We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in Cape Town Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Strand Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Strand Tower Hotel
Ranked #49 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
378 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Cape Town Centre”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Good modern hotel in centre of Cape Town, which is probably better as a business option. Situated in an ok area but not ideal for Waterfront. The room was well equipped if a tiny bit jaded but was clean and fresh. The food was good but a little predictable and the service was good throughout our stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Staffsmartin,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the service offered by the staff. We at the Strand Tower Hotel are dedicated to ensure you have a great stay.

Please make sure to stay with us during your next visit to Cape Town, as we love to give you excellent service.

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    274
    107
    31
    20
See reviews for
89
231
57
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed 5 nights at the hotel in October - it was a very pleasant stay - room spacious, clean towels daily if you wanted them.excellent choice for breakfast and evening buffet. Staff friendly and efficient.
Situated in central location.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
Annie Bray - Swansea UK

Room Tip: High floor facing Table Mountain - we watched the cable car go up and down the mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Annie B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the Strand Tower Hotel! It gives me great pleasure that you had a very pleasant stay, and were very happy with the hotel. We always strive to exceed expectations and I am happy that we succeeded during your stay!

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Strand Tower Hotel the next time you visit Cape Town!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel was ok for 1 night, but I'd probably not stay there again.

Staff was friendly.
Breakfast was quite good.
Room was comfortable enough.

I think what bothered me was the hidden costs:
- parking 65 rand per night (I paid 40 when I stayed at a 5star in the same area).
- tray fee 100 rand for room service (a bit insulting).
- internet was not for free (but I don't know the cost cause I didn't use it).

Service wasn't great either... we asked for a cork opener and it was quite difficult to get one, it took us 2 phone calls and a trip to the 2nd floor to open the bottle.

To sum up, the hotel wasn't terrible at all, but I'm inclined to believe there are better options in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BereAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear BereAllan,

It is great to read that you have taken the time to write a review about the hotel. It is great to read about your valuable feedback, as this will enable us to improve our product and services. Your comments have been discussed with the relevant managers, in order to ensure it doesn't happen again. Please do note that we offer free internet, with a limit of 100MB per day.

Please contact us again the next time you visit Cape Town, as we look forward to showing you that we take our guests' requests serious.

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My stay was doing good, although I found some cleanliness problems (carpets and windows very dirty), until I knew the general manager Jerome [--]. He did not planned the hotel parking for the new year eve and I could not stop my car in the hotel parking (although I was a guest and was paying R65/day). Te staff suggested me to stop in the street, but I said NO because the car was not mine. The GM Jerome arrived and raised the voice saying that he didn't care if it was full or not, it was my problem. He send me to stop my car in a parking 3 blocks away, full of mouses and rats!
My experience was terrible because of the general manager. My opinion: his staff is much more prepared than him.
Victor Acquaviva

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor-Acquaviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Victor-Acquaviva,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.com about the Strand Tower Hotel. I am happy to hear that your stay was great, though I must say I am a bit offended for telling people I suck. As you and I both noticed, our parking was full at the time you wanted to park at the hotel, and we do not reserve any parking spaces for any of our guests. You then parked the car in front of the hotel and were blocking the entrance to the hotel and thereby inconveniencing all our guests. Eventually we were able to convince you to move the car. Therefore I would like to offer you my sincere gratitude for making use of the alternative parking one block away, a secure parking garage that we utilise when our parking is full, and as other guests in previous reviews have commended this option before, we believe this is a good alternative.

Thank you once again for all your comments and we look forward to your next visit in Cape Town!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Within the first 2 hours of arriving at the hotel, my car was broken into in the hotels "secure" paid for parking. Naturally the hotel accepts no liability, eventhough you pay for the secure parking at r65 per day. This was a service we paid for but most certainly did not receive, which i feel is highly unethical and just plain bad bussiness. The manager did make an attempt to look into the situation, but as the cctv system is woefully inadequate, nothing constructive resulted from that excercise in futlity.

Apart from that disturbing incident, the hotels facilities and services were adequate and well managed. It is just the guest security that requires improvements on a monumental scale.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank brian e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear brian e,

firstly I would like to thank you for your review on tripadvisor. Regarding the incident you had at the hotel, we are looking in to the matter, and strive to continuously update our product and services. We have since updated our procedures to ensure that these situations do not happen again.

Despite the incident, I am very happy to learn that you had a satisfying stay.

Please contact us for your next visit to Cape Town.

Warm regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Great pool and bar area to relax in (deck chairs however too little). Centrally located to most activities in Cape Town. Children play area could use a bit of a touch up - jumping castle not fully functional, pool cues have no tips, otherwise great to entertain the kids. Rooms are very small, especially for a family of four.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Robert G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel! Regarding the comments you have made about the play area, we continuously try to replace all the items as soon as possible, as we want to give the best experience possible. Furthermore I am very happy to learn that you had an enjoyable time with the holiday package that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you for your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

First of all, may I just say the staff at this hotel are the best!, they were very enthusiastic and engaging with us. The rooms are well proportioined, and the hotel were more than happy to swap our rooms (so we could get a better view of the wonder of the world that is Table mountain)..

The dinning experience was also nice, the pianist was on top form and the chef was happy to rustle up some much needed eggs even minutes after they officially closed for breakfast.

The location, a stone throw from Long street is quite handy so no need to hop in a cab after hitting the tiles of the numerous bars nearby.

Clean rooms, good food, fabulous location & friendly staff...what more do you need on a vacation!?!?! ;-). Thanks Stand Hotel, we'll definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Table Mountain, it makes a difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mistah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear MR_L0ng,

It is great to get such a lovely review, many thanks for that! Furthermore I am happy that you got a view of Table Mountain every day! As you mention, you don't need much more than "Clean rooms, good food, fabulous location & friendly staff", therefore this is the place to be in Cape Town ;-)

For your next visit, you can also inform about our holiday package options, as many tours are included in this as well... But in the mean time, we look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
757 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
836 reviews
Fountains Hotel
#82 of 106 in Cape Town Central
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
935 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
753 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#39 of 106 in Cape Town Central
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Tower Hotel

Property: Strand Tower Hotel
Address: Corner of Strand and Loop Streets, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Tower Hotel is located in the hub of Cape Town’s CBD on the corner of bustling Strand and Loop Streets. It offers 4 Star accommodation, making it the ideal place to stay for business, conference and leisure travellers.Free internet of 100MB daily is available to all our guests. Secure on site parking.Cape Town’s business centre is within easy walking distance from the Strand Tower Hotel. The city’s many major tourist attractions, such as Table Mountain, Robben Island and the V&A Waterfront, are also within easy access from the hotel. Other notable landmarks nearby include the Cape Town International Convention Centre. With three World Heritage Sites, Cape Town has a wide range of attractions that include a diverse mix of cultural, historical and historical sites, as well as a host of outdoor and leisure activities. From entertainment, nature and environment to world-class wining and dining – the Mother City offers something for everyone.Boasting a gym, sauna, bar, restaurant and satellite television, the Strand Tower Hotel is almost entirely self contained. So much so, that our guests don’t even need to go outside.The hotel has plenty of facilities to keep you entertained and relaxed. The pool deck, which is located on the second floor of the hotel, provides guests with a lush, tranquil oasis in the heart of the city. The gym area, sauna and steam room allow guests to destress after a long day while having fabulous views of Table Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Tower Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing