We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food is OK, Fun for the Music”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama Africa

Mama Africa
Ranked #55 of 1,142 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
138 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Food is OK, Fun for the Music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was sent to Mama Africa by hotel car to enjoy some game meat selections and music. Upon entry you can tell this is one lively spot.

Drinks were fairly standard and a bit priced to tourist levels. I ordered a mixed platter of game meats. Most were OK, some a bit tough or dry. Not all of those meats are native to South Africa, so you can be sure they came frozen. Worth a go if a bit expensive. The Zimbabwean tree worm, or whatever it is, was served in a fashion that I wasn't sure what was what so I dug in. Turns out I loved it and I'm no iconoclastic or ultra-daring eater.

Afterwards you can join in for a dance with the house band. Good fun. Met a new buddy from Ivory Coast there and we went bar hopping for awhile after. Be careful on Long St as it gets later in the evening. There are security officers, so while you're unlikely to experience anything bad, we encountered a few pushy drug dealers trying to sell a local version of meth.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZDrF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    582
    223
    96
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vegetarian and Entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

As a vegetarian options are somewhat limited at times, but I found the food at Mama Africa to be fantastic and unique. Moreover, the atmosphere itself was chill and the music tantalizing. It was a great place to spend an evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our visit to Mama Africa's was won born out of hunger and its proximity to our hotel. Little did we know the treat we were in for. It is so much more than a restaurant... its a great night out. We had live music with added entertainment, a super atmosphere, dancing, attentive staff and most of all amazing food... The T-bone steak that my husband ordered was the best he have ever tasted, and for such a carnivore to say so, says a lot! This is a spot not to be missed. Make sure not to make plans for after dinner... You won't need to, Mama Africa supplies the lot!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Venusdiablo_ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“out of thiw world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

now here is a restaurant worth the visit, attentive staff fantastic food and great live music. A group of 14 of us went in and was no problem for the staff who had a table set up for us and allocated us our own waiter, a fantastic night was had by all

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamwhit57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasting South Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This unique restaurant really brings out the "flavor" of Cape Town. Not just the great food but the atmosphere, music and friendly people welcome visitors to this wonderful city. And their house wine was really good. Don't miss the Banana flame for dessert. We listened to the incredible band Abavuki and were so impressed with their sound and movement.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Africa also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Mama Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing