We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haiku”
Review of Haiku

Haiku
Ranked #107 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Haiku concept is exotic Asian cuisine. Chinese dim sum, wok and barbeque; Japanese robata grills and sushi, served tapas-style, are some of the dishes to be shared and enjoyed in a stylish setting.DescriptionThe Haiku concept is exotic Asian cuisine. Chinese dim sum, wok and barbeque; Japanese robata grill and sushi, served tapas-style, are some of the dishes to be shared and enjoyed in a stylish setting.The restaurant interior features a state-of-the-art open kitchen where diners can watch food being artfully prepared by a group of talented, professional chefs. The restaurant exudes trendy sophistication, with walls and floors of beautifully polished granite.
2 reviews
“Haiku”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Good location, good service, had a selection of dishes shared between 4 of us. Some were outstanding, some were average.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanineGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    114
    39
    28
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Little Restaurant...”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife & I ate here twice during our 2 weeks stay in Cape Town... It was just across the road from where we were staying... Our waiter on the first occasion was fantastic... When we said it was our first time there he went over how the kitchen systems works (there are 4 of them) & recommended how many dishes we should order... 6 dishes between us & 2 glasses of wine each came to around AUD$80 which was unreal... Love the concept... Love the setting & the staff... Will see you next time we are in town...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank benismindless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great interior and lots of stars on the menu”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

And not just the food as the pricing system is a series of black and white stars - a very intensive menu and an undertstanding of Asian food is helpful - the most delicious thing we had was the turnip cake - the salads were not so good - good for a different lunch.Bathrooms could do with a spruce up though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gavster Bedlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“HAIKU V&A WATERFRONT”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Firstly, I need to mention that Haiku, Burg St, are not known for their good service, friendly staff, fairly priced food or a nice owner! You simply go their for the incredible food. They have just opened a branch in the V&A Waterfront and what a great surprise lay in wait for me! Friendly staff, friendly management, great food AND listening and acknowledging a customers dissatisfaction! They must learning a thing or two! Our two shared starters were the prawn har gau - watery and tasteless. The asian mushroom pot sticker was sticky, sweet and moreish. i sent the prawn starter back and was expecting a backlash as per usual with Haiku, however this time it was taken off the bill and was apologised for! The following course we ordered was the salmon robata with a ginger dipping sauce, the salmon was succulent, smokey and absolutely delicious with the ginger dipping sauce! The mains ordered were the Phad Thai which was faultless, succulent prawns and the sweet/sour notes were beautifully balanced. The other main course was the ginger beef fillet which was cooked perfectly and texturally was beautiful with a crust like exterior! We finished off with chocolate spring rolls - delicious. I am happy to say the staff/management seem to be making more of an effort at the V&A and I hope it continues as the food is superb and if the rest would follow it is truly a great night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SammyKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to meet with friends”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently had a lovely dinner at Haiku. The perfect place for a big group. Great waiter provided excellent service. The 3-course set menu is excellent value, as you get to experience a variety of dishes and definitely enough food, even for the big eaters.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun_Stell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haiku also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Haiku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing