We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent bistro, nice wines” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bizerca Bistro

Bizerca Bistro
Ranked #18 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Open Monday to Friday for lunch and dinner. Closed on Saturday and Sunday and most Public Holidays
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1,415 reviews
1,141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
“Decent bistro, nice wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

A small bistro on Heritage Sq. with an elaborated but not overly complex cuisine; a good place for lunch, probably less for a dinner, with nice, well balanced wine list, although a bit short choice of wines by glass.
There is a sort menu but also a long list of daily specials with, in my case, an outstanding vegetable salad with a lot of greens, beetroot, radish, and many others served with very good, soft, local goat cheese; as a main, I took another starter of cod accras (Caribbean cod fish cake): one of the best I ever had, very light and without usual oily/fried texture, with some mozzarella-style cheese inside, making it even more delicious.
A small carafe of typical South-African Chenin to go with and here goes a delicious, light and well priced lunch !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    168
    62
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is not just a bistro-it's a perfect dining restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We've been there twice for dinner and were astonished with the wonderful tasty and great food - we had the panfried fish fillet which was perfect, so I ordered it again two days after. The service was perfect, the location is almost romantic. Nice place, great value for the money!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little Jewel in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Exceptional sevice at Bizerca. This is complemted by excellent food, such attention to detail with texture, flavors and quality of produce served up to you. I would recommend dining here in a heartbeat if you can get a booking!

Helpful?
Thank Nayan P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The food here was amazing and the staff was just as good. Shortly after you're seated a waiter puts a large chalk board with all of the day's specials at your table and goes through the options for the night. The portions sizes are good and we left happy and full and the prices were affordable as well. This is a great date restaurant but a reservation is necessary.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
137 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Top-notch food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is one of the finest restaurants I have been to, and a must stop for any visitor to Cape Town who appreciates original and fine cuisine. Food is the center of this experience, but nice drink selection as well, decent service, and great atmosphere. Central location. I realize there are tons of wonderful restaurants in Cape Town, but make sure you add this restaurant near the top of your list. I will be back here every time I come back to Cape Town!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bizerca Bistro also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bizerca Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing