than enough in terms of changing the menu to suit our needs, inter alia. They knew all of us by names because we were really residents of Strand Hotel.

I personally would consider staying at Strand Hotel even when I visit with my family for holiday. Strand hotel is a place one visit even when in the neighbouhood. The managers Sally and JP always checked if all was in order and that meant a lot and we mattered to them. 'Advice -guests you want the best hotel in town, choose STRAND HOTEL'

Room Tip: Corner suits are larger and sunny, very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nombulelo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Nombulelo N

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Strand Tower Hotel. I'm pleased that you felt the Strand Tower Hotel is your home away from home. We always strive to make our guests feel at home.

We pride ourselves in our flexibility towards our guests and will always strive to suit their needs. I trust you made use of our daily 100mb of internet data we provide to all our guests.

I will pass on all your praise to all management and staff.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
General Manager
Strand Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I booked the 5 night special deal at this hotel in May and I have to say it was the best deal I have ever received from a hotel. It included bed, breakfast, evening meal with a complimentary bottle of good Cape wine, free shuttle to and from airport, free tickets for Hop on Hop off tour buses around the city, free ticket on cable car up Table Mountain, free entrance to the excellent aquarium at the Waterfront, Harbour cruise, and the list goes on. The food was excellent and the staff in the restaurant, reception and at the door were always very helpful, friendly and courteous. The room was very comfortable and spacious with a view over Table Mountain which is a great way to start any day! At 1170 rand (€106) per night you would be hard put to find a better deal anywhere in the world at a similar hotel. I would thoroughly recommend anyone who wants to visit the beautiful city of Cape Town and the scenic beauty of the Cape Peninsula to stay at this hotel and enquire about their special deals. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear "Brian S"

Thank you for submitting such a wonderful review of your stay at the Strand Tower Hotel. I am glad you made use of our holiday package deal. We pride ourselves on this excellent structured holiday packages that will suit the whole family. We do umping castle, table tennis, pool table, fooz ball, video games for the kids while the parents enjoy the beautiful city of Cape Town.

These packages can be viewed on our website if you would like to book it your next visit to Cape Town.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your holiday with us. I will relay your review to all the staff in the Hotel.

Please contact us for your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
General Manager
Strand Tower Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Hotel was clean and bed was huge! Staff very helpful - especially the Maitre-de who was a character! Only downside was that the area is not that safe for a single woman on an evening.. Apart from that would recommend

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Ali316

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will relay all your praises to all the staff of the Strand Tower Hotel.

It is unfortunate that you did not feel safe in the surrounding city center. Cape Town city center is just like any other international city center and it is always advisable to be cautious when traveling alone. The city of Cape Town does have many initiatives to ensure that our tourist can feel free to walk at night.

Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction with the Strand Tower Hotel. We look forward in welcoming you back for your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
General Manager
Strand Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

i stayed in the hotel for 2 evenings and the assistance of the doorman was excellent, i will always remember this, the receptionist was friendly and very helpful on my arrival as well as departure when my car had a problem, they assisted immediately. room was big enough and clean. if possible i would have taken my bed, this is the best i ever slept in. service during breakfast needs a bit of attention, food was good though. i will definitely make use of this hotel again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magda m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,033 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
220 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#49 of 110 in Cape Town Central
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel on St Georges
#76 of 110 in Cape Town Central
466 reviews
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#86 of 110 in Cape Town Central
43 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#46 of 110 in Cape Town Central
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Tower Hotel

Address: Corner of Strand and Loop Streets, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#55 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $103 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Tower Hotel is located in the hub of Cape Town’s CBD on the corner of bustling Strand and Loop Streets. It offers 4 Star accommodation, making it the ideal place to stay for business, conference and leisure travellers.Free internet of 100MB daily is available to all our guests. Secure on site parking.Cape Town’s business centre is within easy walking distance from the Strand Tower Hotel. The city’s many major tourist attractions, such as Table Mountain, Robben Island and the V&A Waterfront, are also within easy access from the hotel. Other notable landmarks nearby include the Cape Town International Convention Centre. With three World Heritage Sites, Cape Town has a wide range of attractions that include a diverse mix of cultural, historical and historical sites, as well as a host of outdoor and leisure activities. From entertainment, nature and environment to world-class wining and dining – the Mother City offers something for everyone.Boasting a gym, sauna, bar, restaurant and satellite television, the Strand Tower Hotel is almost entirely self contained. So much so, that our guests don’t even need to go outside.The hotel has plenty of facilities to keep you entertained and relaxed. The pool deck, which is located on the second floor of the hotel, provides guests with a lush, tranquil oasis in the heart of the city. The gym area, sauna and steam room allow guests to destress after a long day while having fabulous views of Table Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Strand Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Tower Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing