We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Wonderful!”
Review of Antrim Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antrim Villa
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Wonderful and Wonderful!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Antrim Villa was such a quaint and wonderful place to stay. I would definitely make a reservation there again. Some of the things I found to be a treasure - the travel agencies are familiar with this B&B, its easy to get to via car, great neighborhood to walk around and such an AMAZING staff! I am definitely looking forward to returning there again!

Room Tip: Book early to get the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VVV888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyDaniels, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Happy and satisfied guests makes us happy. Thanks very much for the good words of Antrim Villa. We do our best to make sure our guests are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards
Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    121
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
79
177
67
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akersberga, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed at Antrim Villa during a 4-day business visit in Cape Town in February and loved it. My room was clean, a little small perhaps but beautifully decorated and comfortable with a nice bed and facilities. The staff is friendly and helpful and the place has an informal, home-away-from-home feel to it. Garden and large pool at the back are a nice oasis to relax at. The location is central but still at a quiet street. I can highly recommend this guesthouse and will definitely use it again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyDaniels, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Maria,

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Having been with us now you would have an idea of what the other rooms look like and can choose which room you would like the next time you book :-) Thanks very much for the kind words. We would love to have you back again at Antrim Villa.

Best regards
Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We arrived in fairness on the evening of a 38C day, but the Antrim Villa does not have AC. They do provide fans and being coastal it does cool off at night. Overall, I enjoyed the location and hotel. Rooms were a bit tight, but very stylish. Staff is very friendly, but has a "don't speak until spoken too" type setup that perhaps is because of the Scandinavian owners. The location is very good - near enough to the V&A, but in a more residential district, so quiet at night. Very nice breakfasts and staff is helpful in making arrangements. A good location if you want a bit of quiet but close to the action.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyDaniels, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear David,

Thanks very much for your kind words. We feel that having airconditioning is not good for the health so we chose rather to have the standing fans for summer and the panel heaters for winter.
We are very glad that you had a good stay with us and hope to have you back again soon.

Best Regards
Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

we stayed at the antrium villa for our honeymoon for 5 days. the check in went smoothly and the room was spacious, clean, and very beautiful. the decor in the room was very pretty but simple, all white. our room was right by the pool and below the office so people were always around lounging, luckily we one went there to sleep. the location is convenient close to everything and we felt safe. we rented a car and they left us park for free. the rooms were also very clean and the breakfast was decent. overall, i would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fanelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyDaniels, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for the positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us
and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Maybe for the second honeymoon? :-)

Best Regards
Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I booked the Antrim Villa for the last two nights of a two-week holiday in February 2014. Despite making the booking in December, we were contacted four days prior to our stay was due to start saying that the hotel could no longer service our reservation as they had "overbooked". The time of our holiday was at one of the busiest times of the year and it was very difficult to find somewhere else to stay. I had to spend considerable time on the telephone (on my UK phone whilst in South Africa, costing a fortune) and internet trying to find an alternative so we were not stranded!

No apology, no compensation offered and no reasonable alternative suggested (the closest was 25 miles away as there was no availability).

It is a real shame as the reviews on tripadvisor are exceptional and I am sure we would have enjoyed our stay at Antrim but the fact this can happen and they treat potential customers in such a way is, quite frankly, a disgrace.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyDaniels, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear about your situation. We are not sure which website you have booked through; the booking did not appear to have been made via the Antrim Villa website. Normally the understanding we have with third party websites is that if in case we are overbooked, we always make provision for an alternative place to stay, which we inform the website about well in advance of the guest’s arrival day. Unfortunately we have no control of when the websites in turn contact the guest.

We always treat all our guests fairly and this kind of behaviour definitely does not reflect the service policy we have at Antrim Villa. As compensation, although we do not know that we were guilty of this situation, would be to grant you a complimentary night’s at Antrim Villa for your next visit in Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Joy Daniels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Antrim Villa! Antrim villa really is a hidden oasis in the vibrant city of Cape town. It's a relaxing place where you can enjoy yourself either by the beautiful poolside, in the well decorated rooms or in the common dining room. The breakfast is great and the staff is friendly. Antrim villa felt like a home because of the intimicy of only a few rooms and that it was centered among the dining room, not a reception.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaMans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyDaniels, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for the beautiful review. We really do our best to keep our guests happy and satisfied. Hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards
Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Side, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Antrim Villa is a calm and safe place to stay at. There are only eight separate rooms and one room for breakfast or evening tea. It is a familiar place where you get a very fresh breakfast. You can have a relaxing time in front of the swimming pool .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rutan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntrimVillaOffice, Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for the kind words. Short and sweet :-) Hope to have you back at Antrim Villa in the near future.

Best Regards
Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The One 8 Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
259 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
497 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#21 of 109 in Cape Town Central
377 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antrim Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antrim Villa

Property: Antrim Villa
Address: 12 Antrim Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Antrim Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antrim Villa is a wonderful old house built in the late 1800s. Its charm comes from the Victorian style with high ceilings, well kept stuccos, and the original pine flooring. The Villa’s style is Afro Scandinavian accentuated with materials like sisal, bamboo and linen. Therefore the interior has a neutral organic colour palette. The serene garden with sun beds, citrus trees holds a large blue saltwater pool.The house is located in Green Point, a 5 minute walk to the beach promenade and a 15 minute walk to the new stadium. The Villa has two types of rooms; standard rooms and luxury rooms. Each room has en-suite bathrooms, safes, fans and heaters. The luxury rooms have iPod docking stations and mini-fridges as well.Among the guesthouse amenities guests will find free Internet access at a working station with a laptop and printer and a honesty bar. Wireless internet is free. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and fresh fruit are complimentary and can be enjoyed at all times. Antrim Villa is certified with Fairtrade in Tourism South Africa and a member of Cape Town Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Antrim Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antrim Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing