We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite hotel so far”
Review of The One 8 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The One 8 Hotel
Ranked #48 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Originally booked this place for 4 nights but decided to stay for 2 weeks. The staff are very friendly and go out of there way to help you plan your stay. Breakfasts by the pool and jacuzzi in the evening were some of the best moments of my stay in Cape Town.
This place is excellent if you want a gay friendly hotel without the sleazy gays making you uncomfortable. It's about 50/50 straight/gay - in my opinion

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CafeKopka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear CafeKopka

Thank you for your kind and lovely review, we were also happy to have the pleasure of meeting you and staying with us. We hope to see you again sometime in future and welcoming you back to The One 8 Hotel.

Kind regards

The team at The One 8

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 274 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

We just returned to London following two weeks stay in The One 8. We have stayed here before (about 2 years ago) and absolutely loved it. This warm and friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in is very homely, quiet and welcoming. The atmosphere is very lovely and absolutely relaxed.
The location is great, with the Waterfront and seafront being within walking distance and easily accessible for enjoying the fresh air. The owner Paul deserves special mention he provided excellent advice on what to see/do and to the rest of the staff who made us feel very welcome. I have already recommended friends and colleagues to stay here. We would definitely stay here again and again..

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Gerry

Thank you for your kind and lovely review, it was nice to have you back to stay with us and we thoroughly enjoyed seeing you both again. We look forward to welcoming you back to The One 8 Hotel in future.

Kind regards

The team at The One 8

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights. My partner has stayed here before (some 2 years ago) and loved it then and wanted me to experience it. I can completely see why he recommended and arranged for us to stay here! Loved the location and found the rooms spacious and very clean and the hotel has a a high specification throught. The friendly staff cannot do enough for you to make you feel welcome and pampered. We had four perfect nights here and were sad to leave! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Charles,

Thank you for your kind and lovely review, we are happy to have helped in being part of making your holiday in Cape Town a pleasant experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to The One 8 Hotel in future.

Kind regards

The team at The One 8 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the One 8 for a few days and felt very privileged to do so. The hotel itself is very modern and stylish and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The location is also excellent, with the Waterfront being within walking distance and the seafront being easily accessible for enjoying the fresh air.

Special mention must also go to the owner, Paul, who provided excellent advice as to what to see/do and to Christian and the rest of the staff who made us feel very welcome.

I hope to be lucky enough to stay again shortly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fadawson1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Fadawson,

Thank you for your kind and lovely review, we are happy to have helped in being part of making your holiday in Cape Town a pleasant experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to The One 8 Hotel in future.

Kind regards

The team at The One 8 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed at the one 8 hotel in February 2012 for 4 nights finishing our holiday in South Africa. It was the perfect location to relax and unwind.
The hotel is intimate and peaceful in a superb location for partying in Cape Town or checking out the costal beaches.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and could not do enough to accomodate us.
We got our reuested room with twin beds and the room was complete with a large wet room style shower.
I would definatley stay here again on my next visit to Cape Town and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maiki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Maiki,

Thank you for your kind and lovely review, it was our pleasure having you as guests during our first wedding hosted at the hotel. We also hope we added somehow positively to your holiday in Cape Town.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The One 8 Hotel in future.

Kind regards

The team at The One Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I had the pleasure of attending a wedding reception held at this Hotel. The outside area was beautifully decorated and very sheltered from the wind. Giving it a lovely warm intimate feeling. The food was both beautifully presented and mouth-watering. Unfortunately, I did not have the opportunity of staying in one of the lovely suites, but found the Hotel modern, spotless and cosy. The owners and staff were friendly and accommodating making you feel quite at home. I will most certainly recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting a wedding reception and/or special parties.

Rene Viljoen

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Rene,

Dear Maiki,

Thank you for your kind and lovely review, it was our pleasure having you join your friends during our first wedding hosted at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back as a guest to The One 8 Hotel in future.

Kind regards

The team at The One Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

A perfect stay with a cool, relaxed atmosphere and ambiance. Spotless rooms, friendly staff, super location, spot on service and lovely food. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone considering staying here. I certainly didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
y996d, Owner at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Tom,

Thank you for your kind and lovely review, it was our pleasure having you as guests during our first wedding hosted at the hotel. We also hope we added somehow positively to your holiday in Cape Town.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The One 8 Hotel in future.

Kind regards

The team at The One Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
220 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,033 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#55 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#20 of 110 in Cape Town Central
374 reviews
Antrim Villa
#1 of 1 in Green Point
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The One 8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The One 8 Hotel

Address: 18 Antrim Road | Three Anchor Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $79 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The One 8 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the hospitality and atmosphere of this quality 4 star hotel. Located centrally in Cape Town, close to everywhere you will want to be. Great beaches, the famous V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, De Waterkant vibrant gay village, trendy Kloof Street, fine restaurants, the financial district and the new stadium are all within walking distance or a short drive away. Facilities include a heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, air-conditioning and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The One 8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The One 8 Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing