We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strand Tower Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
StayEasy Cape Town City Bowl(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Southern Sun Cape Sun(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Urban Hip Icon Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveler rating
227
309
125
36
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
309
125
36
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstable mountainlong streetcorner roomthe executive loungeloop streethigh floorstreet noisevery nice staythe hotel staffcentral locationwithin walking distancebreakfast buffetsignal hillhop on hop off busenjoyed my staywater frontcamps bay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 718 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed here for one night and I thought it was perfectly fine.
The rooms were of standard size with a bigger bathroom than most hotel rooms I have stayed in and perfectly clean. The pool is relatively small but great for a quick refreshing dip after a day of sight seeing. At night the pool area turns into an alfresco bar with live music which is fantastic, especially when accompanied by a drink bought during happy hour.

Breakfast is a big buffet and offers the likes of sausages and bacon to stir fried veg and fish cakes.
The staff seem friendly and when ordering a taxi, they make sure the driver knows where they are going before they wave you off. (Our taxi driver had to ask for instructions from the bell boy) but we got to our next destination safe and sound.

The hotel is located downtown, so you need to get a cab to the V and A waterfront but you are within walking distance to all the museums and the tourist mecca of Long Street.

Wifi is slightly expensive at R75 for 24 hours I think.

I would have no problem in staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, they are bigger than a normal room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Dear Catherine B,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Strand Tower Hotel! It is a pleasure to read that you had a great stay, and enjoyed our live music. We provide live music every Thursday night, with the weather allowing on our pool.
Furthermore we strive to give the best service possible, as we believe that guests are of the greatest value to us, and they deserve to have a great experience, no matter what.
With regard to the internet, we charge for data used, not for a time limit, and the ticket will remaing valid for a period of 2 months.
Please let us know when you are coming back to Cape Town as we would love to welcome you here again!

Kind regards,
Jerome van Helden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

rooms: mediocre, smallish in size, but clean

internet: can be spotty, but overall was good. well priced.

breakfast: decent selection

location: very good

service: no problems.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Dear travel g,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Strand Tower Hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable stay!
Please let us know when you will be visiting Cape Town again, so that we can provide you with a great stay once again.
Kind regards,
Jerome van Helden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Very clean, good beds, nice linens, helpful staff, decent breakfast and a good downtown location. Internet access was very spotty, so if this is a "must have" you will be frustrated. The elevator did not work occasionally - this was OK if you are able to climb up and down the exit stairs but would be a serious problem if you can't. The pool is located on the restaurant's terrace and is partially a glass wall so if you are not a bit of an exhibitionist you won't like the location, but the pool was too cold (early December) to swim in anyway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

Dear 29Teddy,

Thank you kindly for your review of the Strand Tower Hotel! It is greatly appreciated! I am very happy to read that you had a good stay. With regard to the points you mentioned, we can only benefit if those issues are raised. Please note that the lift problems have been resolved. It is very inconvenient for us as well as the guest when anything like that occurs.
Please make sure you come back to the Strand Tower Hotel next time you are in Cape Town for either business or pleasure!
Kind regards,
Jerome van Helden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

ST is situated in heart of Cape Town and 5 mins away from the Hot & Happening “Water Front”. Been here in a Group Tour and liked the food & ambience. Rooms are well done up and very cosy. I would rate it as 3.5 stars, swimming pool on the 2nd floor is good, tiny though. However the sitting area near the pool is super and gives a great cozy feeling. Ust visit place is Table mountain & Must do adventure activity in South Africe are: Shark Cage diving, bungee jumping, sky diving, Ostrich farm (take a ride & touch/feed them) & Animal park where you can see different types of animals closely. Also for a fee you can enter tiger/leopard cub cage to play with them & also have a play with king cobras.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms on higher floor for a view of Waterfront and city.
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachitReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

Dear RachitReview,

Thank you very much for your review of the Strand Tower Hotel! I am really happy to hear that you had a memorable stay at the Strand Tower Hotel in Cape Town! It sounds like you had many things to do and were able to explore Cape Town in a good manner.
Please make sure that you come back to us next time you are in Cape Town!

Kind regards,
Jerome van Helden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

very good quality everything but not in the best part of town and if you happen to visit for New Year avoid the area! The traditional 'Koon Carnival' starts and ends in that part of town and it gets exceptionally dangerous - especially if you happen to be white. Revellers get overly drunk and drugged and go nuts in the streets. I retreated to film the street chaos from the 1st floor swimming pool level but was pleased to be sage in the confines of the hotel. At that time of year find something in Clifton, Camps Bay or Hout Bay but avoid the town centre at all costs!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

Dear Wolfus,

Thank you for your review about the Strand Tower Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review after 11 months. We do hope we can welcome you next time you visit Cape Town in our hotel!
Kind regards,
Jerome van Helden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews