We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
More Quarters Hotel
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
“Very nice place”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very pleasure experience.
People there are nice and very helpful. The hotel shuttle to V&A waterfront is very convenient.
Near Table Mountain. Breakfast is fantastic. The wi-fi seems a little bit slow though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shucheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for the great review! I hope that you will stay with us again soon - it was a pleasure hosting you at More Quarters. I am happy that you made use of our complimentary shuttle service to the V&A and that you enjoyed our breakfast selection.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    92
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
146
269
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Overall this is the neighborhood you want to be in. Situated between the nightlife of upper Kloof St. and the gentrifying hipness of upper upper Kloof st. This apartment hotel is located right in the heart of the action. Rooms are well designed, spacious and tasteful. Breakfasts as pointed out by other posters are top quality and you won't be bored even after a long stay. It's served in an elegant white-on-white dining room and is an unhurried affair. It's a smaller property so you won't be overwhelmed with guests. It's location down a dead-end side street cuts down on noise and traffic although you might get some rowdiness from bar patrons on the corners. Parking can be a pain as manouvering in this slanted parking is a bit of a game. Staff are there to help you out of you get into trouble. I'd say the real strengths of this hotel are service, size and location. It's understated and quiet and the staff to guest ratio is in your favor. Wifi is a problem as others have mentioned. They piggyback off the Cadogan server one street over. This makes for a frustrating situation in both connectivity and the inconvenient voucher system you need to go through. Upscale Tamboerskloof is yards away while even Bo Kaap is walkable if you are energetic.

Room Tip: Go for rooms above ground level. Closest to the stairs at the end of the cul-de-sac is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanghaiJululu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for the review and your valued comments. I am happy that your stay with us was enjoyable and I hope that you will return soon!

Thank you for mentioning the internet - we have an upgrade scheduled for later this month that will improve connectivity as a whole. I am sorry that you could not make full use of this service.

I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team about the service - they will be delighted!

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Loved loved loved this apt hotel. felt like it was home. or shall i say i wanted my 1 bedroom condo in LA to look like this place. the living area was quite large and the bedroom was white and cozy. with all the amenities one needs. its in a great location, with tons of restaurants and bars nearby. Location away from the waterfront was actually a blessing....quiet and a nice haven away from the hustle and bustle. On Christmas Day the hotel packed us a picnic lunch for our drive down the coast to the cape of good hope; complete with sandwiches, fruit, cheese, chocolate and water. Perfect as most restaurants along the way were closed.

And we had the best guide in the world Gabriel Booysen, and if you don't have a guide in Cape Town, definitely seek him out at guidedbygabriel.co.za. he lives around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpatel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for the review! I am happy that you had a pleasant stay with us and that the team was accommodating. I trust that you will visit us gain soon as it was a pleasure hosting you over the festive period.

I will be sure to mention your comment to Gabriel when I see him again.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and it was just what we needed.

The staff were very accommodating. We arrived quite early and were able to get into our room by around 10 am after breakfast. Check-in wasn't until 2 so after an 11 hour flight we were delighted to be able to take a nap and shower before our afternoon tour began. The staff (hotel) did not have to let us check-in early but did so for no extra money and we could not have been happier! This kindness is much appreciated!

Breakfast was good as well. There was a grocery store just down the street which they suggested for buying a few drinks to keep in the room. The store accepted credit cards so we didn't have to go to an ATM.

The AC dripped water on us during our nap and during the first night while we were sleeping. We reported it to the front office on our way to breakfast and they said they'd look into it. We had no problems with the AC on our second night. Not sure what else you could ask for! The wifi was good.

The kitchen appeared to be well appointed although we didn't need it. We lived in a flat outside of Brussels, Belgium for about 4 months this past year. I would have much rather of stayed in a hotel/apartment like this instead. It was clean, comfortable and had everything necessary.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALee0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I am happy that we could sort out the AC promptly. I will be sure to pass your compliments onto the team here at More Quarters.

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Do yourself a favor and and go spend some nights here (1 night is definitely not enough). The location is excellent as well and the staff are a HUGE asset - they are all great.
Thanks for a lovely but short stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for the great review! It was a pleasure hosting you at More Quarters. I will be sure to pass your message onto the team.

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the More Quarters in Cape Town for 6 nights this November 2013. The apartment is more than comfortable, spotless, and well appointed for everything, from a well outfitted kitchen to a bed more comfortable than my own at home! Breakfast- delicious! Fresh baked croissants every morning and a hot meal of choice. Location- couldn't be better at the top of Kloof Street and close to everything. But the best part of More Quarters was the staff. From suggestions on what, where, and how to do in Cape Town to help making calls and with police when a wallet was stolen, to hanging on to my suitcases while I traveled to other areas of SA for the week, you name it and all with great professionalism and the biggest smiles. I can't say enough about everyone there, and would definitely recommend a stay there when you go to Cape Town.

Room Tip: First floor units have little patios with a table and chairs off the bedroom and are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acunbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I am happy to hear that you were comfortable and that the staff were able to make your stay memorable.

I hope that you will stay with again in the near future - it was a pleasure hosting you!

Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The attention to detail provided by the staff of More Quarters is unrivaled. They are extremely willing to help and assist in any way possible. The room conditions are superbly clean and very well maintained. Further the hotel use of old apartments to make into hotel rooms is rather ingenious. The breakfast layout is also great to get your daily adventures started the right way The location is just a stone's throw from Kloof street and makes for a pleasant walk to Long street and all the attractions of Cape Town's CBD. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkCJacobs, Assistant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We aim to make each stay as comfortable as possible and I am happy to hear that you had a great stay and that you appreciated our location.

I hope that you will visit us again soon - it was a pleasure hosting you!

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,240 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to More Quarters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about More Quarters Hotel

Property: More Quarters Hotel
Address: 2 Nicol Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — More Quarters Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining apartment living with the service and hospitality of a hotel makes this experience unique and ideal when visiting Cape Town. The location within Cape Town city bowl affords guests the ability to walk to both restaurants and boutique shops which are frequented by the locals, ensuring an experience where one becomes part of the city cosmopolitan way of life. The interior style of More Quarters Hotel is a subtle combination of “classic contemporary.” More Quarters is Owned and Managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your More Quarters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Quarters Hotel Cape Town Central
More Quarters Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing