We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Continental experience right in the middle of Cape Town, Africa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Kings Hotel
Ranked #69 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
402 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Continental experience right in the middle of Cape Town, Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel offers one of a unique experience where the location is perfect, two blocks away from a great beach walk, walking distance from an array of coffee shops and restaurants and a whole sort of other amenities. there is a piazza where one can spend the entire day, drinking coffee and eating healthy food. The rooms are high tech and modern best suited for a couple or a business trip.The service is excellent. The hotel is on the MyCiti bus trip. Very convenient and enjoyable. All in all a great overall experience.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Mountain or Sea are even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFeetZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    88
    34
    7
    7
See reviews for
33
109
28
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cernex, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

It is pretty bad that this good hotel in terms of rooms and restaurant has so many security related issues.

First the Magnetic cards to open the rooms are not at all reliable. For example our 2 cards never worked both at the same time... Worse as we were a group of 28 persons, one person, by choosing the wrong floor, opened an other room with his card, fortunately it was somebody belonging to the group...
This system is definitively not reliable and needs to be changed by a more secure RFID cards.

The other security problem is the fact that people out the hotel, and coming from the ground fllow supermarket, can access the hotel 2nd floor where the reception and the restauraut room is located. They can access this floor from a back door lift or stairs and then can access the restaurant / breakfast room without being seen by the hotel reception people.

During the 3 days we stayed there, one person from the group got his camera stollen during the breakfast and a person from an other group got his luggage stolen. The hotel saw the thiefts on the video camera but the person from the group had no time to make a thieft declaration to the Police.

There should be a security guard during the breakfast and when people are leaving or joining the hotel as it is easier at that time for people out the hotel to get hidden in the crowd. As well there should be a hotel card reader in the 2 lifts to access the hotel floors from the ground floor which limits automatically the access from hotel foreigners.

I also noticed (because we were planning to leave early from this exit on the departure day) that during the night, the fire exits on the back door, accessing the stairs and the back lift, are closed by locked iron gates, which is unacceptable in case of fire...

I hope that this report will help the hotel to improve these serious security issues.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCh74350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londont
Level Contributor
187 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

What can I say except wow. Tripadvisor winner two years running. Deserves every star. From moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. Nothing is too much for the staff from front line to kitchen staff and every whim is attended to without hesitation. You show respect and u earn it. Breakfasts are fantastic as I challenge u to not find anything to eat. Eggs cooked to your order. Parking garage staff wonderful. Best of all u get free parking u only have to remember to get reception to stamp daily. If we came again we would not hesitate in coming back. Well done to everyone....

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank bevalt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
263 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I find the part of Sea Point that this hotel is located in is a bit on the shabby side, the small shopping complex in which the hotel entrance is located is nice, but once you step out onto the street I felt a bit on the uneasy side as there were plenty of drunk vagrants loitering around. Our room on the 4th floor was not ready when we arrived, but the front desk and the housekeeping staff were very friendly and once we were in the room we were pleasantly surprised. The room was huge and very comfortable with a good size shower and a free standing bath in the bedroom. The breakfast was basic but good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
327 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is our second extended stay at this hotel. From the time of wring to Marilu till check-out, everything was marvelous.
We arrived at about 1400, and within minutes were in our large room on the fifth floor, equipped with mini fridge as requested.
As hard as we could ry, there is no noise from the passageway, nor from neighboring rooms, just solitude!
Nothing I could say about the staff would justify the politeness, friendliness and simply caring attitude of them all. From reception, to room and dining room staff, all went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.
Th hoptel is situated over a small shopping mall with access to everything one may want.
Even free WIFI is included, which is soon to be upgrade, and the breakfasts are South African style, more than enough.
Free undercover guarded parking is also included, and I made good use of it.
My brother also stays here, and we will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, the sea facing rooms may be quieter, but have no first hand experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GordonBloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great hotel and location, is central for getting around near by areas. City sightseeing bus 50mtrs away and new myciti mini bus routes on the door step as is a Spar and Woolworths food super markets on the ground floor. Breakfast has plenty to offer.

Room Tip: We had room 512 which is located at the front of hotel, can be noisy for some people. But it did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonMackems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We love this hotel due to its great location and friendly staff (especially Liesl at Reception).

Rooms are big and breakfast is nice.

Shops and restaurants are nearby, so is the beach for jogging and cycling. All sights of interest are easy to reach.

Good place in Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank endaxi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.1 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#108 of 199 in Cape Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cascades on the Promenade
Cascades on the Promenade
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Splendida
La Splendida
#83 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel Cape Town
Premier Hotel Cape Town
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Kings Hotel

Property: New Kings Hotel
Address: Piazza Da Luz | 94 Regent Road, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Kings Hotel is centrally located in cosmopolitan Sea Point with panoramic views of Lions Head and the Atlantic Ocean.Situated within walking distance of the Sea Point Promenade and close to the world renowned V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay and Clifton beaches famous for their Blue Flag status.The New Kings Hotel is a chic boutique property, offering 42 designer rooms and a well appointed restaurant, cocktail bar terrace with sea views and attention to detail to meet all the international travelers’ requirements.In the Piazza da Luz below enjoy the vibrant lifestyle of the Cape with various eateries, food stores, beauty, health, hairdresser, clothing, art, business services and a wellness spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your New Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Kings Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing