We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This my favourite place to stay when in Cape Town, and by far one of the best guest houses I've ever stayed. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the location is amazing (pity I can give it only 5 stars, because it deserves more) and the service is impeccable. Aissa and her staff are very welcoming and helpful. Whether it's suggesting and booking trips, restaurants or transport or ordering food when you want to stay in in the evening, nothing is too much trouble for them. The guest house is in a relatively safe neighbourhood and an easy 20 minute walk from both the V&A Waterfront as well as Long Street. All downhill. Walking back is, as said by another reviewer, another story .... :) But of course you can always take a taxi to conquer the steep streets of Green Point. After 4 or 5 visits (I am losing count) Bluegum really feels like my Capetonian home now and I am already looking forward to my next visit!

On a side note: if you are in Cape Town and are even remotely interested in sharks, you absolutely should go cage diving with the Great Whites. An absolutely amazing experience! Of course Aissa can arrange this for you.

Room Tip: My personal favourite is room 4, as it's very light and you can see the ocean, Robben Island and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boverduin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aissa - Cape To... P, Owner at Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you ...and its always a pleasure to have you here !! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    40
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
131
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

One of the best hotels we ever stayed. View was fantastic, rooms very cozy and nicely furnished and hostes was very helpfull. That was that seldome case when we felt at the hotel like at home. Certainly we will chose this hotel when we come to visit Cape next time.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Dmitry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aissa - Cape To... P, Owner at Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks Dmitry and Natalia !
So glad you enjoyed your stay here ! We enjoyed meeting you both too !
Lots of warm SA wishes to you both
Aissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Highly recommend Bluegum for a variety of reasons. The location is wonderful with a lovely view of the city. Everyone was so welcoming and helpful. My room was comfortable and the breakfast was very good. My choice of places to stay when in Cape Town!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug2U2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aissa - Cape To... P, Owner at Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Glad you enjoyed it and thanks for staying with us !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I always use TA when planning trips these days. Bluegum Hill Guesthouse have excellent reviews and I was not disappointed. Before booking I had some questions and they were answered promptly. I arrived in the morning from London, and the guesthouse offered me, if I wanted to, to organize transport. When I arrived the driver was there and dropped me safely at the guesthouse. (They use one company which they trust.)

I was welcomed as if it was my new house. They first thing after leaving my stuff in the room were breakfast on the balcony which has great views over the stadium and surroundings. After breakfast I was told a bit about Cape Town and they showed me a map and where to find things, and also if I needed help with booking things.

I had the one person room which I found very good. It is well maintained, the bed was comfortable. A lot of storage place. AC worked as it should. I had I tv, but never used it.

The guesthouse has a pool and an honesty bar with different drinks and some chips etc, fairly priced. They can also do your laundry. Wifi worked spotless.

I felt completely secure, and they also at night have their own security guard. There are some garages for cars, but subject to availiability. It takes about 25 minutes to walk down to the V & A Waterfront (just downhill; back is another subject).

They car company which I had reserved my rental car with had a mix up, so my pick up place was 22 km outside Cape Town. They fixed it for me so that I picked up the car at Avis in Strand Street about 15 minutes walk from the guesthouse. This surely saved my day!

I stayed a total of 8 days, and recived excellent service with breakfast, room cleaning, laundry, and help with other things. Had all my breakfasts on the balcony which is great!

I highly recommend Bluegum Hill Guesthouse if you are going to Cape Town! The next time I am here, I know where to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aissa - Cape To... P, Owner at Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review Jan --- I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and in Cape Town !
It was great to meet you and have you here ! We hope to see you again one day ! Warm regards from CT :) Aissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Horsley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was the 6th time I've stayed at Bluegum Hill - we never stay anywhere else when we visit Cape Town these days. You are always sure of a warm welcome from Aissa and her staff, the rooms are comfortable and well-maintained, there's a great little pool, and the view is to die for! There can be few things more pleasant than eating breakfast on the balcony, just drinking in the view. The guesthouse provides a wealth of tourist brochures, and Aissa is only too happy to provide any additional information you might need. There's also an honesty bar for anyone wanting a little something on their return from a night out (or at any other time!). Nor is your security ignored - the house is fully secured, and the 3-car garage, which is available for guests' use (subject to availability), is guarded by a night watchman.
As you might have guessed, my partner and I love the place, and can thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aissa - Cape To... P, Owner at Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks Charlie ! Always a pleasure to have you and Carol here !! See you soon !
Stay warm and safe !
Warm CT Regards Aissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We visited Bluegum few years ago, and have fond memories of the stay. Aissa is a wonderful guest that suggested us what to visit nearby, was a pleasant entertainer with insightful chats and expressed a sincere and very warm hospitality. Thank you.
Elisa & Paolo

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaoloZ_Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aissa - Cape To... P, Owner at Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie Elisa and Paolo !
Glad you enjoyed yourselves at Bluegum !
We hope to see you again one day !
Saluti da Città del Capo
Aissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolhapur, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Dear Aissa,
I wonder if you remember us we were travelling to Cape Town where we were to be picked up by our safari operator,we absolutely loved the warmth and our stay with you..in fact I am asking my friend and her family to consider staying with you on their visit to South Africa ..also could you suggest a tour for them to do the wine route and maybe some whale watching ...they plan the trip in may this year..regards
Nandita ghatge india

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pravin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aissa - Cape To... P, Owner at Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Nandita !!

What a nice surprise - of course we remember you !
I hope you are all well !

We would love to have your friend here in May - let her contact us directly and we will gladly offer accom and help her arrange tours etc !

Thanks again and take good care !
Warm regards Aissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
1.1 mi away
Parker Cottage
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments

Property: Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments
Address: 13 Merriman Lane | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to one of the most breathtaking views in Cape Town beneath the Bluegum trees on Signal Hill. Peace and tranquility close to City and Waterfront. Panoramic views across Table Bay to Robben Island. Africa’s colourful history and warmth reflected in the artistic decor, relaxed atmosphere and friendly hospitality. Characterful bedrooms, generous breakfasts and complimentary refreshments. Sundowners on the lookout deck, sparkling salt-water pool. Children welcome. Tourist info, airport transfers, tours, car hire gladly arranged. German understood.Three Star Graded. Established 1995. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse And Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing