We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rewarding experience of great food, an excellent wine list, and first class service”
Review of Hildebrand - CLOSED

Hildebrand
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A rewarding experience of great food, an excellent wine list, and first class service”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I highly recommend Hildebrand restaurant in Cape Town, South Africa. The location is right on the waterfront, you can eat inside or out (both are elegant dining) and the food is superb. I have eaten the butternut soup, as well as the butternut risotto. I also ate two different salads (you simply must eat the vegetables in South Africa, they are vine ripened and beautifully presented at every meal). The prices are very reasonable, the wine list is large enough to give a good taste (no pun intended) of the local wines, the waitstaff is well trained and attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geotraveler96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    183
    124
    74
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“convenient location”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Hildebrand's calamari and mussels were excellent. The ravioli was chewy like it had been frozen and warmed up. We actually ate here twice because of the calamari. Had good caprese salad as well. Sitting outdoors was very pleasant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray and Dottie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checkendon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Looks like an upmarket restaurant but the food doesn't match the premises.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had lunch here after a visit to Robben Island. Mussels + a risotto. The portion of the mussels was tiny even for a starter and the sauce unimaginative. The risotto was quite tasty and filling though I have had much better in the UK. Service was good and location prime in the V&A Waterfront. Given the competition they will need to do better.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmestrand, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good lunch with wonderful wine and good service”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I chose this restaurant for the great view and the nice looking facade. We got a table outside and were not disappointed! Both of us enjoyed our pasta. We ordered the best bottle of white wine and it was so good!! Great value for money!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenedicteOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Underwhelming.”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Long established restaurant, which had a worthy good reputation.
I have not eaten here for a year or so. Went for dinner with the family, and it has gone rapidly downhill. The service was ok, but the food was pretty bland. The portions did not justify the high prices.
I believe that there are new owners. They had better get their act together quickly. Bad news travels fast in this City.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hildebrand also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing