We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ikhaya Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$168
$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$118
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$125
$114
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$738
$418
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
$190
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$538
$427
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$653
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
27
44
11
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
44
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrican decorcompany gardensnational galleryquiet areaconference roomtable mountaincity sightseeingcompany's gardensmall hotelwater shortagehop on hop off bus stopsafe parkinglong streethot breakfastwalking distanceperfect locationenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 85 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights and had a good experience. The room was clean and with the minimum required, including a lovely balcony towards the Square. The continental breakfast also had the minimum I expected and the service was just good, the staff is friendly but perhaps a little inexperienced. I was also allowed to use the open parking inside the premises.
The area is very quiet, right in the historic centre of the city. The view from the room had a superb view of the Table Mountain.
Just for brief moments I experienced noise from guests in the passage or they talking loud in adjacent rooms.
The interior decoration is a good attempt of an African theme but not really that well achieved, nevertheless the decoration and the music in the lounge is a friendly hint that you are in Africa. The lounge and the dining have a pleasant area that extends to the outside pavement

If I get again the discounted price I would definitely go back. I don't think if I would with the full price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallevien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Great place to stay. Very friendly staff. Laid back. I had a very large and bright room with a view on Table mountain. Central location in a very quiet area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielVeniot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

iKhaya Lodge can be found tucked away in Cape Town’s historic Dunkley Square and surrounded by heritage buildings. It is listed as a three star establishment but its owner Ruth Kamau and her friendly staff provided us with five star service. Our delightful if sparsely furnished loft apartment provided pristine white linens on very comfortable beds. The view from our balcony of well known Table Mountain was breathtaking. A simple breakfast buffet was more than adequate and if desired, we had the opportunity to purchase a more robust fare. iKhaya Lodge is within easy walking distance of Cape Town City Centre and conveniently close to the City Sightseeing ‘Hop-on Hop-off’ bus stop. Owner Ruth Kamau proved to be a rich source of local area information and her freely offered knowledge and advice of where to go, what to see and do were most welcomed and much appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gem22Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I stayed at IKhaya lodge for 6 days at the end of June while in Cape Town and found it to be friendly, comfortable and good value. Only downsides were that the breakfast is continental only with limited choice, and the restaurant was not open for lunch or dinner while I was there. However there is a new Greek restaurant, Maria's, over the square and the food there was outstanding. I will happily come back both to IKhaya lodge and to Maria's.

Room Tip: Half the rooms overlook Table Mountain...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanoiFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guestrelations58, Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

It is always lovey to read a review from a guest and thank you for making time and it's great to know you enjoyed our property. The restaurant was going through some changes in the kitchen but we are happy to say that is complete and we are open daily from breakfast to 3pm. As a future note, dinner is available and can be booked through reception. Our continental breakfast includes 3 cereals and yoghurts, two juices, cold meats and cheeses, fruit salad, muffins and preserves, toast and tea or coffee. We would love to have you visit again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

We stayed in one of the iKhaya Lodge apartments for 6 nights. The lodge is in a good location, within walking distance to several restaurants including Long Street and the train station. The apartments are roomy with good views of table mountain. We would stay here again. The wifi is not free, but is very inexpensive for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guestrelations58, Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

We enjoy having all our guests but it is a special bonus to have guests stay for long as we get to know you better. Thank you for the lovely remarks and it we are delighted to know that you enjoyed staying with us as much as we enjoyed having you. We are fortunate to have such a wonderful location and and property and like the best of things in life, these two are also better shared!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews