We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting journey”

Premier Classe Train
Attraction details
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Travelled on this train to Cape Town on boxing day.
The journey to the station by taxi from the airport left us apprehensive but on arrival we were shown to the train lounge and were offered refreshments which allayed our fears.
Our luggage was delivered to our sleeping berths and we were well looked after.
The cabins and berths were dated but clean. The gowns that we were promised failed to materialise.
The food and bar were of an acceptable standard and the staff were pleasant and helpful.
The journey lasted about 25 hours and was very interesting at times the clatter of the wheels woke us during the night but it was an experience which was made the more enjoyable by the diversity of the landscapes we passed.
It would have been quicker by air but nowhere near as interesting or relaxing

5  Thank alf653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"blue train"
in 38 reviews
"train trip"
in 14 reviews
"welcome drink"
in 12 reviews
"lounge car"
in 6 reviews
"hours late arriving"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful journey"
in 4 reviews
"rolling stock"
in 3 reviews
"beds were comfortable"
in 3 reviews
"overnight sleeper"
in 2 reviews
"multiple courses"
in 2 reviews
"sleeper car"
in 2 reviews
"south africa"
in 18 reviews
"african sun"
in 5 reviews
"step back in time"
in 2 reviews
"sparkling wine"
in 6 reviews
"jo burg"
in 2 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 2 reviews
Filter

107 - 111 of 207 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

We travelled from Joberg to Cape Town, fortunately we were driven to the station, I wouldn't recommend you find your own way there, the lounge was comfortable and food was quite plentiful.
We boarded the train on time and the cabins and toilets were clean if a little dated. Food was good but no choice, drinks were reasonably priced. Some of the staff were not wearing uniforms or name badges and headed to the smoking carriage reguarly.
There was no lock on the cupboards in the room so personal belongings had to be taken with you at meal time.
The train arrived on time in Cape Town. They try hard but it didn't quite live up to the advertising hype and at 2,650 rand it's pretty pricey.

6  Thank Woodleys75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

At the end of August 2013 we went from Cape Town to Johannesburg and had an amazing journey. Upon arriving at the station by taxi we were escorted straight inside and had out bags taken of us and invited into the waiting lounge where we could have free water or pots of tea while we waited for boarding.

Once we boared our luggaage was already in our room which looked very nice, we had a single bearth each whereby the long bench seat was folder into a bed and maed up at night while you had dinner and then packed away while breakfasting the next morning. There was also overheard storage space for suitcases, a table which lifted up to reveal a sink, toiletries, slippers and a robe.

We had 5 nice meals on the train and all the staff were very helpful, there is no menu to order from but we were asked in advance if we had anything we couldn't eat and supstitues were given. We had a bottle of wine which we didn't finish in one go so they put it away and allowed us to finish it at the next meal.

The beds were very comfy and the countryside amazing, the toliet in each car was very clean and the shower was great as well.

10  Thank Garyddd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We took the train from Port Elizabeth to Johannesburg in October 2013. Four Premier Classe coaches are attached to the normal Shosholoza Meyl service and can therefore only accommodate a maximum of 20 passengers.....which is a big bonus !
This service was only recently introduced in May 2013 & not well advertised. All in all the service & food was very good !! The staff were also extremely friendly.
Please note that their is no Premier Classe lounge on Port Elizabeth station as of yet - so the passengers convene at the offices of the Passenger Services where coffee/drinks are served.
This will need to happen asap.
GO FOR IT !!!

7  Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We took the train from Johannesburg to Cape Town, the trip was 26 hours. When I booked the trip I was a little concerned about the lady at their office that made it very difficult and it seemed she did not know what she was doing. I was worried about that but since the moment we were on the train we were surprised about the service, our cabin was clean, breakfast, lunch and dinner was excellent. Dinner was served french style from a platter to the plate that I have not seen for year and food was tasty.It was a relaxing trip. When the train came out from a long tunnel the mountains were partially covered with snow, every thing was so green, amazing view. I thought I was travelling in Switzerland. I would highly recommend this trip.

8  Thank chefrene_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Premier Classe Train also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 

Been to Premier Classe Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing