We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Top Notch"”
Review of Societi Bistro

Societi Bistro
Ranked #52 of 1,155 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casual and informal bistro in Gardens, Cape Town with an a great little bar, "The Snug".
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“"Top Notch"”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were greeted warmly at the door and shown directly to our corner table. The restaurant was bustling and the decor simple elegant and "old school" The food was exceptional and the service just as good. The food was economical, tasty and well presented. The plates were hot, a real plus considering it was chilly outside.
The French regional food special's changes every 3-4 days and is well worth a try. My Beef Bordelaise was tender, tasty and filling while the Nemesis Chocolate cake with Vanilla ice cream is a must for chocolate lovers. Don't forget the wine. They have a fantastic choice and I can recommend the Joubert Tradouw Syrah with this pairing.
Word of caution Book in advance. Well Done!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mashman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    250
    71
    38
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“one of our favorite meals in cape town!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The food, service, and ambiance are all wonderful - the mushroom risotto and cheesecake were both standouts and we enjoyed the romantic, but lively atmosphere even on a Wednesday evening.

Highly recommend Societi Bistro for Cape Town visitors and if you are feeling fancy stop by Planet Bar at the Mount Nelson Hotel for drinks before or after.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lrknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zambia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Acon:5 Manager:0”
Reviewed August 13, 2013


We were recommended this bistro by the host of the B&B at which we were staying, and this being the first night of our holiday and Big A and M's first visit to Cape Town we were really looking forward to a good meal out. We had a very friendly, attentive waiter, Acon, who went out of his way to ensure we had a great evening! Accordingly we ordered 2 very good bottles of wine. The starters were okay, given the rest of the meal they faded into insignificance! For most of my life I have lived in very remote areas, and therefore had never had the opportunity to eat fresh tuna. This was to be the night! Bear in mind, I had no expectations.
M however, was quite familiar with tuna, and knew what to expect. We were informed that the tuna was served with a Salade Niçoise. The tuna arrived, slightly seared on both sides, virtually raw, cold and covered in Marie Rose sauce! I certainly wasn't expecting the Marie Rose sauce! M asked for it to be cooked a bit more, and the piece of fish was forked onto a side plate, taken away and returned a few minutes later, it was difficult to discern the difference.
Neither of us enjoyed our meal and they were returned to the kitchen. Our waiter was apologetic, but didn't have the authority to do anything about it. He was disappointed that we hadn't enjoyed our meal. Although we asked at least twice to speak to the manager, she was too busy to come to our table, and instead sent a piece of chocolate dessert. To appease us?
Both tuna dishes were on the bill, along with Big A's steak, which he had enjoyed. But still no sign of the manager. We managed to identify her as we were leaving, and Big A approached her, primarily with the aim of expressing our dissatisfaction of her lack of concern and interest, but she really wasn't bothered and didn't appear at all concerned that dissatisfied and disgruntled, not to mention hungry, customers were leaving the building. She could learn a lot from Acon about customer service! What should have been a good evening in a great restaurant was spoiled by this managers attitude.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Meal in Cape Town”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our hotel, The Derwent House, picked this restaurant and boy what a wonderful experience. This was our first night in Cape Town and the food was devine! The food was delicious, I had the fish special, and it was wonderful. Everyone loved their dish and there was a fire to keep us all warm. A wonderful experience would highly recommend this restaurant!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blueskygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This restaurant offers it all. Cool venue, fantastic food & an excellent wine selection. A definite MUST when visiting Cape Town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SA_Business_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Societi Bistro also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Societi Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing