We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycle friendly!”
Review of New Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Kings Hotel
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cycle friendly!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just the place for an Argus cyclist - right down to the breakfast pack delivered the night before the race itself. There's also a Primi Piatti just down the road for the obligatory carbo loading.

Really helpful and friendly staff, big rooms (complete with iPod dock) and a perfect 15 minute warm-up ride to the start of the race.

Free basement parking and grocery (Woolworths/Spar) and coffee (Vida e Caffé) shops in the same complex as well.

I'll be back next year...

Room Tip: Book early for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGCOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    94
    36
    8
    7
See reviews for
37
112
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was just in Cape Town for a friend's wedding, and I chose this hotel based on the recommendation of her wedding planner as well as the reviews on Trip Advisor!

What I loved:
- GREAT location! The hotel is in a little shopping center with a grocery store, liquor store, coffee shop, juice bar/healthy food restaurant, thai restaurant, spa, beauty salon...!!! In addition, there are several banks just down the street. Also, it's just a block off of Beach Road/Victoria Road, so you can easily get to the V&A Waterfront, central Cape Town, Hout Bay, Clifton, etc.
- Beautiful room! We stayed in a suite and it was huge and lovely. Separate bath tub, separate dining room with fridge (not a mini bar, but as I said, there is a liquor store right downstairs!).
- Breakfast! They have a free, and HUGE breakfast buffet daily. They call it a continental breakfast, which to me just means fruit and pastries/breads. This breakfast has a beautiful selection of fresh fruits, yogurt, granola, cereal, eggs, ham, grilled tomatoes, sauteed mushrooms, and wonderful breads and pastries. There is also great juice, coffee and tea. Take advantage!
- Free wifi! This is a major perk. It's a bit annoying that there is a data transfer limit so you have to get lots of different codes, but you can't complain about free wifi (it's nearly impossible to find in US hotels)
- Free parking! This was also amazing since we had a rental car. It's also totally unheard of in US hotels in a downtown area.
- The desk in the dining room has European and American outlets. Others are SA outlets, but this was helpful when charging things since we only had two SA converters.

What I didn't love:
- The website said there are blow dryers. My room did not have one, but I was provided with one from reception. That one promptly broke and I had to get another. Then, it only worked while holding down a button which made it difficult to blow dry my hair with a brush. (I know this is a bit nit-picky, but good info for the other ladies)
- The book of services left in the room states that the hotel has room service. Upon check-in we were also told the hotel has room service. When we called downstairs, we were told they do NOT have room service. Not a big deal, but it should be known.
- Though our suite was beautiful, we didn't sleep well past about 6am because the curtains didn't go up to the ceiling so the light started to pour in. Not a huge deal, and if I had remembered my sleep mask I wouldn't have cared since the room was so lovely.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite and they put us in Room 508. It had a great view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmopolitan_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Beau Vallon, Seychelles
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a four star hotel with five star value. I stayed in it last year for four nights at around $60 per night. The rooms are modern, clean and sleek with a generous amount of space. The service is very good,the position exceptional. On one side you have Sea Point which is glorious to look at during sunrise and on the other Table Mountain and Lion's head which is even more impressive.

On the ground floor you have an array of shops including a supermarket which has everything you can possibly imagine at a cheap price.

No swimming pool here and the facilities are a little bit lacking but for what you pay you feel like you have done incredibly well. This hotel has a certain special feel about it that you seldom find in modern hotels of today. I thoroughly enjoyed my time here and would highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a perfect hotel for holidays in cape town. Beautiful home, very helpful and smiling staff. Breakfast well stocked ... Olympic swimming pool on the seafront just 200 meters. A perfect location for joggers. All conveniences next to the hotel. Happy holidays
The website photos show the exact location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericelngls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Centrally located in Sea Point ( the area has drastically improved over the last couple of months ) with easy access to the sights of Cape Town. King size bed which was great to get lost in !! lol Bathroom is a modern open plan which we enjoyed. Room was facing Signal Hill and overlooked the street. Noise was no issue. iPod Station for sound system in the room was very useful. A good experience, safe and well priced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Comfortable rooms. Hotel nicely situated close to Camps Bay & V&A Waterfront - Simply Asia Restaurant, Woolworths food & Spar in same building, etc.
I did not like the king size bed in the double room as they were two single beds joined to make a king size bed. The wash basin was clogged. Simple things thatcould be avoided, though they changed the room the next day.u

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Udesh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel, a little hard to find, has we had to call to the reception to have the exact location. It would be easier to everyone if they just told that it was in the pick and pay building. The rooms and the hotel are very clean and secure location. Loved the detail on the docking station and build in speakers, although it doesn't charge the ipod/iphone.

Food quality is good and staff friendly. And you can find families and young people mingling easily.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldo_Tembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.5 mi away
Cascades on the Promenade
Cascades on the Promenade
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
385 reviews
1.4 mi away
The One 8 Hotel
The One 8 Hotel
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#113 of 199 in Cape Town
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#40 of 109 in Cape Town Central
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Kings Hotel

Property: New Kings Hotel
Address: Piazza Da Luz | 94 Regent Road, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Kings Hotel is centrally located in cosmopolitan Sea Point with panoramic views of Lions Head and the Atlantic Ocean.Situated within walking distance of the Sea Point Promenade and close to the world renowned V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay and Clifton beaches famous for their Blue Flag status.The New Kings Hotel is a chic boutique property, offering 42 designer rooms and a well appointed restaurant, cocktail bar terrace with sea views and attention to detail to meet all the international travelers’ requirements.In the Piazza da Luz below enjoy the vibrant lifestyle of the Cape with various eateries, food stores, beauty, health, hairdresser, clothing, art, business services and a wellness spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Kings Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing