We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located & totally refurbished”
Review of Strand Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Strand Tower Hotel
Ranked #53 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
148 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Centrally located & totally refurbished”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Found this hotel last-minute, at rock-bottom rate, just a few days before departing to Cape Town. At that price the value was great: good service overall, quiet airconditioned room with all necessary amenities and everything in working order. Didn't have breakfast there but used the parking lot for our rental car two nights.
The hotel is conveniently located as you can safely walk to all tourist attractions in the old town, while the Waterfront is just a few minutes away by car or taxi.
All in all good value for money, but if you need to pay the normal rates it might be worthwhile to check alternatives.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyKingBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear GypsyKingBrussels,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your stay in December 2010. We are glad that you value the hotel for its location and the value for money. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the hotel!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    280
    111
    31
    20
See reviews for
90
238
57
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

It was excellent all round, the service, the food, rooms, the people.
We were given a great package that included breakfast and dinner - nice, fresh food with lots of choice.

The package also included use of their prestigious Executive Club, with Internet faciliies. We went to this club for rest and winding down and also to pick some little, little goodies to bite.
We just loved it all.

Room Tip: Look for rooms with views of the Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enersto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The room was quite nice and the breakfast was good.
Nevertheless, I had a few problems:
- the room wasn't ready when I arrived and they changed it to let me in, but instead of a king size bed, I found two single beds..
- before leaving I left my luggages for a few hours in the luggage room and when I came back to pick them up, my memory stick was gone!
- I left the empty bottle of body and hair soap in the sink for two days hoping they would have filled it up, but nothing happened and they left it there.. empty

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gugagl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We were a little disappointed with our room at first as it was quite small. We were on a 5* tour which ended in Cape Town and we had opted to stay for another four days on our own at the hotel. We were advised before our trip that most of the hotels were 4 or 5* and the Strand only did Standard Rooms and these were Superior. Sorry, this was not the case, I would rate our room at not quite 4*. The room was definitely Standard and although clean we found it awkward getting in and out of bed on one side as it had been pushed very close to the wall so my husband could hardly get in the bed. Yes there was a flat screen TV but no mini bar, it was empty. We arranged after two days to change rooms to the one next door which was a corner room so had a fantastic view of Table Mountain. This room was much better and more roomy. The minibar was still empty. It is a busy hotel being in a very busy part of Cape Town, it caters for Conferences and Meetings and most of the visitors are for one night only. It was very noisy from the street, with traffic and taxi callers constant throughout the night. But as it is a City Hotel this apparently is the norm and we got used to it after a couple of nights.
The breakfasts are fantastic and the staff very attentive and friendly. The pool is located right outside the restaurant and in full view of diners; it is on the 2nd floor and not very inviting, certainly not what I expected. We had hoped to spend some time relaxing round the pool but it was not situated in the right place and we tended to sit in some easy chairs at the end of the retaurant. This hotel could have done with a small lounge room to be able to sit and read and relax. We spent a lot of time sitting in our room when not out sightseeing.
On the whole, looking back, the hotel was good as far as food and staff were concerned but the rooms do need a little more attention to detail.

Room Tip: Corner room. More space. 11th floor, good view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Good location, very well train staff, breakfast room on 2 floor with good terrace.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitjain30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I stayed in a single room which was roomy, clean and comfortable. There was unfortunately no hot water. Noting was done about it after two requests for it to be fixed. When I went for breakfast, one of the hotel managers walked in and started eating sausages with his bare hand out of the dish, he then lick is fingers clean and continued with the cold meats using his just cleanly licked fingers.
It was apauling! I complained to the sheff and left the breakfast venue immediatly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HendrikDuToit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We have a great time. The breakfast was excellent. And the service was good, staff very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ntombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
955 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
865 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fountains Hotel
#81 of 109 in Cape Town Central
523 reviews
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#57 of 109 in Cape Town Central
354 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Tower Hotel

Property: Strand Tower Hotel
Address: Corner of Strand and Loop Streets, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Tower Hotel is located in the hub of Cape Town’s CBD on the corner of bustling Strand and Loop Streets. It offers 4 Star accommodation, making it the ideal place to stay for business, conference and leisure travellers.Free internet of 100MB daily is available to all our guests. Secure on site parking.Cape Town’s business centre is within easy walking distance from the Strand Tower Hotel. The city’s many major tourist attractions, such as Table Mountain, Robben Island and the V&A Waterfront, are also within easy access from the hotel. Other notable landmarks nearby include the Cape Town International Convention Centre. With three World Heritage Sites, Cape Town has a wide range of attractions that include a diverse mix of cultural, historical and historical sites, as well as a host of outdoor and leisure activities. From entertainment, nature and environment to world-class wining and dining – the Mother City offers something for everyone.Boasting a gym, sauna, bar, restaurant and satellite television, the Strand Tower Hotel is almost entirely self contained. So much so, that our guests don’t even need to go outside.The hotel has plenty of facilities to keep you entertained and relaxed. The pool deck, which is located on the second floor of the hotel, provides guests with a lush, tranquil oasis in the heart of the city. The gym area, sauna and steam room allow guests to destress after a long day while having fabulous views of Table Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Tower Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing