We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cape Town Central
Post
Inbox
Search

“Unprepossessing from the outside, but great food, wine and service. Go there!”

Upper Bloem Restaurant
Price range: $13 - $26
Description: Upper Bloem Restaurant in Green Point, serves modern Cape Cuisine in an innovative and modern way. Seasonally inspired tapas-style menus take you on a journey through the Cape. Sample menus of our lunch and dinner offerings are available to view on our website.
Restaurant details
Description: Upper Bloem Restaurant in Green Point, serves modern Cape Cuisine in an innovative and modern way. Seasonally inspired tapas-style menus take you on a journey through the Cape. Sample menus of our lunch and dinner offerings are available to view on our website.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having turned down my wife’s suggestion for dinner I was told to find another! We wanted to be just outside the Waterfront. After looking at TA reviews I chose this one. We went back twice in the following two weeks, taking visiting family/friends each time, even though the menu was the same — it was so good, it was worth repeating. Really interesting food and very good, friendly and well-informed service. Do book — a group of 5 or 6 trendily dresses locals turned up and were surprised to find there was no table available!

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank michaelo513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A set menu which is honest with a vibrant love of culture. It's simple... stop reading this and make a booking.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank RichardRZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The management were exceptionally welcoming and detailed the meal and evening's events succinctly. They had gone to great efforts to make the small restaurant reflect a party atmosphere with balloons and table decorations together with some exceptional wines accompanying the superb food selection. The waiters were very helpful and explained each dish in detail and it was difficult to select the best dish of the evening as they were all delicious. This restaurant deserves the 5* status awarded by us.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fluntings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

Very delicious food, interesting concept (tapas- style)very good and friendly service!!!!
From the outside it doesn't look like such a nice location. It's really worth visiting!!!!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank WeltenbummlerSchweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

I've been to Upper Bloem twice now with a couple of different people people - for the lunch menu. I have I've recommended the restaurant to everyone I know looking for a for a uniquely South African gourmet affordable culinary experience. It is one of the most unique menus in Cape Town and I eat out a lot. The food is outstanding - attention to detail - textures/ flavours/ colours. Even the bread platter is an experience. It's the kind of place you'll go to as a novelty and end up being a regular.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank Susandewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Bloem Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Upper Bloem Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing