We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strand Tower Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$171
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$101
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$762
$733
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$116
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$752
$427
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$549
$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$154
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$197
$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
$184
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (721)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveler rating
228
310
127
36
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
310
127
36
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstable mountainlong streetcorner roomthe executive loungeloop streethigh floorstreet noisevery nice staythe hotel staffcentral locationwithin walking distancebreakfast buffetsignal hillhop on hop off busenjoyed my staywater frontcamps bay
Filter
Updating list...
437 - 442 of 722 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

If you are looking for a comfortable hotel, with good service, friendly staff, focusing on all the right stuff, IE PLENTY OF HOT WATER, VERY COMFY BEDS and a few extras like free wifi and an excellent inhouse bakerybandvgreat breakfasts, this is the place to stay. Its centrally located with ample parking and the rooms are quiet!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanitaK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Strand Tower for three nights while we in Cape Town. On arrival we found all the staff extremely friendly and helpful and we were greeted with a glass of fresh orange which was a nice touch. Room bright, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good quality and there was lots of choice.

The hotel is in a great location with the Victoria and Alfred waterfront only about 15 minutes walk away and the Company's Gardens, South Africa Museum and Gold Museum all close by too. The red hop on off bus is a great was to explore and there is a bus stop very close by to the hotel. Cape Town's main party street, Long Street, is just one road up and Greenmarket Square is also close by.

Really recommend this hotel as a perfect base to explore this stunning city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nat_n_Andy_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Arrived on 26th January for three nights at reception we were directed to VIP lounge to check in - we had paid for an upgrade. We were met by Henry who was very welcoming and got us drinks while explaining what we were entitled too (included in upgrade) ie free wifi, private lounge, snacks available all day in lounge and happy hour. Our room were on 16th floor with a view of table mountain, well one of them did as we had to get the other one changed as they had given us a double rather than a twin bedded room. Getting this sorted out was easier said than done we were told that it would be done while we were out having dinner, but this did not happen and when I spoke to the night manager he said he was waiting till we returned and gave us the key to another room, another double so back again to see him this time he found us a twin room but we no longer had our nice view but by then it was late and I was too tired to complain,but as my daughter was still out I asked him to make sure she knew what room we had been moved to. He did not do this and she was up and down like a yo yo! We found the night manager to be disinterested, miserable and unhelpful so different from all the other staff, he lets the hotel down.
Regardless of this we really enjoyed our stay, all the staff were great especially the door staff and Henry and Velleck(might of got his name wrong) in VIP lounge. We would love to visit again and would not hesitate to recommend the Strand Tower to anyone wanting a reasonably priced central hotel with fantastic staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suseype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had to travel to Cape Town at 2 days notice when accomodation was largely all booked so was very happy to get a room at the Strand Tower Hotel for a very reasonable price. Rooms are clean, but basic.

The hotel itself probably needs a makeover, particularly the restaurant and bar.

However, service was excellent and there were always taxis available

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canadianpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

They let me to check in earlier the original time!
The front man took me to a local shop for getting milk for my little girl for our safety
Nice swimming paddling pool with water fountain my little girl to enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews