We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy, stylish, and comfortable with a personal touch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
More Quarters Hotel
Ranked #9 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classy, stylish, and comfortable with a personal touch!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at More Quarters with our family of five in June. We were received incredibly warmly; the receptionist brought us tea and sat down with us chatting about South African politics, travel, and education. We were shown to our rooms, which were extremely comfortable and spacious, with tasteful decor. We had a full kitchen and living room which we never used, but with two teenage daughters, we were very happy to have two bathrooms. As it was winter, we were all delighted to find hot water bottles in our beds each night.

The breakfast room is charming, with many windows, and lovely views of the city and the mountains. The food and service were both of very high quality. We were given friendly assistance with driving directions, restaurants, and booking a tour to Robben Island. The staff checked with us at breakfast each day to see if they could arrange anything for us, or give us advice, or assistance for the day.

The location is convenient; a short cab ride to most restaurants and activities in Cape Town, and it was easy driving from there, over the mountain to Camps Bay. I would highly recommend More Quarters for your visit to Cape Town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    89
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
141
262
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stunning house - old world charm with wooden floors, high pressed ceilings and fireplace. Great location in walking distance of a great choice of dinner restaurants. Breakfast at More Quarters is amazing. I loved how they serve honey. The whole honey comb set on a stand.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InyatiSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The apartments are spacious, airy and well equipped. The staff was attentive and little luxuries surprised us every time we turned around; from hot water bottles for our beds to gourmet delectables at the breakfast buffet, More Quarters was a wonderful way to be welcomed to Africa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Fantastic place to see. Check in - Hot teas and home made cookies. Freindly helpful staff. They booked our Table Mountain cable car ride on the first day. Gave good recommendations on food. Free wifi. Great rrestraraunt nearby (DaVinci) which doubles as room service. Breakfast was a highlight. Great showers and pillows. I just loved it. Family loved it. Absolute recommend without exception. The best place to stay in Capetown.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen17aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Really a lovely hotel. Room is actually a small apartment. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was gorgeous with high end finishes. Breakfast included and tasty. Staff was very attentive and helpful with reservations for restaurants and attractions. And as a bonus, they knew it was our honeymoon and on our last night arranged our room with rose petals and champagne. Totally unexpected and happy surprise. Parking is tight, but the security staff is always out front to help you find a spot and direct you in and out of tight spaces so it really wasn't an issue for us.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeirg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

the common areas are great, but the wood work and furniture in our apartment are of much inferior quality and finish. rooms are small and the quilt is rather heavy. great staff and excellent breakfast options. parking is an issue here because it's rather full and maneuvering on this narrow alley is cumbersome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We recently returned from a fabulous African safari which started with a 4 night stay at More Quarters. There were 6 of us in 3 apartments. We found the property very comfortable, but we especially loved the staff! They were very helpful with advice and assistance, but they also took great care in keeping my family safe. My children have food allergies and every morning (at our wonderful breakfast) the staff brought out items from the back especially for them so that there would not be any possible cross-contamination. Also, when they made a dinner reservation for us they notified the restaurant of their allergies (without being asked or reminded). It was a pleasure to come home to a comfy bed complete with a hot water bottle that we could put at our feet (Cape Town was a bit colder than I expected). The morning we left they set out breakfast early (and had the girls' plate prepared) so that we could eat before we left for the next stop on our adventure. We all agreed that the place was wonderful and that we would definitely return if we have the opportunity to go back to Cape Town. The only downfall is that it is a long walk or a cab ride to the waterfront (I believe they have a shuttle but it didn't work out for us). But we were able to catch the Red (on off) bus nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,352 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,197 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,791 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,486 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to More Quarters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about More Quarters Hotel

Property: More Quarters Hotel
Address: 2 Nicol Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — More Quarters Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining apartment living with the service and hospitality of a hotel makes this experience unique and ideal when visiting Cape Town. The location within Cape Town city bowl affords guests the ability to walk to both restaurants and boutique shops which are frequented by the locals, ensuring an experience where one becomes part of the city cosmopolitan way of life. The interior style of More Quarters Hotel is a subtle combination of “classic contemporary.” More Quarters is Owned and Managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your More Quarters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Quarters Hotel Cape Town Central
More Quarters Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing