We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
More Quarters Hotel
Ranked #9 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

More Quarters was the last stop of our South African adventure. The hotel is very nice, light and airy and spacious. The staff is really great and will help you arrange anything. We used their help with several things. Unfortunately, our days in Cape Town were filled with rain, wind, cold, and yes, even snow (on Table Mountain)! However, they always had a nice fire going in the lobby where we could warm up after being out in the stormy weather. We stayed in room 15 - which was very pretty. Even though you are in the city center, it is very, very quiet here. We slept very soundly, especially the nights we could hear the rain on the roof! There is a large living area that is combined with a dining area and a small kitchen. The bedroom was very spacious. The bathroom was also very nice with a large soaking tub, separate shower, toilet and sink. The bedroom had a very nice cupboard for storing clothing. It also included a laundry basket, a hairdryer, and a safe. The kitchen has a very nice mini-bar. Everything was very clean. It was up a steep set of stairs, so those with handicaps may have issues. Housekeeping was good, except for the coldest, rainiest night, there was no turndown service - so no hot water bottles to warm the bed that night. Oh well - we simply turned on the heat to make the room warmer that night. There was one minor issue when I went to make tea in the kitchen one evening. I pulled out a teacup that had coffee in it that had not been completely cleaned from the previous user. I simply pulled out a different cup that looked clean, but it did make me wonder about the cleanliness of the kitchen items after that. But that little thing was not important enough to make a stink about. This is a lovely place. The television was a little tricky to work, but who watches much television on vacation anyway.

They have a shuttle going to the Victoria and Albert Waterfront a few times a day and we took advantage of this one day. It was a very nice perk to have that available.

The location is good. You can walk so many places, especially when the weather cooperates.

Breakfast is wonderful. The dining room is beautiful - light and calming. There is a cold buffet that has good selections and then there is a menu to order hot items. Brucely was a wonderful waiter and brought our tea and coffee every morning we were there. I do wish they would consider offering other meals and not just breakfast. It is such a pretty setting that one could easily enjoy a romantic, candlelight dinner in this beautiful space.

Like I said, this is a very lovely place and I would absolutely stay here again. The location is great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellover3868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk J, Assisnant Operations Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. I am glad to hear that our staff took good care of you and that the lounge fire was keeping you warm during the rainy days! I will also pass on the compliment to Bruce in the breakfast room.

I would like to apologize for the turndown service that was not done - it is our pleasure to supply turndown every evening and place hot water bottles in beds during the winter months. Also, the teacup that was not clean is most certainly not our housekeeping norm and I can assure you that we maintain the highest hygiene standards throughout the hotel. We have investigated the incidents and we have taken steps to assure that this does not happen again. Thank you for informing us - we value this input greatly.

We hope to welcome you back to More Quarters in the future as it was a pleasure hosting you in Cape Town.

Best Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    89
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
141
262
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

From the first enthusiastic welcome to the farewell at the end of our short stay More Quarters provided us with the perfect introduction to our South African adventure.

The place is clean and spacious, with bright common areas. It was comfortable and breakfast in a rather grand breakfast room was fresh and full of variety. The hot options to follow the buffet were well cooked and very enjoyable.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The staff also help you to park your car, which is essential as the road can become quite crowded.

We would happily return when next in Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieandNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Cape Town was the first stop of our South Africa/Sambia journey in August 2013.
We (couple mid thirties) spent four nights at the More Quarters in August. Overall it was a great experience in a lovely and modern decorated apartment hotel.
The staff was really nice and supportive throughout, by helping us with eg restaurant recommendations, rental car booking etc.
Also the daily breakfast with hot and cold offerings added to the great experience.
Overall our expectations were exceeded and we definitely recommend everyone going to Cape Town to stay in the More Quarters Hotel.

We will return, for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

More Quarters was our first accommodation of our South African honey Moon... and it was PERFECT! stylish, spacious, comfortable and well located. we liked been there and we ha the felling of been locals, around More there are many restaurants and pubs and the guys from the reception were very helpful to understand how "foodish" we are and to make reservations in many beautiful restaurants in perfect match with our taste and standards!
the room is in fact an apartment and in the same time you have all you need from an hotel: reception, amazing breakfast (home style ... try the house omelette!!!), lounge area and refreshments on the common space. since was winter very niche touch find a hot weather bottle in the bed! what else say? Cape Town made us wander to move there! we simply loved it and I am sure More was one of the reason why...!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgataHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at the Redcliffe house at the More Quarters. Phenomenal house for a family of 6 or more to stay in. Has its own private plunge pool in back, which is small and not heated, but the kids did not care. The daily breakfast is wonderful with the selection of fresh fruits, cheese and breads. Plus a selection of meals off the menu. All the employees are pleasant and polite and work hard to make reservations and try to solve scheduling conflicts that may come up with tours or planned activities.

Plenty of off site restaurants to choose from up and down Kloof Street. Also in a safe area, never felt in danger while walking Kloof Street either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

After a tour of South Africa's many national parks, it is time to relax. There is no better place in Cape Town, or anywhere in South Africa for that matter, than More Quarters' Redcliffe House. The Redcliffe House is a renovated Victorian home with four bedrooms, four bathrooms, a private pool, full kitchen, living room, dining room, and plenty of outdoor sitting areas. The house is just a short walk from the hotel where you can enjoy the complimentary breakfast in the morning and catch a shuttle to the bustling wharf. If staying in and enjoying the solitude of the house is more to your liking, room service is just a phone call away. Once you do make the decision to leave this piece of heaven, you will find that you are centrally located and just a short taxi ride away from Table Mountain, the historic government buildings, the gardens, or the numerous shopping venues.
While in Cape Town, if you want to be pampered like royalty by some of the most attentive staff in the world, book the More Quarters' Redcliffe House.

Room Tip: More Quarters has several types of rooms; but if you are traveling as a family, choose the Redcliffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
340 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in one of the suites - living room/dining area with kitchen and large bedroom. Tiny balcony. Suite was attractively furnished. Service was helpful and friendly. Terrific breakfast was included with many choices of hot & cold foods and fresh juices.

Location is good with many nearby restaurants and shopping. Access to Hop on / Hop off bus is approx 2 blocks away.

Accessibility: might be difficult for someone with limited mobility. Our suite was on the 2nd floor (walk up) and was accessed by walking down a side alley with numerous steps.

Room Tip: Suites have hardwood floors so rooms on first floor might be noisy (we were on 2nd floor and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to More Quarters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about More Quarters Hotel

Property: More Quarters Hotel
Address: 2 Nicol Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — More Quarters Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining apartment living with the service and hospitality of a hotel makes this experience unique and ideal when visiting Cape Town. The location within Cape Town city bowl affords guests the ability to walk to both restaurants and boutique shops which are frequented by the locals, ensuring an experience where one becomes part of the city cosmopolitan way of life. The interior style of More Quarters Hotel is a subtle combination of “classic contemporary.” More Quarters is Owned and Managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your More Quarters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Quarters Hotel Cape Town Central
More Quarters Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing