We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service!”
Review of Miller's Thumb

Miller's Thumb
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Casual fine dining in Cape Town, South Africa. Incredible food and service, affordable prices. Fresh seafood in a lovely local setting. A must try when visiting Cape Town!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,219
    359
    91
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Delicious fishes”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

At An African Villa, the owners recommended Miller's Thumb: what a recommendation. This intimate, friendly and charming restaurant really knows how to cook fish. I started with a lovely salad of rocket, sun-dried tomatoes and parmesan cheese. Yum.There is a variety of fresh fish that is really the star of the show here. On the night we arrived, I decided on Kingclip, a fish native and popular in Africa. Although we were offered several different sauces, i went with Malay which was a combination of soy and chilli with lichee nuts. My fish was served on a bed of noodles. The fish was crisp on the outside and tender on the inside. My husband had the fish soup, and then followed with yellowfin. Not a fish eater, he was impressed. For desert, the choice was Mississippi Mudpie. We spent a month in Africa and ate kingclip over and over again. However, no one came close to matching the fish we ate at Miller's Thumb. Far and away, this restaurant surpassed all the others. Too bad no other restaurant knew how to do the fish.I was constantly disappointed, but fortunate to have tasted how kingclip should taste.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank unhappytraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“We can understand why so many folks rate this place positively...”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Jane who hosts the restaurant is a true professional, she looks after the place with a beady eye, keeping the whole place humming along and the staff know she has eyes in the back of her head! To her we offer thanks as the place delivers not only fine food, but also a great atmosphere.

Our dinner was top notch, our only suggestion would be that the specials could have just one additional choice of finish, as you do not need 3 choices....it simple offers one more indecision choices! Our Yellow tail, one served with a ticka finish, the other with a lime sauce was simple in flavour but excellent in taste.

The rose wine by the glass was good value, and our server was not only efficient but also lovely to the eye, and I don't mean that in a sexist way!

Go visit, book to be on the safe side and eat good food cooked with flair, and say hi to Jane from us!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidbignose!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
“Fish Friday”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Actually I went on a Thursday. Delicious seafood and the most amazing blue cheese icecream! Things to note - there's secure off street parking available; at 30 years of age I was well under the age limit of my fellow diners.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Camilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just terrific”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We remembered the restaurant from a trip five years ago, and it was just as good this time. Great fish, friendly owners and staff, a well-priced bottle of wine--a really nice experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller's Thumb also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Miller's Thumb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing