We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet in a concrete jungle”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
15 Welgemeend Street B&B
Ranked #112 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Johannesburg
1 review
“Peace and quiet in a concrete jungle”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

WOW!! What an amazing B&B! feels very much like a home away from home, and is so centrally located to everything in the Cape Town CBD! The owners, Trevor and Liz are so warm and are full of ideas for things to do! If you love your health breakfast, this is the place for you!! the best home-made muesli I have ever tasted!
Really enjoyed our stay.. A sure bet for a top notch accommodation

Room Tip: We stayed in Africa room, but on wet days you eat breakfast in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mistyleigh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownNoo_Noo, Owner at 15 Welgemeend Street B&B, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
We so much appreciate your Review - you are special!

hope to see you again some day!

Trevor & Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
23
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Perfect place to stay in a quite area in Cape Town, at few minutes only from town.
Rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is simply divine.
15 Welgemeend Street B&B is professionally run by the hosts and owners Trevor and Liz Wilkins, an exquisite couple that greeted me with the warmth of their home and their genuine friendship.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudioFerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This small B&B on 51 welgemeen street was recommended to me by a travel agent friend of mine in South Africa. Trevor and Liz receoved me beautifully and took the time to speak to me and explain all that I needed to know to get the most out of my short 3 day stay in Cape Town. The B&B is in a great situation and is housed in a beatiful victorian home in one of the more aged and beautiful parts of Cape Town with a view on table mountain. The facilities, room etc were not fancy, yet smartly authentic, extremely cosy and very clean. Waking up was a great part of the adventure as Trevor and Liz prepare the most awesome breakfast with 'healthy, natural and freshness' as their overiding theme. I would definately recommend this charming bed and breakfast to anyone who wants a taste of athenticity in a romantic setting and with extremely friendly, interesting and helpful hosts. Well done to Trevor and Liz and I hope to see you again next time I'm in Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalHasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Thanks to Trevor and Liz Wilkins, our time in Capetown was one of the highlights of our 5 weeks in South Africa. A shuttle service was arranged to meet us at the airport and take us directly to this charming B&B. There we were met by our hosts for a lovely bottle of wine, and they spent time finding out what we were interested in doing while in Cape Town. They then helped us to make sure our time there was perfect. Everything from supplying us with maps and directions to our destinations, recommending times to best see things, suggesting outings that our teenage son would enjoy, and giving us history and political lessons when we asked for them! The room and gardens were beautiful, the view of Table Mountain lovely, and the breakfasts were great. The location was excellent, easy walking to restaurants, downtown and the waterfront. Just off the scenic tour bus route, and easy access to freeways to exit the city to our various destintions. The personal touch was very evident, as we wanted to see a rugby game and Trevor researched where and when we could do that, and Liz drove us to the match, with a short stop at another attraction along the way. When Trevor learned we were paragliding off Lionshead Mountain, he drove our son to the destination to meet us, and then used his professional photography equipment and his expertise to photograph our flights, and burned them onto a CD as an amazing momento of our adventure. Does it get any better than that? We had the best vacation, and our stay here was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmgouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed with Trevor and Liz Wilkins, the hosts and owners of No. 15 Welgemeend, for 10 days in mid-March, 2011, and it was like staying with friends.

Trevor and Liz are warm, genuine people, and as life-long residents of Cape Town (38 years at No. 15 Welgemeend) they have a deep love for, and knowledge of, the city and the Cape. Their easy, gracious hospitality added a whole new dimension to our visit.

Their house is lovely, quiet, safe and lushly planted, and in a perfect location for exploring Cape Town, either by car (parking is right in front of the house) or foot (parks/museums, 20 mins; downtown, maybe 30 minutes; V&A Waterfront, 45 mins.)

We had a wonderful stay, and will be back!

Dick and Diane Barnes, Long Beach, Calif., USA

Room Tip: Ask for the Africa Room, with its private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LANewsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Travelling long-haul with a 10-month-old baby boy presents certain challenges - many of those challenges simply evaporated as soon as we arrived at 15 Welgemeend Street.

In many years of travelling the globe, I've come across only very few hosts to compare with Liz and Trevor. Always on hand to help and offer advice, they clearly both care deeply about the welfare and enjoyment of their guests and made all of us feel so welcome, our baby included.

We found 15 Welgemeed Street to be well-located, on a quiet, leafy street beneath Table Mountain but just a few minutes' walk away from a good selection of bars and restaurants and a supermarket. The centre of Cape Town is only a short drive away - close enough, in fact, that we were able to walk back from the V&A Waterfront one afternoon with baby in pushchair.

Our room was very comfortable, providing everything that we needed (in particular a fridge and filtered water for baby) and more (adapters and a mobile telephone).

Breakfast was delicious, in particular the home-made muesli, bread and juices.

Absolutely no complaints - I would, therefore, have no hesitation in recommending 15 Welgemeend Street to any friends of mine visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ectomorfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

This is my second time to stay here with Trevor and Liz. On this occasion I was competing in the Cape Argus, a well known and superb cycling event with over 35,000 entrants. Trevor and Liz could not have been more helpful and supportive, Trevor even helped me to assemble my bike on his lawn and made sure I had a very nice breakfast at the crack of dawn to be ready for the start of the race. This was a very warm and hospitable welcome that made me feel very fortunate to find this excellent B&B.

Even without this great atmosphere the location is excellent. As long as you are prepared to be out of the main streets, and to navigate your way around, you are rewarded with a safe and quiet haven which becomes your perfect personal retreat. Highly recommended.

A bit more variety on the breakfast menu and a refresh for the in-room TV would be welcome, but nit-picking really.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chazzer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,404 reviews
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
445 reviews
Welgelegen
#9 of 156 in Cape Town Central
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 128 in Cape Town Central
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 15 Welgemeend Street B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 Welgemeend Street B&B

Property: 15 Welgemeend Street B&B
Address: 15 Welgemeend Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the lower slopes of Table Mountain in a secure area. Within walking distance of the city center. The New MyCiti bus offers an excellent service and their stop is within walking distance. We have FREE WiFi The area is secured by private security and you can happily walk to the nearby restaurants ... more   less 
Also Known As:
15 Welgemeend Street B&B Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing