We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty venue off Kloof”

Arnold's Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: African, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Open from 06:45 till late Mon to Fri and 08:00 till late Sat & Sun, open every day.
Greyton, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Tasty venue off Kloof”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good for breakfast, lunch or dinner. An array of light meals or just to pop in for a drink. Exceeds expectations

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewCTKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnoldsonkloof, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear AndrewJP62
Thank you for visiting Arnolds on your travels.
We are very please that you enjoyed your time and our food.
Have a safe journey, we are looking forward to seening you again in the not too distant future.
Arnold and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    237
    69
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“As everyone says don't miss this place”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a fantastic, cafe style restaurant with attentive staff and a gracious host. All this with a view of Table Mountian in the background

Arnold's was on our must visit list while here and thanks to TA we were not disappointed.

I enjoyed the Warthog Ribs followed by the Gemsboc Wellinton which was exceptional.

It wasnt just the food here, the staff were really good without being in your face and we had a nice chat with our host after our meal and he explained what they were trying to achieve nd some of the other delights on the menu.

We will return for breakfast before we leave.

DO NOT MISS ARNOLD's when in Cape Town. I trust this is clear.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SthOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnoldsonkloof, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear SthOz
Thanks for taking the time to visit Arnolds this week.
We are all very glad you enjoyed your meal and that you recommended Arnolds for
a return visit.
We at Arnolds hope to see again in the not too distant future.
Arnold and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Can't wait for a return”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I need to say I had the best warthog ribs ever here. My meal was so yummy. And veggies were satisfying. The price is reasonable for the amount of food. My family enjoyed our steaks and game meat. But the best was the warthog ribs. Parking was on street and on a Sunday night and I was in perfect company. I want to come back for the breakfast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isacameth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnoldsonkloof, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Isacameth
The personnel at Arnolds is very please that you really enjoyed your visit at our restaurant.
We promise that we will keep cooking and serving good food for a long time to come.
The Warthog ribs are a very big favourite with all our guests.
We cannot wait to see you again, soon

Arnold and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Arnold's - Great food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Loved it! Great, friendly service and tasty food. pretty much what I look for in a restaurant :)
It has a wide range of choice, even game meat like blesbok and warthog!!
Would definitely recommend and visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyA661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnoldsonkloof, Manager at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi Jimmy
Thanks for visiting Arnolds.
We are very pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoy our restaurant.
We are hoping that you will return many more times in the not too distant future.
Arnold and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Between us we had the crocodile, springbok, ostrich, warthog, chicken and sirloin, and all if it was very tasty, beautifully prepared and presented with tasty side dishes. By accident we were there during happy hour, 16:30 - 18-30, where some drinks and starters are cheaper. Waiter informed us 5 minutes prior to the end of happy hour that it was ending, but we still have some time to order at happy hour prices. You don't see that very often. Excellent service. This was my 5th visit to Arnold's, and by no means my last!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Renier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnoldsonkloof, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi Gregor,
Thank you for taking the time to send us your review.
We really appreciate it when our customers are enjoying our restaurant.
it makes all the effort put in worthwhile.
We hope to see you many more times in the future.
Arnold and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arnold's Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Arnold's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing