We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bukhara Restaurant

Bukhara Restaurant
Ranked #195 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten twice in 2 years here. The food is truly excellent. The staff are friendly and informative. Quite good wine list. Ambience is nice especially on the balcony. Only issue is food is slow coming, otherwise a fantastic experience.

Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    223
    100
    50
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
366 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Positioned as an upmarket Indian restaurant, ifs a far cry from authentic. Maybe the chef was on leave or had a bad day but overall the food was terrible. We ordered chicken garlic kabab and veg tikki for starters, and they convinced us to substitute paneer tikka for the veg tikki as "it would take a long time".

Mains was dal fry, palak malai mutter amd aloo jeera with garlic nan, pudina paratha, makai roti and jeera pulao. We were again convinced by the waiter to order 3 dishes as the portions were "for one person". The four of us ended up wasting half the food. Salt was almost non-existent in all the dishes and the makai roti was undercooked. The dal was also undercooked and the aloo jeera had massive pieces of potato.

The bill at the end came with its own surprise...they charged us for veg tikki though they had given us paneer at their own request. The waiter passed it off saying that the paneer was actually more expensive. On the way out we verified in the menu that it was not the case. A sad end to an even sadder meal. By far the worst 'Indian' food we have had in South Africa. And we are from India :)


  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What has happened to this place?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Been coming here for the last 4-5 years, never experienced such amateur customer service, after complaining that food was taking forever to arrive. I mean please, who serves bowls of rice and 30 mins later still no mains to go with it, with not even the decency to take accountability and apologise, but after bringing it to their attention they get defensive!
Please sort out your egotistical management and start focusing on the service again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank J&GShoreham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“bad food, even worse service, cheap owners”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

horrible service, slow, waiter making multiple excuses for his delays, this with only 1 other customer in the entire restaurant

5 or 6 items we asked for were NOT available, at one point the water commented "that's been on there (ie the menu) for years but we haven't removed it yet" - SERIOUSLY?

broken (literally a piece missing), unsightly toilet and horrible bathroom overall

average food (trust me, we know Indian food)

at the end, we were told next time we would be charged if we shared our curry but this time they would let it slide - (mind you this was a la carte order off the menu, NOT buffet)

AVOID

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mizzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT value for money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

very overpriced. misleading menu. small portions. average taste. not worth it. No condiments. upon request for a sauce, i was charged R25 for a bowl of raita?? not even salt on the table? i ordered a crayfish and prawn curry for R250, and all it was, was a hollowed out crayfish shell with gravy! apparently the prawns and crayfish were 'mashed" inside. Utterly disappointing. Utterly. Do yourself a favour and go to beluga. Even their dim sums are nothing in comparison. Nor is the sushi anything to be compared. Save yourself the money. This restaurant is way overpriced. You're paying for the view. That is it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shihaam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bukhara Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bukhara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing