We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent room, poor service”
Review of Strand Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Strand Tower Hotel
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excelent room, poor service”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I stayed in a single room which was roomy, clean and comfortable. There was unfortunately no hot water. Noting was done about it after two requests for it to be fixed. When I went for breakfast, one of the hotel managers walked in and started eating sausages with his bare hand out of the dish, he then lick is fingers clean and continued with the cold meats using his just cleanly licked fingers.
It was apauling! I complained to the sheff and left the breakfast venue immediatly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HendrikDuToit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    283
    112
    31
    20
See reviews for
91
242
57
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We have a great time. The breakfast was excellent. And the service was good, staff very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ntombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed here for two nights when attending a conference. Have to say the staff were most of the time awesome very helpful, but i couldnt help to notice they may have been spending such a long time at work and seemed jaded when we came out and were not so eager (i swear i must have seen the same faces on shift when we started conferencing and when we finished, maybe short staffed or something). Otherwise a good hotel product,ordinary not over the top, with a somehow ordinary food served. if your budget is around R1200 per night its a a fair deal.
I got a room adjacent what seemed a busy cbd main road and some loud pumping noise from what must be an action bar....not exactly what i wanted after a long day. The sound proofing could be improved. Rooms well appointed but nothing over the top...more your standard rooms as would be expected at a high volume hotel. Was taken aback by having to purchase internet vouchers for access...comeon this comes standard free in progressive hotels i have been to charging around the same price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoolomnyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Thanx Ancilla, JP, Abe, Samson, Hein en SAMUEL for your excellend service!!! Never before have I done training at a hotel and had service like you provided. The food was excellent! Samuel was always outside our venue waiting to cater to our every whim.
Clinton, thanx for you IT expertise when we needed it. You saved my life! I am sorry that I can't name any other staff memebers, you were all FANTASTIC! Cant wait for October to work with you aganin.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzettevisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My 3 night stay at the Strand tower hotel was a great experience. Pleasant and fast staff at the reception even though i checked in after 11pm. Very clean and crisp bedsheets and comfortable beds. lovely view of Table Mountain and Lion's head from my room window. Great selection of food and drinks at complimentary buffet breakfast. uninterrupted wireless internet in the rooms. Eateries abound in the area for other meals. i do not recommend walking around the area alone at night as there are quite a few shady looking characters hanging around till late.In all it was a great stay and i recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumsie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a very good hotel, centrally located, with beautifully decorated and confortable rooms (ours had a view of the Table Mountain), a good restaurant and excelent service. The staff is very friendly and makes one to feel at home. They are always smiling. Olivia is one of those people. She works at the restaurant and she is lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and with view of the mountain. There are some noisy rooms because of a night cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLMoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

One of the few issues for improvement was the lack of descriptions for some technical facilities. I would like to have a description of the working of the phone, the tv, the electrical connecting device available at the room. It seemed that even the personnel did not quite know how the phones really worked. During my stay, the origin of a flashing light could not be found.
I also noticed that many other guests had problems in using the guest computers downstairs for using internet. A brief description on paper (advising to open a new tab after typing the password, and returning to the first tab when ending the session for logoff) might be very useful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiOd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
985 reviews
Fountains Hotel
#83 of 109 in Cape Town Central
530 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
897 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
791 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Tower Hotel

Property: Strand Tower Hotel
Address: Corner of Strand and Loop Streets, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Tower Hotel is located in the hub of Cape Town’s CBD on the corner of bustling Strand and Loop Streets. It offers 4 Star accommodation, making it the ideal place to stay for business, conference and leisure travellers.Free internet of 100MB daily is available to all our guests. Secure on site parking.Cape Town’s business centre is within easy walking distance from the Strand Tower Hotel. The city’s many major tourist attractions, such as Table Mountain, Robben Island and the V&A Waterfront, are also within easy access from the hotel. Other notable landmarks nearby include the Cape Town International Convention Centre. With three World Heritage Sites, Cape Town has a wide range of attractions that include a diverse mix of cultural, historical and historical sites, as well as a host of outdoor and leisure activities. From entertainment, nature and environment to world-class wining and dining – the Mother City offers something for everyone.Boasting a gym, sauna, bar, restaurant and satellite television, the Strand Tower Hotel is almost entirely self contained. So much so, that our guests don’t even need to go outside.The hotel has plenty of facilities to keep you entertained and relaxed. The pool deck, which is located on the second floor of the hotel, provides guests with a lush, tranquil oasis in the heart of the city. The gym area, sauna and steam room allow guests to destress after a long day while having fabulous views of Table Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Tower Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing