We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Miller's Thumb

Miller's Thumb
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

A very good fish restaurant with a good choice of wines by the glass. Excellent service and a nice atmosphere

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 333Geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,185
    346
    91
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fish food from heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

I chose the restuarant based on the reviews in the tripadvisor site.
Well I was not disappointed. What a wonderful evening. Sue had the fish soup, I had blue cheese salad to start. Brilliant!
Mains were Kingklip Cajun style and my six prawns with different sauces. The Wasabi cream on the grilled prawns was a match that I will order again. When the prawns arrived I thought they had not spent enough time on the grill. The chef knew better because as they settled the heat of the grill worked its magic right to the core of the tails. Perfect to a T.
Well done guys.
The wine by the glass was also so easy as we tried more than one, sometimes a problem with a bottle full.
in a word - GREAT!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
148 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Consistantly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Have eaten here many times over the years. The menu has hardly changed, neither has the quality of the food and service, which are both first class. The jambalya is great.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was a recommendation from our hosts at Lezard Bleu and far surpassed our expectations.We visited on a Monday night and the place was buzzing !! The staff were friendly and efficient and gave us a number of recommendations. All the fish dishes were of exceptional quality with great prices to match. The choice and quality of wines was good. We had a great night and it will be the first restaurant I visit when I return to Cape Town.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank trueguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect first meal in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We ate here for our first evening, so were a bit tired after the flight and day of exploring. Good quality, very tasty food. Our orders arrived promptly, exactly as we required!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnneandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller's Thumb also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Miller's Thumb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing