We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab-u-lous!”

Arnold's Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 1,202 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: African, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open from 06:45 till late Mon to Fri and 08:00 till late Sat & Sun, open every day.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just a shaort walk from our accommodation at More Quarters. Arnold's was a real find. Our first night we ate - a bit of a game fest! Fantastic food. I had the Springbok shank (turned out to be 2!) which was delicious (if a little of a challenge for my appetite). My hubbie had Kudu. The meal was simply great food - well cooked. Service is extremely welcoming and friendly. Wine choice is brilliant and well priced too! It doesn't look much from outside and we could have walked by. My advice? Don't! It's well worth more than the remarkably low bill at the end of it.

Thank GallowhillLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arn07, Manager at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear GallowhillLass
thank you for coming to Arnolds and giving us such a glowing report card.
We hope that you will have the opportunity to come to Cape Town again and look us up.
Safe travels from
Arnold and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 430 of 713 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

We liked our dinner experience at Arnold's just fine....the food was OK and the atmosphere was lively and vibrant. We had a nice table outside and the service was not bad......depending on the server......(there was a tall waiter with a dark beard who really was good at his job). So why average.....I guess because we both left feeling that it was "fine" . Nothing to really complain about but nothing to make this place stand out above the others in the same class we tried. Glad we tried it and certainly not disappointed but we did not go back for a second time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blanca10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arn07, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear blanca10
thank you for taking the time to visit us last week.
It appears that we were not able to fully convert you to supporter no 1.
Please be assured that this will make us try harder.
We hope to see you again in the future and that you will enjoy the visit.
Arnold and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We are serious sezfood addicts and have to say that Arnolds had the best calamari steak we e er had. Also as a huge plus my spouse had the Afri an game plate with Crocodile, Warthog, Springbok and ostrich! All very reasonably priced in a casual atmosphere, R three hundred without wine, The maItter D, Ben fetched us a about and waited with us until it arrived

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charristuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arn07, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to review Arnolds.
We appreciate that you liked our restaurant and hope to see you again
in the not too distant future.
Arnold and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place has got great reviews so we decided to go there. We were pleased we did. The menu is good and includes some unusual cuts, well for us Brits anyway! I enjoyed the Gemsbok Wellington, a great choice and I would highly recommended it. Our party of four were not disappointed and returned a week later! Large portions and very reasonably priced. It's not the most exclusive looking of places but it has a rustic appearance that grows on you. Go there and give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alwyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arn07, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear alwyn1
Thanks for the great review. We at Arnolds very much appreciate that our efforts are not going un-noticed. Also the fact that you did come back for a 2nd visit is very good to hear.
We are hoping you have safe travels and will spread the word for us.

Kind regards
Arnold and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Enjoyed a couple of breakfasts here, including one during a big rugby match. Very vibey & busy, get there early if you can.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elsabé V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arn07, Owner at Arnold's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Elsabé V
Thank you for enjoying our restaurant. We hope to see you many more times in the near future and don't be shy to try our dinner menu, it is great.
Kind regards
Arnold and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arnold's Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Arnold's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing