We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a perfect location”
Review of New Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Kings Hotel
Ranked #72 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the New Kings for a week, and had a great time. Mostly because of the amazing location - if you want to chill in the near area, you have everything you need in the plaza below: Woolworth's, Spar, Thai restaurant, coffee chop, hairdresser, dermatologist/beauty spa, clothing shop etc.
The rooms are nice, but the view is not great.. We asked for a sea view, but were situated so far away on the sea side that we only could see the sea when standing up in the one corner.
Bed is very comfortable, and pillows as well.
We asked for a minibar three times, but never received one. It is really not great not to have a fridge in your room!
Our phone in the room did not work, and when I told reception they were so nice and helpful - they offered to organise our restaurant reservations for us! Unfortunately they failed to do so, and did not even tell us, which was very disappointing, and obviously caused problems for us at the restaurant. Our phone did not get fixed either...
Breakfast was really great - a perfect variety of fresh fruit and berries, cereal and yoghurts. Croissants, cheese and cold cuts. Bacon, eggs, sausages, mushrooms and tomatoes. Unfortunately, there were no more eggs on five of our 8 nights! Not that we ate late.
Small things to make the stay not perfect. The girls at reception were all super nice and friendly, but it is a problem when they do not actually help out with the things requested/needed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjohansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 273 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

New Kings was the perfect place for us in Cape Town! Spacious rooms with glamorous baths and nice views! The staff were very accommodating and helpful. We loved the location - a nice central location for all all our sightseeing and convenient access to groceries, pharmacy, barber and laundromat. The onsite parking was an added bonus. Nice breakfast buffet and always love the ensuite coffee. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaddyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My brother had stayed at this hotel in 2012 and highly recommended it. We checked on the internet and it was what we were looking for with our main criteria; 1] individually controlled air conditioning in the room; 2] Free WIFI, available 24/7. Other factors such as free on site parking, and the proximity to where we needed to be were extra criteria. What we were not sure about was answered extremely politely, promptly and positively by the General Manager, Marilu Coetzee.
We arrived at about 1600 and immediately checked in and given our room. The reception is manned 24/7 and all the duty staff are smiling and helpful with regard to our few requests. Only 42 rooms, well outfitted, and the hotel is always quiet. There is a bar on the second floor, a terrace for sitting outside, and generally a well maintained establishment.
The room: as we had requested, high floor, in this case 4th, far from elevators, ours was facing the front/sea, but far from the main road, and was much quieter than we had expected. A nice touch was a personalized welcoming letter on our desk when we entered the room. The room is a good size, with large glass shower enclosure, sink, situated in the room, with separate toilet with basin. We were provided with a fridge for the duration of our stay, good for our medications as well as for keeping drinks, and my cycling bottles cool.The room has a flat screen T.V , as well as a “docking”for IPODS.A desk with numerous different plug fittings, and decent sized lounge chairs finishes of the room.The curtains, as well, are ample , and give all the coverage one needs.
Breakfast exceeded our expectations. On one side a cold buffet with cereals, fruit, breads, with toasters, cheeses, meats and an assortment of jams etc, on the other side a hot buffet with eggs, hash browns, hot mushrooms, grilled tomatoes and other dishes. More than ample to last most of the day. As well there are juices and of course coffee and tea. If wanted it is possible to order eggs to ones taste. One could also sit outside on the terrace.
Parking is under the building and free for guests. The hotel is situated above a small piazza which offers a coffee house, noodle bar, large supermarket and a smaller food supermarket. All in all very convenient.
Since I was here for a bicycle race there was no problem to keep the bike in the room, and of the 2 elevators one was large enough to wheel the bicycle in. However, due some technical fault one can only ascend to the second floor , which meant I “walked “my bike up to the third and fourth floor by stairs.
Generally we were very pleased with this establishment and would have no hesitation to return.

Room Tip: Choose high up, sea facing, or side facing, away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GordonBloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel was a last minute find and we were referred to it through another hotel which was not able to accommodate us for the night we wanted.

We booked hesitantly as we have had extremely unpleasant experiences before, however, i cannot stress how surprising and amazing the room was.

We were told that our room doesn't really have a view of the ocean, but when we got to the room, the view was nothing short of spectacular.

The room we stayed in had a shower and the most luxurious bath as well as an audio system for the room which allowed for your iPod to be connected to it.

The staff were extremely accommodating and welcoming and overall our experience was exceptionally brilliant.

There is only one criticism that I can level against them and that is that the breakfast served is not the greatest as i'm not entirely sure that all the ingredients are 100% fresh. Other than that, this was an excellent stay and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just the place for an Argus cyclist - right down to the breakfast pack delivered the night before the race itself. There's also a Primi Piatti just down the road for the obligatory carbo loading.

Really helpful and friendly staff, big rooms (complete with iPod dock) and a perfect 15 minute warm-up ride to the start of the race.

Free basement parking and grocery (Woolworths/Spar) and coffee (Vida e Caffé) shops in the same complex as well.

I'll be back next year...

Room Tip: Book early for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGCOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was just in Cape Town for a friend's wedding, and I chose this hotel based on the recommendation of her wedding planner as well as the reviews on Trip Advisor!

What I loved:
- GREAT location! The hotel is in a little shopping center with a grocery store, liquor store, coffee shop, juice bar/healthy food restaurant, thai restaurant, spa, beauty salon...!!! In addition, there are several banks just down the street. Also, it's just a block off of Beach Road/Victoria Road, so you can easily get to the V&A Waterfront, central Cape Town, Hout Bay, Clifton, etc.
- Beautiful room! We stayed in a suite and it was huge and lovely. Separate bath tub, separate dining room with fridge (not a mini bar, but as I said, there is a liquor store right downstairs!).
- Breakfast! They have a free, and HUGE breakfast buffet daily. They call it a continental breakfast, which to me just means fruit and pastries/breads. This breakfast has a beautiful selection of fresh fruits, yogurt, granola, cereal, eggs, ham, grilled tomatoes, sauteed mushrooms, and wonderful breads and pastries. There is also great juice, coffee and tea. Take advantage!
- Free wifi! This is a major perk. It's a bit annoying that there is a data transfer limit so you have to get lots of different codes, but you can't complain about free wifi (it's nearly impossible to find in US hotels)
- Free parking! This was also amazing since we had a rental car. It's also totally unheard of in US hotels in a downtown area.
- The desk in the dining room has European and American outlets. Others are SA outlets, but this was helpful when charging things since we only had two SA converters.

What I didn't love:
- The website said there are blow dryers. My room did not have one, but I was provided with one from reception. That one promptly broke and I had to get another. Then, it only worked while holding down a button which made it difficult to blow dry my hair with a brush. (I know this is a bit nit-picky, but good info for the other ladies)
- The book of services left in the room states that the hotel has room service. Upon check-in we were also told the hotel has room service. When we called downstairs, we were told they do NOT have room service. Not a big deal, but it should be known.
- Though our suite was beautiful, we didn't sleep well past about 6am because the curtains didn't go up to the ceiling so the light started to pour in. Not a huge deal, and if I had remembered my sleep mask I wouldn't have cared since the room was so lovely.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite and they put us in Room 508. It had a great view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmopolitan_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a four star hotel with five star value. I stayed in it last year for four nights at around $60 per night. The rooms are modern, clean and sleek with a generous amount of space. The service is very good,the position exceptional. On one side you have Sea Point which is glorious to look at during sunrise and on the other Table Mountain and Lion's head which is even more impressive.

On the ground floor you have an array of shops including a supermarket which has everything you can possibly imagine at a cheap price.

No swimming pool here and the facilities are a little bit lacking but for what you pay you feel like you have done incredibly well. This hotel has a certain special feel about it that you seldom find in modern hotels of today. I thoroughly enjoyed my time here and would highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.1 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cascades on the Promenade
Cascades on the Promenade
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#113 of 201 in Cape Town
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#73 of 110 in Cape Town Central
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Kings Hotel

Address: Piazza Da Luz | 94 Regent Road, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $109 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Kings Hotel is centrally located in cosmopolitan Sea Point with panoramic views of Lions Head and the Atlantic Ocean.Situated within walking distance of the Sea Point Promenade and close to the world renowned V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay and Clifton beaches famous for their Blue Flag status.The New Kings Hotel is a chic boutique property, offering 42 designer rooms and a well appointed restaurant, cocktail bar terrace with sea views and attention to detail to meet all the international travelers’ requirements.In the Piazza da Luz below enjoy the vibrant lifestyle of the Cape with various eateries, food stores, beauty, health, hairdresser, clothing, art, business services and a wellness spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Kings Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing