We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“African Spirit”
Review of Gold Restaurant

Gold Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tuck in to a 14-dish set tasting menu inspired by dishes from all over the African continent. Learn to play the djembe drums with one of our patient, friendly facilitators. Enjoy live African entertainment with stories told through music and dance.
Christmas, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“African Spirit”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Great entertainment and atmosphere. A MUST for your visit in Cape Town.
The food was delicious. We had several courses. A safari through the cape (or so). Containing satay scewers, samosas, minced ostriche, seafood curry, mango tomato relish, cardamon rice, and much much more (you do not get a menu card, it is a set menu with great african dishes- some names were too complicated to remember….)
More:
http://parttimeangelontour.com/2013/02/05/spirit-of-africa-gold-restaurant-cape-town/

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PartTimeAngelOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    743
    353
    83
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great group fun!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Took a group there for African experience. Staff was friendly, efficient, and well informed group. Tasting menu was well received and provided sample of flavors. 'Live entertainment' throughout added a fun dimension.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ville8086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“An African restaurant experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

At the recommendation of our hotel manager we went to the Gold restaurant instead of the
African cafe which a friend had recommended. What a great experience of multi-course meal with dancers. And drums. Not entirely sure what I ate but it was very good. Fixed menu at set price of R260.,

I would highly recommend. It as a switch from your usual cuisine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TopsideMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good evening out”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very well worth a visit. From the drumming session to the entertainment at the dinner table. Take your visitors from out-of-town - you'll enjoy it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Capetownians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing food, live music and dancing!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was by far, the best restaurant experience I had in South Africa. The staff was very engaging; the live music and dancing was a lot of fun to watch and participate in. The waitstaff sang Happy Birthday for my friend and brought her up to the center floor to dance with them, and then gave her a free birthday shot. The selection of food was very diverse and we left stuffed and fully satisfied. I would highly recommend for anyone on their travels to Cape Town!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank as392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Gold Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing