We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot on Kloof Street!”

Arnold's Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: African, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Open from 06:45 till late Mon to Fri and 08:00 till late Sat & Sun, open every day.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great spot on Kloof Street!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Walked by this place a million times when staying in Central Cape Town, and decided to pop in one of those times. Nice atmosphere, cute little patio area -- and very laid back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BOStraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arn07, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear BOStraveler11
We are very glad that you eventually came in to visit Arnolds and really enjoyed us for what we are.
Hopefully you will have safe travels and return to us in the future.
Arnold and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    236
    69
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I heard a lot about the breakfast so decided to try it out and can definitely recommend it, and for such a low price its a steal! As for the lunch menu, its definitely a South African experience as I've had Warthog ribs and ostrich burgers which tasted great!

The pricing is quite steep for the "exotic" cuisine one might be ordering, but its understandable however everything else is reasonably priced. I've been here a few times and haven't ever been disappointed, will definitely be back sometime to try sometime different.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SherwyN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arn07, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear SherwyN P
Thank you for supporting Arnolds.
It is very important to us that we are having local people as our customers, we are aware that the year has 12 months and that on the "off-season" there is a limited number of tourists around in Cape Town. Also there is a number of foreigners around that appreciates that Arnolds has locals in good numbers, they enjoy to mix with us Capetonians, which they cannot do at the V&A.
Obviously exotic meats are not as easily available as beef and lamb and therefor there is a premium to be paid for premium cuts.
WE look forward to seeing you many more time in Kloof Street.
Arnold and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

stayed in cape town in December 2013 for 6 nights, tried lot of restaurants including water front ones , but Arnold's came out on top, great food (for guests from uk 3-courses grill prawns to start 250 gr steak and sweat, bottle of good wine £35.00 for two people!!!!!) the atmosphere created by staff and manager Ben ( are Liverpool in FA cup, ah ah ) is great, will be returning later this year,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psmith26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arn07, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear psmith26
Thank you for the visit to Arnolds last year.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed, the food, wine and service and that you will be back soon.
Hopefully we will be able to keep up to our standards, just like Liverpool FC does, most of the time.
We are looking forward to having you back soon.
Arnold and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skurup, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“..”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We arrived as a big group of 30 people, but when the first 20 where done with their starters, hamburgers and dessert the last 10 finally got their main course. It was very blend and a big dissapointment, especially after waiting for so long.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lina L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Arn07, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Lina L
Thank you for visiting Arnolds recently. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the experience.
I did some investigating and found out the following.
You were a party of 30 that was reserved well in advance. You party arrived in "drips and drabs" over a time frame of about an hour. The early arrivals ordered immediatly and got their food before you and some of your party arrived. Obviously there is not much a restaurant can do if the party does not arrive as one unit. It is always a problem if then a complaint arrives such as yours.
We hope to see you in the future under happier circumstances.
Arnold and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Arnolds is a great place to take it easy on a Sunday! We go for breakfast and coffee, Food and service is always up to standard.

We love going to Arnolds for a double breakfast are a morning hike up Lions Head.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Turners_Travel_2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arn07, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Welmie T
Thanks for the positive words from you. It is especially pleasing for us when local Capetonians, supporting us over the years take the time to give a word of praise.
It makes our job a joy and much easier to perform on a day to day basis.

Kind regards
Arnold and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arnold's Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Arnold's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing