We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary cells!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
African Train Lodge
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Private twin room looked & felt like a prison cell. Lots of undesirable people staying / lurking around!!

Check out the photo's.. Are you really prepared to sleep on a pillow like that?!

Window to the room didn't fully close which resulted in 31 mosquito bites for me alone!!!

Wouldn't recommend for anyone but def not a female. Member of staff even stated "I wouldn't stay here!!!"

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank M1ssChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2014

Hi There

Thank you very much for posting a revue, and I apologise that it has taken a while to respond.

We are very grateful for your feedback, and I can assure we have used this information to improve both our quality of product and as well as our service standards.

Thanks again for taking the time post a revue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for African Train Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 44 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

Perhaps the cheapest single in Cape Town. That is what you will get there.
Rooms are clean though small as they are the compartments of the old train cars.
On the other hand the common bathrooms were rather dirty.

Conveniently located for walking around the town but I was told it was not safe
around the hotel at night. Staff were very friendly. Anyway, quiet at night.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms viewing the mountain. They are very hot during the day.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J Hoon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2014

Hi, thank you for your feedback, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation in the carriages.

We have used this feedback to ensure that we have good maintenance and cleaning programmes in place and our bathrooms are now much improved.

With regards to safety, we have very good security at the Lodge, and in addition in recent times, the City has made major strides in making Cape Town safe for its visitors.

Thank you again for the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Good value and nicely unusual. Only downside was the very small rooms

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cazciren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a revue.

We are very pleased to hear that you found the lodge good value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Me & my partner decided to stay in African Train Lodge due to its proximity from the Civic Centre (where you can get a shuttle bus to the airport for 53 Rand, one way) and its cheap rates. The lodge is just a 6-minute walk from Civic Centre, and is located by the rail lines from Cape Town's main train station.

The manager, Adolph, was kind enough to offer us the twin room for just R400 (original price is R440) since we were only going to stay there for the night. My first thought of the lodge is that it's a BYO (bring your own) type of lodge, so we had to pay R25 for one towel, and a soap, which they also kindly offered to us for R5.

The twin room was very small & old-looking, and there was little space to put your things on - you can put it on the bunkbeds above, or the drawers under the beds (it was too hard to open though). The only entertainment we had was the window outside that showed nothing but a car store. But despite everything, the beds were very clean & neat, no signs of dust, and there are even two plugs to charge your electronics.

The shower rooms looked like the ones you will see in a resort. The good thing about the shower rooms is it has plenty of hot water - perfect when we went there and it was about 10 degrees outside. They also have a restaurant inside & we ordered the ordinary breakfast for R25, and it was pretty much average. The staffs were also delightful, especially Adolph, who organized the Cape Peninsula tour for us the next day.

Overall, if you're willing to stay in a very small room but pay a very small value for it, then I highly recommend you this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A_Lana_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2014

Hi There

Thank you very much for posting a your revue we are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die sind glaube ich alle Gleich!
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank pantera_4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Aimery90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015
Thank WilliamFerreira93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 128 in Cape Town Central
669 reviews
1.6 mi away
Never at Home Cape Town
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 128 in Cape Town Central
324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 128 in Cape Town Central
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
A Sunflower Stop
A Sunflower Stop
#9 of 128 in Cape Town Central
338 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 128 in Cape Town Central
499 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Train Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Train Lodge

Address: Monument Station Old Marine Drive, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $31 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for tourists, backpackers, school & sports groups. Unique budget accommodation in 10 vintage railway coaches. The coaches are original and completed their service with the Rhodesian railway in 1950 and are now fully revamped to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Central to the Cape Town's city centre and great views of the mountain with swimming pool, restaurant, bar, braai/barbecue area, television lounges, pool tables, a travel centre and internet cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your African Train Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Train Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing