We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to go back to Antrim Villa!”
Review of Antrim Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antrim Villa
Ranked #22 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I travel regularly to Cape Town on business and it was great to return to my 'home away from home' recently. Always a warm and friendly welcome, comfortable room, free Wi-Fi and a great breakfast! A new touch is the option of a full hot breakfast - the perfect way to start the day. Thank you everyone at Antrim Villa for making me feel so special - look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Room 2 in Winter is great because you have the option of a bath or shower!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Antrim Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 463 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

My daughter and I wanted to be close to the Stadium for the Justin Bieber show, found Antrim Villa on on internet and are very pleased we did, what a central place to stay and very well run accommodation. We will be back again... Everything is well though of. Thank you!

Room Tip: Our room was spacious.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarenGuard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We needed central guesthouse for a weekend in Cape Town. Antrim Villa in convenient in location and you can even park your car securely behind a gate! Friendly welcoming service. We will definately be back.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bobbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Perfect locationb, very clean, nice environment, very professional staff...the perfect adress in Cape Town...a big YES !
The decoaration is tastefull, and the poolhas a very exotic ambiance that is good to feel on holiday...

Room Tip: Check their personal website
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTandyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Bedroom very small, bathroom even smaller, bed side lights didn't work, no kettle, no aircon, limited tv, extra charge for wifi. Breakfast is termed 'Scandinavian '...was offered an egg that was boiled one hour previously..had to extricate toast from toaster using a long knife., while sitting on a cane chair without a cushion! We felt it was a rip off..for the same price you can get a really nice room at the Protea, with all the frills that were lacking at Antrim Villa. On top of it all when we decided to move out early we were charged 500 Rands when Booking.com said there would only be a R200 cancellation fee...when I pointed this out I was rudely told I should take it up with Booking.com!! Don't go is my advice!
.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emilyknysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyDaniels, General Manager at Antrim Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very sad to hear that you were unhappy with your stay at Antrim Villa. You booked a standard room and we upgraded you to a luxury room at no extra cost, as an effort to make your experience better. We do this on a regular basis for our guests if there is a luxury room available.

When you were checked in to your room you asked about DSTV. Management informed you that we did not have it and you said it was fine, you would make a plan.
We then recommended one of the bars on Sea Point main road.

The house is designed with a homely atmosphere, so we do not have tea and coffee facilities in the room but this is accessible directly from the kitchen as shown when you checked in. The bed lamps in the rooms were in working order and if you would have asked for assistance from the staff, they would have helped you with that.

Antrim Villa is eco-friendly and we only deal with things that are friendly to people’s health and the environment. That’s why we have no air-conditioning on our premises.
We do have fans for summer and heaters for winter.

Our cancellation policy is clearly stated on the Booking.com website. You booked for three nights but only stayed one night. You appear to have misread the policy as the R200 cancellation fee only applies to bookings cancelled more than 45 days prior to arrival. In your case it was an advance departure so you were liable to 100%, in accordance with the conditions.

We were very surprised at your hostile attitude the next morning when you came out for breakfast on the Saturday morning. Being Fair Trade certified means that all staff are being treated fairly irrespective of their race or skin colour and in this incident they were not.

I cannot remedy the experience you already had but hope that in future you would come visit us again with an open mind.

Best regards,

Joy Daniels
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The staff is very friendly and always ready to assist their guests. The house is nicely located and simply lovely: roomy, clean, comfortable, fully equipped and very stylish. We absolutely loved our stay at Antrim Villa!
We particularly appreciated the decor and the many services offered by the guesthouse (nice pool, fresh and healthy breakfast, self service bar, airport shuttle, ...).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

we stayed 3 weeks in south africa and this guesthouse was the most beautyful during our holiday! the staff was so friendly and helpful! in the morning you get a great breakfast with fresh fruits:-)! the pool area is great to relax!!! really nothing bad to say!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The One 8 Hotel
#52 of 111 in Cape Town Central
267 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#18 of 111 in Cape Town Central
420 reviews
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#19 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,848 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antrim Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antrim Villa

Address: 12 Antrim Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $89 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antrim Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antrim Villa is a wonderful old house built in the late 1800s. Its charm comes from the Victorian style with high ceilings, well kept stuccos, and the original pine flooring. The Villa’s style is Afro Scandinavian accentuated with materials like sisal, bamboo and linen. Therefore the interior has a neutral organic colour palette. The serene garden with sun beds, citrus trees holds a large blue saltwater pool.The house is located in Green Point, a 5 minute walk to the beach promenade and a 15 minute walk to the new stadium. The Villa has two types of rooms; standard rooms and luxury rooms. Each room has en-suite bathrooms, safes, fans and heaters. The luxury rooms have iPod docking stations and mini-fridges as well.Among the guesthouse amenities guests will find free Internet access at a working station with a laptop and printer and a honesty bar. Wireless internet is free. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and fresh fruit are complimentary and can be enjoyed at all times. Antrim Villa is certified with Fairtrade in Tourism South Africa and a member of Cape Town Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Antrim Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antrim Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing