We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dorado” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miller's Thumb

Miller's Thumb
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Dorado”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant certainly lived up to its reputation. It was the best Dorado I have had with the exception when I caught it myself.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank André M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,120
    336
    88
    27
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great locals place to discover in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Outstanding food, outstanding wines, outstanding customer service. Please try to make a reservation as this place is small and fills up fast...not to be missed while in Cape Town!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pukka neighbourhood restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

very well reviewed on TA and we were staying close by so we gave it a go. Very nice neighbourhood restaurant with excellent service and food which is more sophisticated than the place looks. I would have preferred a slightly more sophisticated setting which the food easily merits but a really good meal for very little money so what's not to like?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 837IanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coxim, MS
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excelent food, good price and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I went to Millers, unfortunately on my last day in Cape Town. Staff is very good, and the owner comes to your table to tell you which are the dishes of the day. Food is absolutely perfect. I ate a fish with a lichee sauce, and my wife a fish soup and calamari with Moroccan Sauce. If I could, I would eat more times at Millers Thumb. You must go there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaudioMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Incredible Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our favorite restaurant on our trip - and the food was AMAZING!! We had the fish - and the Brazilian beef. The presentation was creative and we could have eaten here every single night. It was recommended by our hosts at An African Villa and the restaurant was beyond our expectations.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Prico4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller's Thumb also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Miller's Thumb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing