We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - what more can you want?”
Review of Tom's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tom's Guest House
Ranked #18 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant - what more can you want?”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a real gem and we really lucked out to stay here because originally we wanted to stay in a B&B down the road (Cactusberry). Cactusberry emailed me, saying they have no availability but they would recommend Tom's Guest House.

This place is absolutely brilliant. Beautiful lounge, clean rooms, comfortable and amazing breakfast. Honesty bar is brilliant and really good value - especially when compared to drink prices in Dubai where we live!

The staff here really make you feel welcome, especially Guenter who came to pick us up from the airport and made some brilliant recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants. Guenter even drove us to the winelands and took us to a vineyard on the way! You wouldn't even get this service at a 5* star hotel!

I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone visiting to Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mascara46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    19
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
51
168
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Really nice place, and with the advantage of being central (15-20 minute walk to Green Market Square). But the most striking thing for me about Tom's is the wonderful service provided, by particularly Guenter, who speaks fluent English. Guenter always made sure that you knew how to get to wherever you wanted to get, would give you down-to-earth advice on everything from parking to where to have dinner (including booking it) - it made a major difference to my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Tom has been very welcoming and helpful. He gave us some good advice for dinner. Breakfast was great and coffee excellent! Nice and spacious rooms. Parking facilities in front of the guesthouse. Small but nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at Tom's guesthouse in September 2011 and was treated very well by Gunther and his staff. Gunther provided us with excellent breakfast and organized tours to the town. He was always there to assist with any questions we had and made excellent recommendations on restaurants which were situated nearby. Had a week 's stay and enjoyed every moment of it. Their wifi was an additional bonus as we could Skype with our family back home as well. Well done!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susiemarshall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2009

The Guest House is very nice and cosy. The owners and the staff are very friendly and helpful. It is in a very nice and save nabourhood, just ten minutes walking distance from the center of Cape Town. The rooms are very good organized and clean. The prices are suitable and affordable. They have a familiar atmosphere and welcome everyone with open arms. You can get recommendings from the owners who are always around.

Synoptic: a nice place to stay for a vacation in Cape Town!!!

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank draemtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,404 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#12 of 156 in Cape Town Central
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,024 reviews
City Bowl
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakf...
#39 of 156 in Cape Town Central
49 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Guest House

Property: Tom's Guest House
Address: 44 Breda Street | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tom's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Tom's Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing