We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robbery Planet Africa - Sunshine Letting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Letting Apartments
JHB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Robbery Planet Africa - Sunshine Letting”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We rented an apartment and within two hours of booking in, we went out, only to come back and were cleaned out. All of our electronic goods, and branded items were taken, so we were only left with a few clothes.

We did not stay their and were refunded, however, after the entire incident we were left "out of pocket" with our insurance claim. Sunshine Letting absolutely refused to make an attempt to assist in this.

The agent was not surprised about the robbery as they have seemingly been a large number of breakins, and believe it is an inside job. It would have been nice to know this information priori to checking in. It left out having to find other accommodation at short notice, and being out of pocket a large amount.

I will never book through them again, due to the lack of interest to assist in the amount we were out of pocket.

Good luck to anyone who books there

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 27Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    7
    0
    6
See reviews for
17
16
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great place to stay, variety of accommodation to choose from. best is the location - so close to so many Cape Town attractions. Great place to relax when you are not sight seeing or just want to have a quiet moment.
Wouldn't recommend for small children though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derwyn-CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

stayed in the studio apartments for 11 days it was fantastic but what was annoying was the rooms next door .. i dont know may be they were sleeping on the wall or some thing but with every noise they would come and knock on our door. no matter how late it is

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alhanouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in march. We booked online after looking at their website which had beautiful pictures and made the place look really nice and modern. It was rated 4 stars by the tourism centre as well. This is not 4 star accommodation. This is budget. The website makes it look a lot nicer than it is. The rooms are dirty. If you walked bare foot in your room your feet would be black. The beds were old and uncomfortable. There were no mattress protectors on the bed. In our room the bathroom window opened to the main passage way. But there was no curtain. U had to get my husband to hold up a towel when I showered. The walls were very thin and you could hear everything from the rooms next door. It was very noisy.

Security was not good. We left our key and just snuck in behind another car. I
South Africa you need to stay in places that are safe and secure. Not places like this. Did not feel safe here.

We stayed one night and then decided to look for alternative accommodation. We found a great place in camps bay called The Glen. It was stunning.

When we went to check out early the manager/owner was incredibly rude. He would not refund us saying we had booked for 5 nights. We understood and said that's fine we are still leaving. He said if he leased our rooms out again he would then refund us. We called everyday to see if they had rented the rooms out. The receptionist told us they had been rented and the place was full. So we went back to the manager for a refund. They claimed that they had not rented the rooms. We knew that was a lie but they would not give us our refund.

Stay away from this place. They are rude, dishonest and the accommodation is not good. If you are backpacking then perhaps you would be happy with the standard of accommodation. It should not be 4 star tourism bureau rated.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nadineg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed in the 'studio apartments' about a week ago and I must admit that I was very impressed. Initially searching for a place to stay, I noticed that the rates were extremely competitive and I was a bit skeptical at first. I thought that the quality and standard of the accommodation would be inferior to other self catering accommodation I have been to before. I was very impressed with this place and loved the location as it was close to the beach, restaurants and other shops. The room was really nice, well cleaned and the furniture was well maintained. They had all the necessary kitchen utensils I needed to cook and clean. The satellite dish was a bit faulty but you can take your own movies with as there is a DVD player. I liked that the kitchen and the room were separate from each other. I did not have much interaction with the staff but when I did they were friendly and helpful. I would definitely visit again but for a longer period.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The house we rented was excellent. Three bedrooms (one with en-suite) and well stocked apartment. (as well as off street parking). I think there are a number of different apartments/houses that they let out on behalf of owners, so not sure if it is luck of the draw in which you get. If ours was anything to go by, then you will be well pleased. We even had a little splash pool (which we didn't use) but had we had time, would have been great. Fresnay is at the end of Sea Point, and our townhouse was one block from the main road, where there were grocery stores, restaurants etc. What we loved about our townhouse was there was even a washing machine and dryer. Made life so easy for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Scatterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Perfect base to explore Cape Town and very impressed with the overall quality, furnishings and professional service, in particular from the Manager Ulandi. I would highly recommend this property and the facilities are great too -gym, pool, bbq area and bar. Felt very safe and secure and brilliant shops nearby to stock up on your self catering needs.

Room Tip: A one-bed suite was perfect for two -some other suites on offer too
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.8 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enchanted Guest House
Enchanted Guest House
#6 of 7 in Bantry Bay
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barry Hall Luxury Apartments
Barry Hall Luxury Apartments
#30 of 128 in Cape Town Central
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Craigrownie Guest House
Craigrownie Guest House
#3 of 7 in Bantry Bay
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Sunshine
Villa Sunshine
#2 of 7 in Bantry Bay
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Letting Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Letting Apartments

Property: Sunshine Letting Apartments
Address: Kei Apple Road, Sea Point | at Planet Africa, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Letting Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Letting Self Catering Apartments are newly renovated, luxury self catering units in a small upmarket complex called Planet Africa, complete with large swimming pool, gym and laundry. The apartments are furnished and decorated by an interior designer, and gives you the feeling of being in a home away from home with all the comforts of an upmarket establishment. All the furnishing are of the highest quality and it has a very modern design. The complex is small and exclusive, and offers a large swimming pool with BBQ area, a fully equipped gym and a laundry with washing machines and tumble dryers. A private parking bay is available for your use within the secured complex. You are within walking distance to shops, restaurant and beaches, yet in a quiet residential neighbourhood where you will feel completely comfortable & relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sunshine Letting Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Letting Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing