We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Restaurant

Gold Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: African, Tunisian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tuck in to a 14-dish set tasting menu inspired by dishes from all over the African continent. Learn to play the djembe drums with one of our patient, friendly facilitators. Enjoy live African entertainment with stories told through music and dance.
Battersea, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This restraurant was recommended by a hotel staff member, and we are glad we followed her advice. Although we were on an upper floor and could not see the show, the performers came up to our floor and danced. Actually, we all danced! The food and service were very good, and I would recommend Gold to anyone wanting to try African cuisine. They also offer a shuttle service, for a reasonable fee, which is easier than taking a taxi. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    322
    75
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thanks, Gold for some lovely memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you really only want to eat in just one African theme restaurant, make it Gold. Of the three "African" restaurants in which we dined, this was by far the best. It was tops in friendliness,entertainment, and quality of food and service. (When we told the hostess that we had chosen Gold because we wanted to try a Xhosa cuisine called pap. It is one that Nelson Mandela mentioned as his favorites in his Book, The Long Walk to Freedom. Pap wasn't on the menu that night, but we were delighted when the chef whipped some just for us! How is that for service!!! )

FYI: All seats are reserved. The delightful restaurant is divided into two very open rooms. One side is for large groups and the other is for private clientele. The show takes place in the area between the two. Both share equally excellent food, views and service. Please don't forget your camera. You should capture some great photos.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CAGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A must visit restaurant for any visitor to Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just love this place, its fun and a great night out. Get there early for the drumming practice, then be prepared to be entertained, get ready to dance, and you will enjoy the evening. Service was great, you are served a selection of different dishes form around Africa, all perfectly explained to you by the waiting staff. A fantastic evening and thoroughly enjoyable for all ages. Oh and the wines are all from Rickety Bridge, a great winery in the Franschhoek region.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinrwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An African Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

From the moment we walked into this restaurant and met by a lovely member of the staff and taken to our drum lesson where we were soon playing like professionals to the great meal which was served by lovely staff. It was a great evening topped off by African dancers and singers with a finale that included all the waiters as well. There is a shuttle bus to take you to and from the restaurant. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doidgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Bite sized African experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner at this restaurant. Before service they have an African drum demonstration which is very enjoyable. Dinner was a set menu and the courses covered at least 7 different African nations. The meal was accompanied by three separate instances of African musical singing and dancing which helped elevate the overall ambience and experience. The food itself was nothing spectacular. I imagine specialty African restaurants such as ethiopian etc could do a better job of each of the served courses.
Service was very good. Recommended for those like myself on a short African holiday trying to optimise the African experience

Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Gold Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing