We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quirky & fun, but small”
Review of Grand Daddy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Daddy Hotel
Ranked #56 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“quirky & fun, but small”
Reviewed January 27, 2011

i stayed in the AfroFunk airstream trailer, which is right next to the rooftop bar. I enjoyed the experience very much, but i can see that someone who was staying for more than one night, or who wanted space & privacy might not like it. Bathrooms are very small, and i think they charge you for shampoo, which is a bit cheeky for $200 a night. Shower was erratic at best. Bed very comfortable, view of Table mountain and Long Street very night, and a friendly atmosphere all round. At the weekend i'm sure they party until all hours, so would not recommend if you want piece and quiet, it would be like camping next to a bunch of noisy students.
Overall- for one night, interesting and amusing, but stay in the hotel proper if you dont know what you're getting into.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndySmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    122
    41
    18
    14
See reviews for
24
176
31
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

On arrival, we were informed that we were *lucky* enough to be in one of the trailers on the roof. I was apprehensive but agreed to see the "room." We were assigned to the Goldilocks trailer, which was absolutely awful. First, it was about 35C in Cape Town that day, so the air-conditioning could not keep a metal trailer on the roof cool. It was hotter inside the trailer than outside, unless you stood directly in front of the ac. The trailer was abysmal - I would compare it to a 1* hotel room at best. There was a dirty kitchen unit for show (nothing actually worked, but took up valuable space in the tiny trailer), closets with dirty looking velvet inside but no place to hang any clothes up, bizarre children's drawings of bears eating people, and a strange mannequin head with a dirty blond wig. The double bed was only marginally larger than a single bed, and there was only place for one person to pass at a time. The bathroom (for which there was no door, just a dirty sliding cloth separation that did not fully close) was about 3 feet by 1 foot, including the toilet and shower. The room had a musty smell to it (probably because no other suckers had been willing to stay there for a while so it was all closed up).

Immediately upon seeing the trailer I went back down to the front desk to say it was unlivable in the trailer. Briony, the manager, was very nice but said that they had informed the tour company that some of our group would be in trailers and they had no more rooms to put us in for another 2 days. Resigned to our fate, we went back upstairs to unpack and shower. I went into the tiny shower first, which was nothing more than water trickling out of a small hole in the corner, and tried to shower. I am 5'3" and kept hitting my head and arms in the minuscule shower!! That was when we knew it was absolutely not possible for us to stay in that trailer. Our friends who were also placed in trailers had arrived at similar conclusions (some of whom had to go outside their trailers to use their bathrooms!!)

We left the Grand Daddy and went around the corner to stay at the Strand Tower Hotel (which was about $120 a night), which was not as nice as the Grand Daddy in terms of lobby, etc. but was a real hotel room - a relief after the trailers. We returned to the Grand Daddy 2 days later when they had space again, and were extremely happy with everything then. The rooms were big and beautiful - what one would expect from a 4* hotel. However, the fact they charge the same price for trailers, which were frankly a joke, is just robbery. Do not be fooled by some of the nicer pictures of trailers on here - some may be livable, but that is it. They are awful quality in general. I've stayed in hostels that were better than the trailers.

I would give the trailers 0 stars and the regular hotel rooms 4 stars, and recommend this hotel ONLY for the the regular rooms.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruchi124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Good things first: very friendly service, good location on Long Street - close to all downtown things in Cape Town. Very Hip and Chic, certainly something different. The rooftop bar amidst the airstream "rooms" is fun!

My problem was that our room was very warm and apparently directly above the "Cool Daddy Bar" which had super loud music with banging basses until 11:30 PM (weeknight, not sure how long this goes on during the weekend). Just couldn't sleep here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Hippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SergioDreyer, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review. On the noise side of things The Daddy Cool bar turns down its music no later than 11:30pm on any given night. We are very much aware of the noise concerns for guests and are continuously taking steps to rectify this situation. We to welcoming you back to The Grand Daddy Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Sergio Dreyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

The Grand Daddy is one of my favourite hotels in the world, without question. It strikes exactly the right balance between the classical style of the building and modern touches of a boutique hotel. While other hotels have a faded grandeur, the Grand Daddy manages to be bang up to date, while also making you feel like you're stepping back in time.

The rooms are beautiful, maintaining all the original features, while also being furnished to a very high standard and containing all the power points, connections, etc that a modern traveller needs. The service is impeccable, striking exactly the right balance between friendliness and professionalism. And the rooftop bar and restaurant are really something special.

There main drawback of this hotel is its location, on the busy and shabby Main Street. Obviously this depends why you are in Cape Town in the first place, but most holidaymakers will be over in Camps Bay, while business travellers will more likely be at the V&A Waterfront. The location can also make it noisy, and the mandatory valet parking was fairly shambolic during my stay.

In my view this hotel is worth a visit in itself, especially the rooftop winnebagos, and Cape Town is a fantastic city. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchLions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We have been wanting to book into the Grand Daddy for about a year and after much anticipation my husband decided to surprise me on my birthday we were booked into the Goldilocks and the Three Bears room... Well service was nothing short of shocking, so shocking that we requested a refund before we even stayed over for the night.

We arrived and booked in, our car was parked for us in the basement whilst we were given the key to the trailer. All we were told was that it was on the top floor, for a 4 star hotel you would assume someone would take you up and show you all the mod cons of the room. But no just the key in hand we went upstairs and had to check the name of each caravan to get to ours... Walking past tonnes of unfriendly staff members looking bored and loitering all over.

So we go inside, really nothing to talk home about - you would assume that they have dolled the caravan up properly to it's theme but all there was was loads of books a wig and a few teddies. We then looked for the Goldilocks and Bear outfit in the cupboard and it was not there. When our bags were brought up we asked the guy and he said 'to be honest he has only been there for short while and does not know but he will find out'... Well we came here to take photos of a themed caravan?

So we decide to watch TV while we wait for the mysterious suites to pop up... No such thing as satellite, there is only mtv and the rest are free, TV broken goes B&W every few mins...if the hotel advertises satellite you would expect them to at least have a few more channels.

About 2 hours passes before I become totally annoyed at the fact that no one has come up to sort the suit out. Once again ask for the suits (different person this time) - lady does not pay much attention and says she will see what she can do about it. By this time I am fuming at the lack of customer service.

Go upstairs and wait another while and then call to speak to the manager... No manager has left for the day is the answer. So they send room cleaners into our room to see if it is there after we have told them that it is not... well it is not there!!!!

Then we wait and wait, eventually we call and the lady says she will call me back, never does... She eventually knocks on our door to say that the suit was destroyed by previous guests and they can give us an upgraded room. AFTER ALL THIS!!!! Could they not have done that 2 hours before without us needing to get upset about the lack of attention to detail and just a small amount of care to paying guests. We then asked for a refund as I could not see myself enjoying this place after all that ;(

By this time the entire fun of the place was ruined, my entire birthday ruined... Both my husband and myself took the Monday as a leave day at work so we could stay here what a waste!!!

We requested to be called by the manager the next day when he/she did pitch up for work still no call :(

After looking through trip advisor have seen in hind site I we should never have stayed here as we are not the only ones to have had a bad time... 10 out of 43 reviews are below average... For a 4 star hotel that charges R1250 per night and R59 for parking (what a joke charging for parking) you would at least expect a manager on duty and some sort of customer service.

Crappiest Birthday I have ever had :(... Will never ever recommend this place to anyone!!!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kungfubonsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SergioDreyer, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
This matter has been taken up with the guest via email and telephonically. It is yet to be resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

The Grand Daddy set the perfect scene for our stay in Cape Town.
We stayed 2 days on the rooftop and 4 days in one of the standard rooms.
The rooftop trailers are a funny stay for a few days. Small and cosy but not somewhere you would want to stay for much more than two days. But for a few days it is a fun and different place to stay.
We consider the staff at the Grand Daddy to be the most serviceminded and friendly people that we encountered on our two week stay in South Africa. No sleaky I-am-.just-smiling-for-a-tip types here, just plain nice and friendly, with a great sense of humour.

Make sure to visit the Fork tapas restaurant just up the street.

The Grand Daddy is definitely on our wishlist if we ever get the chance to come back to Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We nearly didn't stay here because of reading a bad review, but our travel advisor reassured us and we were all so pleased that we did. We loved the hotel and it's quirky decor. We had comfortable, quiet rooms and we enjoyed the food in the restaurant, which was reasonably priced and very good. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful.

We didn't find one thing to complain about. When we arrived too early to check in, from an overnight flight, the staff took our lugguge and suggested we breakfasted while they finished servicing our rooms. We had a delicious breakfast and were in our rooms by about 11.00 - not bad going, we thought.

The restaurant and bar staff were all charming and very gracious. The reception staff were extremely helpful with any queries and one night when we asked them to order a taxi for us the man standing next to us said, "Don't worry about a taxi, I'll take you," and when I look at the receptionist, she replied, "It's alright - he's the manager."

We all enjoyed our stay; found the location very convenient and would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_Wood_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Strand Tower Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
656 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,252 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
205 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 109 in Cape Town Central
881 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Daddy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Property: Grand Daddy Hotel
Address: 38 Long Street | Western Cape, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#51 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing