We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Restaurant

Gold Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: African, Tunisian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tuck in to a 14-dish set tasting menu inspired by dishes from all over the African continent. Learn to play the djembe drums with one of our patient, friendly facilitators. Enjoy live African entertainment with stories told through music and dance.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was more fun than you can shake a stick at. We were picked up at our hotel and then driven to the restaurant. We were then given a Djembe drumming lesson, followed by a set menu dinner. Each course was interspersed with african singing and dancing and at one point was invited up to get involved. Brilliant. The staff were chatty and friendly and the service excellent. Would deffinitely advise people to go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    322
    75
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
277 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“What an Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was an optional event in our tour and was definitely an experience I would not have wanted to miss. The food is fantastic and the show was definitely a great ending for our trip. This is truly an African experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ntflady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Didn't work for us”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

First time that trip advisor review hasn't work for us.. Everyone in the restaurant, including the staff, looked miserable.. When the food started to come out we realized why. Small, cold portions, from a set menu.. Vegetarian dish absolutely awful.. Don't like writing bad reviews but even the entertainment didn't make up for it for us. Might work for a large group, but think twice otherwise..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJandSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went to the Gold Restaurant, and first we had a drumming lesson interacting with the person leading us and the rest of the patrons. That was a lot of fun ! everyone there loved it.
Then we moved to our table and our waitress was from Zambia, a beautiful, intelligent, well spoken young lady. She explained the menu perfectly and had a very welcoming smiling attitude.
Most of the waiters are from all over Africa, and there is a continuous show around the tables and the different levels of the restaurant. The food was very good, the show was excellent, and the whole experience was truly amazing and very worthwhile.
At last there is a good place to take the Tourists ! (I am a Tour Guide)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank claudroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A taste of African food and good drumming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great experience. You can go around 6pm and do some drumming which is great fun and relaxing, then you get a tasting menu of African dishes and entertainment. Excellent service and the entertainment was good fun as not too long

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hope0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Gold Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing