We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Funky & viby Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Daddy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Daddy Hotel
Ranked #60 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Funky & viby Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The place to be in Cape Town, with lots of fun
You'll find there
- A Venue,
- A colorful Bar,
- A extraordinary rooftop, with trailers, movie, bar
- A excellent Restaurant

In short :
Great food, drinks & atmosphere.
Rooms are decorated with taste and are comfy.
Something one must experience when in cape town!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the reception ! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this very positive review about your stay at the Grand Daddy Hotel, we really appreciate all feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed L’Apero Restaurant and bars and that the rooms were tasteful and comfy. That is exactly what we strive for as a hotel. We hope you will visit us again sometime in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    101
    34
    15
    13
See reviews for
19
132
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Really enjoyed the rooftop trailer accommodations and the rooftop bar. Super cool place! I didn't partially like the location, as it seemed a bit seedy after hours - a la Long Street in general.

Also, it seemed overpriced for what it was, by about 25-50%.

If you are looking for a cool place to stay in Cape Town, and hang out with a group of friends inside the building for great times, this is the place.

Service was very good, as well.

Room Tip: Rooftop air streams are cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CV39560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay at the Grand Daddy Hotel, we really appreciate all feedback. We are delighted you found the hotel a great place to hang out; this is what we ultimately want – our guests to have a great time without having to travel anywhere to do so!!
Long Street has undergone a lot of changes over the past few years and is fantastic to see the streets get cleaner and safer every day. We have a great relationship with the CCID who patrol the area and are very visual and always available to help. There is always work to be done but for a company who is based on Long Street we are delighted with the changes and I hope you will also notice them on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed three nights in a suite with our to kids. The suite was very nice nd well decorated. The hotel is well located and the staff is always smiling. The breakfast is very good. We had a very pleasan time at the Grand Daddy hotel.
Veronique & Geoffroy
France

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffroy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Veronique & Geoffroy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Grand Daddy Hotel. We really enjoyed having you and your family stay with us and hope to see you again when you next visit Cape Town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Grand Daddy is definitely unique, located in the heart of Long Street, and a great place to stay if you are looking for something different. We stayed in one of the suites which was very comfy and well furnished. The restaurant was good with excellent service and I can't say enough about the outstanding concierge service. Ask for Taleeb to take you for a tour of the Cape - we had an incredible time. If you can afford to take just your party it gives you all sorts of flexibility and is well worth it.

The hotel is an easy walk to the V&A wharf area which is an absolute must-see. It is also just around the corner from the Greenmarket and very close to all sorts of wonderful restaurants. Given the location it was no surprise that it was a bit noisy at night but it was only a real issue on Friday night when the partying didn't stop until well after 3AM.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe stay away from the front although the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriaanse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony S, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Grand Daddy Hotel. We were delighted to read that you found the service in L’Apero and from the concierge excellent and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and it was a nice stay. Rooms were clean. The staff were very friendly. We asked them about good restaurants and they adviced us about two really good ones. It was valentine's day but despite of this they got us a booking at one of them and even called my cell phone to inform us that they did and what time the reservation was for. We had a good time here. The roof with caravans is also very cool.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sommar-sol_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SergioDreyer, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and I am so glad to hear that our staff went that extra mile to ensure you enjoyed your Valentine's Day. We look forward to seeing you in Cape Town again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed a couple of nights both in the rooms and the trailer. The rooms are comfy and with all the amenities you'd require. The hotel nicely combines a funky feel for modern Cape Town with the charm of the city centre.

If you choose the trailers stay for one or at a push two nights. It is quite cramped and not ideal for longer stays. For one night though it is a great experience.

Breakfast is great and you can watch Cape Town wake up around you while enjoying a hot brew.

The area around the hotel is unfortunately no longer as safe as it used to be, especially after hours. If not for this, I would have given the hotel a notch higher on the ratings.

Room Tip: If travelling on business, do ask for one of the rooms at the back. You won't have any view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColdAvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda V, Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in both our Airstream Trailers and regular rooms.
I do agree with you that 1 or 2 nights in a Trailer is perfect for the experience and then we also recommend moving to a normal room for that little extra space.

I am sorry to hear that you did not feel safe in the city center. We personally feel and have received very positive feedback from our guests that the CCID (Central City Improvement District) is doing a great job with making their presence felt in the Cape Town inner city and our immediate area and thus making it safer for locals and tourists alike.

Long Street, is a very popular street with many good restaurants, bars and pubs, so there is always life on the street, which is a vibrant part of Cape Town Urban culture. It would be a pity to miss out on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

From the lobby with the classic lift to the trailers on the roof, this is one unique experience. The location is great as a walk down the street gets you to the street market with lots of restaurants and cafes. The hotel itself has a restaurant that serves hot breakfast, lunch and dinner (closed on Sunday evening) and a bar on the roof top. The roof top has trailers which you can book and stay in! The roof also has a theatre that shows movies on Monday nights...with bean bags and popcorn! It is not to say that this is a hippy joint. I used the conference room for an official event my company hosted and the setting of the room with an attached balcony was very professional and comfortable. The room was comfortable and had good internet connectivity, good shower and storage space. Recommended whether you are on holiday or on business.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raven2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Strand Tower Hotel
#55 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#40 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Daddy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Property: Grand Daddy Hotel
Address: 38 Long Street | Western Cape, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing