We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty fish and other options”
Review of Miller's Thumb

Miller's Thumb
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 7, 2019

Delicious fish options which change daily. The owner explains the fish and options available. Two nice suitable glasses of wine. Vegetables thinly sliced was a great choice. Peri-peri butter and blackened fish were excellent choices. They are able to prepare vegetarian dishes and there is even meat options on the menu. I would have the great starters - salad and tomato soup but skip dessert.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 2,104 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2019

Amazing fresh fish prepared simply, but perfectly. Cozy cottage feel with very good service. Would love to return someday.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2019

Wonderful find in Cape Town- friendly welcome, good atmosphere and simply the best fish. The focus is on what's available fresh and then you choose how you'd like it. My cajun kingkilp was superb- spicy but not overwhelming the fish itself. Starter of squid was also the best I've tasted- soft and delicious with no overcooked toughness. Service was perfect with everything explained by the boss. Great value, great food and excellent wine- what more do you want?

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank OscarYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019

The food was good, we found the seafood better than the beef options but all was good. Met the owner and she made us feel very much at home with nice conversation.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

Just as the other reviews indicate, the food is great! The owner stops by your table to give you the run down of the fish specials which was very helpful since we weren't familiar with all the different types. Everything we had was excellent.
Make a reservation if you can! We walked in at 530pm and got lucky because they had 1 table left!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Cathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller's Thumb also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Miller's Thumb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing